BZflag on LAN

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
Ninjor
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:41 pm

BZflag on LAN

Post by Ninjor » Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:51 pm

Can you play BZflag over LAN (Local area network)?

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:53 pm

yes. the game was originally made for LAN playing, so there is no reason it shouldn't work.
Image

Ninjor
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:41 pm

Post by Ninjor » Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:02 pm

Okay, then maybe you can help me with my problem.

I'm using BZflag 2.0.8 on two different computers in my home.

I start Bzflag, then I go into "Join Game", I tell it to start a server.

On my other computer I tell it to "Find Server" and I get this error message saying, "Can't talk to list Server".

What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:07 pm

you don't need the list server, you just need the lan ip of the hosting computer, and tell your other computer to manualy join that ip to the post 5154, so it you were hosting it on LAN 192.168.2.2:5154 then your other computer should put "192.168.2.2" in the server area, and "5154" in the post area and press join game.
Image

Ninjor
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:41 pm

Post by Ninjor » Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:11 pm

whenever I change the server to my IP address and then I start the server, it always changes the server back to "localhost".

Why won't the server keep my IP address?

Here's a picture.

but after I start the server, then the IP address changes to "localhost".
Attachments

[The extension bmp has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy » Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:53 pm

Join localhost from the machine hosting the server.
Join the LAN IP of the host machine from the other machine(s).
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007

User avatar
Kesnar
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 12:43 pm
Location: Kesnaria

Post by Kesnar » Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:51 pm

Start a server to your local and sign in(it may not appear at the server list)so put the"number" of the computer which start the server and connect.


P.S.:I do it all the time to play with my brother,inaro 8)
Image

Legolas_
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:24 pm

Post by Legolas_ » Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:16 pm

Looks like you are using a router for that. Thats very good. Find out the 10.0.x.x number of the computer that hosts the server and then put that number in for the server address.

Ninjor
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:41 pm

Post by Ninjor » Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:16 pm

Thanks guys!

It finally works! :D

User avatar
BinarySpike
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:58 pm
Contact:

Post by BinarySpike » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:23 pm

Legolas_ wrote:Looks like you are using a router for that. Thats very good. Find out the 10.0.x.x number of the computer that hosts the server and then put that number in for the server address.
I bet you use an airport...

10.0.x.x is not always the LAN IP address, major routers usually host on 192.168.x.x

The house router here runs on 192.168.254.x
My router runs on 192.168.0.x
My grandmothers router runs on 192.168.1.x

My sisters router runs on 10.0.x.x

In order:
TRENDnet
D-Link
Belkin
Apple Airport

(wow... I feel like a router geek...)

Oh yeah and there's a wifi I connect to sometimes when I'm out on a linksys... (not sure what numbers it uses)

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5184
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:29 pm

There are three blocks of private non routeable IP addresses:

* 10.0.0.0 through 10.255.255.255
* 172.16.0.0 through 172.31.255.255
* 192.168.0.0 through 192.168.255.255

10.x.x.x is the class A and the largest block.
ImageJeffM

Post Reply