Can't cycle through player names

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
User avatar
Knox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:40 pm

Can't cycle through player names

Post by Knox » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:04 am

Hey guys and ladies,

stranger things have happened, but I can't cycle through the player names after pressing '.' (dot) by using the left- and right-arrow as described here https://wiki.bzflag.org/Message.

I've got no clue. I reinstalled BZF. I reset my config file, in case I did something strange there, but nothing changed.

I'd appreciate any hints or help!

Regards
knox

BZFlag version: 2.4.2.20151215-MAINT-linux-gnu-SDL
BZFlag protocol: 0221
OpenGL vendor: X.Org
OpenGL version: 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8
OpenGL renderer: AMD TURKS (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.13.0-37-generic, LLVM 5.0.0)
Depth Buffer: 24 bitplanes
LIBCURL version: libcurl/7.47.0 GnuTLS/3.4.10 zlib/1.2.8 libidn/1.32 librtmp/2.3
What if you slept? And what if, in your sleep, you dreamed? And what if in your dream, you went to heaven and there plucked a strange and beautiful flower? And what if, when you awoke, you had the flower in your hand? Ah, what then? - Coleridge; English philosopher

User avatar
Zehra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Arctic

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by Zehra » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:52 pm

Have you tried using another keyboard?
I once had a flag dropping issue with the mouse, but turns out it was just the mouse which was going bad.

-Zehra
Those who are critical of me, I'll likely be the same of them. ~Zehra
There's always something to remember and it's been a game I love. ~Zehra
The time spent is a time which can never be regained, so it's a time to enjoy. ~Zehra
The decisions we make are the ones we look forward too and the ones we regret. ~Zehra
There's a difference between knowing my name and knowing me, one shows respect to my name and the other is to who I am. ~Zehra

See where I've last been active at Strayers.

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2009
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by macsforme » Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:08 pm

There is some setting that affects that... I think you have to turn off “jumping while typing”... it may also have to do with whether you are driving by mouse or keyboard.

User avatar
alfa1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:21 pm

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by alfa1 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:31 pm

Yes, when it's driving by keyboard (a message appears), your ability to switch names stops at some point. You have to move mouse or use touchpad a bit to enable mouse driving (a new message appears) and then you can do it again. I think it does not work (very well) if you are dead or paused.

User avatar
Knox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:40 pm

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by Knox » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:12 pm

So it's as simple as....
It's not the keyboard, otherwise I wouldn't be able to play with it...
It's not the 'type while jumping' option. It does not affect that.

It's the 'active input device''. I can't cycle through player names while keyboard is active. On the other side, it's possible while driving with mouse.

Thanks a lot for the hints!

PS.: Although there are not many keyboard players out there, it would be nice to be able to fix that at some point...
What if you slept? And what if, in your sleep, you dreamed? And what if in your dream, you went to heaven and there plucked a strange and beautiful flower? And what if, when you awoke, you had the flower in your hand? Ah, what then? - Coleridge; English philosopher

Misadventure
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:30 pm

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by Misadventure » Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:17 pm

Many thanks. I'm a keyboard player and this was bothering me for ages and I just got around to seeking the cause (and found this thread). I'd worked around by locking on to a player before going into PM.

Need "Active input device" as Mouse and player names can be cycled fine with left/right keys (dead or alive).
As Keyboard, name cycling is not possible.
As Auto, name cycling is not possible unless you first wiggle the mouse and see "Mouse movement" message.

If I recall correctly, I'd changed AID to Auto/Keyboard because I found that it gave me a fractionally slower turn rate, making the CW spike to wire jump possible by k/b.

User avatar
tainn
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:25 pm
Location: zone of the phantoms

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by tainn » Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:02 pm

Name cycling being force-enabled while dead would make life so much easier.

User avatar
Zehra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Arctic

Re: Can't cycle through player names

Post by Zehra » Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:54 pm

This could be requested as an enhancement.
Or for those who are skilled enough, it can be done as a client modification.

When I have the time, I'll likely implement this.

-Zehra
Those who are critical of me, I'll likely be the same of them. ~Zehra
There's always something to remember and it's been a game I love. ~Zehra
The time spent is a time which can never be regained, so it's a time to enjoy. ~Zehra
The decisions we make are the ones we look forward too and the ones we regret. ~Zehra
There's a difference between knowing my name and knowing me, one shows respect to my name and the other is to who I am. ~Zehra

See where I've last been active at Strayers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests