WebLeague help

Discussions about the various leagues
Post Reply
User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

WebLeague help

Post by Scorch » Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:43 pm

I set up webleague successfully, its great but i have 2 problems.

1.)
Image

2.)
Image

also how do you change the title for all pages? its says BZFlag CTF League: pagename. And why does it say member sense 1969? It should be in 2006.

Great piece of software!

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:48 pm

Are you using a stock version of PHP? And what version of MySQL?

Type this at the command line:

Code: Select all

php -v && mysql --version
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:06 am

Code: Select all

PHP 4.4.1 (cli) (built: Mar  3 2006 16:22:28)
Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies

Code: Select all

mysql  Ver 14.12 Distrib 5.0.16, for apple-darwin8.2.0 (powerpc) using readline 5.0
Are those good?

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:10 am

Scorch wrote:

Code: Select all

PHP 4.4.1 (cli) (built: Mar  3 2006 16:22:28)
Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies

Code: Select all

mysql  Ver 14.12 Distrib 5.0.16, for apple-darwin8.2.0 (powerpc) using readline 5.0
Are those good?
There's a newer version of MySQL (5.0.18), give that a try. As for PHP, you could try PHP5, but that might be a hassle installing it...

I usually just try to make sure everything is up-to-date as sometimes that can be the problem...
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:29 am

Updated MySQL; nothing changed, also with no teams at least it returns on the team page in the little window with the side and top working

Image

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:33 am

It looks like that's because there are no teams... (that's the best I can tell, I've never used Web-League)

Have you tried making a team?
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:38 am

I made a team, its profile page looks fine but i get the same thing, with no teams listed on the teams page!

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:40 am

Oh btw, Terminal says i updated MySQL but i can't stop it in the pref pane. I click and it does nothing but light up the button. Also the website said it would wipe my tables, my tables were unaffected.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:29 pm

Ok, i stopped and restarted it, MySQL succesfully installed, i remade the tables, still having problems, help!

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 pm

Scorch


Scorch, join IRC.freenode.net #bzleague Look for menotume. He runs and maintains most of the web-league code and could help you the best, even with his eyes closed.


Good Luck.
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
menotume
Major General
Major General
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: SE Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Post by menotume » Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:06 pm

web-league will run fine with php4 and your mysql.

The problem could be with the runme script for setting up tables, it's not been tried on darwin AFAIK.

go to the support/sqlscripts/create_new_install directory and run: ./runme.sh

do you get any error messages ?

Also, you may want to try a fresh database (or delete the one you have). From the error messages, it looks like the tables are there, but the fields aren't right - I don't know how that can happen.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:02 am

Killed tables many times, killed db many times. The socket was in the wrong place. I made a hard link. Doesnt work when named db doesnt exist so manually create then use runme, no errors. I'll try one more time i guess.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:25 am

Still doesn't work.

mistake
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:12 am

Post by mistake » Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:42 am

1. Run the installer again and pipe all output in a file. Post that file here to inspect.
2. After the installer has run, make a table dump and send the resulting file.

Maybe this gives menotume the opportunity to verify the difference between is and should.

Is the server located on the same machine, or you use a remote install from your machine?
mistake

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:37 pm

same machine. can i just copy paste instead of piping? how do i dump a table? I looked and the stuff it's whining about exists.

*******************************************************************************
Make sure that .config/bzlsql.php contains the proper values for sql connection

THIS SCRIPT WILL DELETE ALL TABLES IN THE DATABASE
Abort now if this is not what you want
(Enter to continue)
*******************************************************************************

creating tables ...
creating admin player with password of 'admin'
CHANGE THE PASSWORD with the 'profile' webpage

mistake
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:12 am

Post by mistake » Sun Apr 02, 2006 5:13 pm

Use mysqldump in your mysql package to create the dump.

would be something like this:

Code: Select all

mysqldump -h <yourhost> -u<user> -p<pwd> -a -c  -C -r outputfile.dump.sql --add-drop-table <database> <the list of tables to dump>
just read the manuals for details
mistake

Post Reply