Stutter/Jutter

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
User avatar
DarkTower
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:36 pm

Stutter/Jutter

Post by DarkTower »

I just had a new computer built and it has all the latest and greatest hardware and I am getting tremendous amount of stutter/jutter no matter which map I play. Some worse than others. I've also updated all the drivers and bios and still no change. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Component list:
- Motherboard: ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII (WiFi)
- CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12 Core
- GPU: AMD 6900 XT 16GB
- Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200MHZ 2X16
- OS: Windows 10 Pro
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4812
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by blast »

Are you playing over WiFi? WiFi can add network jitter, though I'm not sure if that's what you're talking about.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
DarkTower
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by DarkTower »

No. I am connected by ethernet cable.
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4812
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by blast »

When you're talking about stutter/jitter, are you meaning the graphics overall are not smooth? Or is this specifically about the network quality (as in, your movement is smooth, but other tanks are jumping around or you're seeing high numbers for packet loss or jitter in the /lagstats output)?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by trpted »

#1 Which modem do you have?

#2 Which NAT router do you have?

#3 What software firewall do you have?
User avatar
DarkTower
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by DarkTower »

blast,
Packet loss and jitter are fine. Everything runs smooth until I get close to other tanks blowing up or shooting. So for instance, if I'm moving in any direction when around a lot of action my screen pauses/hesitates and the graphics look very choppy. The thing is my ten year old computer works perfectly fine.

trpted,
Modem: ARRIS Surfboard
Router: Orbi
Security: Cylance Smart Antivirus
trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by trpted »

Ok.

#1 In Bzflag go to Options-> Display.

#2 What is the quality set to (low, medium, high, experiential)?

#3 In Options -> Effect settings, what is everything set to?

Mine are as follows...

Rain = off

Mirror = on

fog = nice

shot length = 100 % / Long

display treads = off

animated treads = off

track marks = 100 % / Long

track mark culling = fast

all effects (ex fancy) turned to off

GM effect timing = 0 % / low as possible

teleport shot effect = none.
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4812
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by blast »

Try going to Options > Display Settings and set Energy Saver to Vertical Sync.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
DarkTower
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by DarkTower »

trpted,
All my settings are similar except for ...
Mirror: Off
Shot Length: 50%
Track Mark Culling: Best
GM Effect Timing: 50%
Teleport Shot Effect: IDL

blast,
Vertical Sync made it worse


I'm wondering if anyone else is running the same GPU as I am and how it's working for them? Any reply's would be greatly appreciated.
User avatar
novembre
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by novembre »

As we were saying before, you could try as well to go to Options > Display Settings and set Energy Saver to FPS Limit. The default FPS limit should be around 30, but you can change it via config file: edit the line #set fpsLimit 30 and remove the comment #. As far as I know, it would be better not to set it at more than double your Vertical Sync value. I set mine to about 100.
Here you can find the path to your .cfg file: https://wiki.bzflag.org/Config_File.

See you around,
Nove.
non che d'i fiori e de le foglie nove
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4812
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by blast »

Do other games work fine? Have you tried any other games that use OpenGL?

Have you tried with Rage Mode turned on/off and with Smart Memory Access turned on/off?

I don't have a system close in specs to yours. I threw a Radeon RX 570 into my Windows 10 1909 PC but that worked fine. I'm current updating to Windows 10 20H2 to see if that changes anything.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
DarkTower
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:36 pm

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by DarkTower »

I've tried The Golf Club 2019 and a benchmark https://benchmark.unigine.com/valley and no issues. I haven't tried turning on/off Rage Mode or Smart Memory Access. I'll give that a shot. I appreciate all the help. I'll let you know how I make out.

Is there a way to just install the GPU drivers and not the whole control panel of settings?
User avatar
Zehra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 735
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Arctic
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by Zehra »

What version of BZFlag are you using?
(Install or self-compile?)

Also, there appears to be comments of performance issues with regards to the GPU:
(So this may be the case here.)
-Zehra
Those who are critical of me, I'll likely be the same of them. ~Zehra
The decisions we make are the ones we look forward too and the ones we regret. ~Zehra
There's a difference between knowing my name and knowing me, one shows respect to my name and the other is to who I am. ~Zehra

See where I've last been active at Strayers.
Visit BZList.net for a modern HTML5 server stats site.

Click here to view the 101 Leaderboard & Score Summaries Last updated 2021-01-12 (YYYY-MM-DD)
Latest 101 thread
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4812
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by blast »

From the second link:
I was able to fix all of my issues by switching to PCI-E Gen 3 inside my BIOS. If anyone else is or has experienced any of these issues try switching to Gen 3.
Worth trying.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4812
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by blast »

Are you still having trouble or did you get this resolved?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
gaboot
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:15 am

Re: Stutter/Jutter

Post by gaboot »

I have had similar problems with graphic choppiness on crappy intel hardware. iirc I fixed it by limiting fps to 60 (my display refresh rate?) and by changing the radar type to "fast" in settings>gui. These two changes basically fixed everything.
Post Reply