bzfs problem

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
swine
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:13 pm
Location: Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Contact:

bzfs problem

Post by swine » Wed Dec 18, 2002 5:46 am

I'm running bzfs on linux mandrake. P2 400. All is well for a while then I can see by my cable modem lights that something weird is going on. Checking the system I find that bzfs is now using 95% of my cpu. (it was using .3%) I log on to the server and there are only three or four people there. Lagcheck pegs them at 3 to 4 secs lag, then boom, everything goes back to normal. But by this time everyone has left.
Am I doing something wrong?
Is there some bz god that I must sacrifice a newbie too?
Is my system too obsolete?
Can someone send me a new computer?
Is it Beer time?
inquiring minds want to know! :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

iirc

Post by Fiberchunks » Wed Dec 18, 2002 6:25 am

iirc, I was a post (I think on sourceforge), about bzfs slowing down after x many minutes, and eating cpu cycles...hrm - where was that?

Heh, that was a post by dutchrai on the other forum (ezboard) about a windows server borking and eating all the cpu...

Hrm, I didn't think that affected the *nix version of bzfs.

Couple of questions:
1. what does the output of top show (%cpu usage and %mem consumed)
2. Do you have any other rogues processes floating around?
3. what does your bzfs commandline look like (post it)

We'll try and get it straightened out :)

Peace

swine
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:13 pm
Location: Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Contact:

more bzfs problem info

Post by swine » Wed Dec 18, 2002 6:09 pm

Here is the init script I use. Its a combination of the one generated when starting a random server (as read by "treeps") and bits of my other scripts.

bzfs -pf -r -h -mp 20 -lagdrop 5 -lagwarn 1000 -maxidle 300 -passwd "" -public "Swine's Sty of DOOOM {random acts}" -publicaddr "24.80.130.30" -ms 10 -t +r -j +s 40 -sa -st 5 -sw 1 -ttl 255
[edit]removed url[/edit]
Thanks eh! :D

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

Re: more bzfs problem info

Post by Fiberchunks » Wed Dec 18, 2002 6:24 pm

swine wrote:Here is the init script I use. Its a combination of the one generated when starting a random server (as read by "treeps") and bits of my other scripts.

bzfs -pf -r -h -mp 20 -lagdrop 5 -lagwarn 1000 -maxidle 300 -passwd "" -public "Swine's Sty of DOOOM {random acts}" -publicaddr "24.80.130.30" -ms 10 -t +r -j +s 40 -sa -st 5 -sw 1 -ttl 255
Thanks eh! :D
the link is busted -- pm me with it.

what is -pf? I know that -p specifies a port number (unless you use the default -- but I am unaware of pf... as a matter of fact -pf is an invalid entry -- you could either use -pr <port>, or -p <port> -- so is that a typo?

I would also add (even though I'm not absolutely positive that it's necessary anymore) -requireudp to your command line.

Those are the only things I can think of off the top of my head -- try modifying that commandline with my recommendations and let me know how it goes...

By the way - I deleted that link, as it doesn't work, and you wanted it gone anyway :)

Peace

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

swine...

Post by Fiberchunks » Thu Dec 19, 2002 3:42 am

The only thing I can suggest (as bzfs does look to be doing something odd...is that you manually start the server from the cli ...

Try this:
bzfs -p 5155 -r -j -public "blah" -publicaddr "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5155" -mp x,x,x,x,x -ms x -ttl 255 -requireudp <etc.>

Also note that cable modems that a history of being flaky (since it's a shared node connection, affected negatively every time someone connects to the network on your node.)

Also, what version of the server are you running, the latest (1.7gX).... and really important, what ports do you have open on any routers / firewalls you're running --- note that these should be open (at the bare minimum):

5155 TCP
17200-172xx UDP (where xx is max players +a couple) , for example if -mp 10, then 17200-17212 should be open...

Now, if you use any port besides the default (5155), then note that in your command line, you MUST change 2 things; the parameter to -p, and the port in the -publicaddr part (e.g. if you want to use 7500, then -p 7500 -publicaddr "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:7500" ).

Try that out -- and be sure that your command line is correct, and includes only the commands that are in the man page...

Try these out, and let me know how it goes.

Peace

User avatar
Chestal
Dev Guru
Dev Guru
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Re: bzfs problem

Post by Chestal » Thu Dec 19, 2002 3:45 pm

swine wrote:I'm running bzfs on linux mandrake. P2 400. All is well for a while then I can see by my cable modem lights that something weird is going on. Checking the system I find that bzfs is now using 95% of my cpu.
I have seen something similar on ducati sometimes. The server eats up all available CPU instead of behaving normally. It doesn't really affect gameplay on ducati. I haven't checked whether it is sending more messages or something when doing so, ducati's connection to the outside is only limited by the 34MBit/s line of the university, so maybe that's the difference. There sure is some bug there relating to a player slot which is in an undefined state or something. I only saw it rarely now and it kept healing itself, soI didn't really tried to pursue this issue.

Post Reply