UDP

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
Schulzy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:49 pm

UDP

Post by Schulzy »

How Do You Turn On UDP?
I'm new to the game and am unsure of how to turn on UDP.
F687/s
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:30 pm

Post by F687/s »

UDP should be already turned on by default. However, your router is probably blocking the packets from being sent. You will need to enable port forwarding on your router to get it to work. For more information, check the following posts:

http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=11090
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t ... hlight=udp
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=10269
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=9174
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=9040
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano »

Are you using Vista?
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln
Schulzy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:49 pm

Post by Schulzy »

No, i'm not using vista
Schulzy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:49 pm

Post by Schulzy »

what is a router?
User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4794
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast »

Please learn to do some basic research yourself. A router is a piece of network hardware that sits between two networks (such as between a cable modem and a home network), and allows them to communicate with one another. Most home routers are set up for NAT, which means that a series of computers on the LAN all share a single Internet Protocol address to the Internet. Some routers have issues with UDP traffic.

So, one thing you could try (assuming you have a router) is connecting your computer directly to your cable or DSL modem, and see if you still get UDP issues. That would not be a solution, mind you, but it would let us know if the issue is your router. Then we can try some other stuff and make recommendations.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image
Schulzy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:49 pm

Post by Schulzy »

Sorry about this but i have no idea if i have a router. How do i find out if i have one? I am new to the gaming world because we only got broadband a week ago. I tried with dial up but that didn't work because i had to high lag. Thanx for your help.
User avatar
AAA
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 3:36 pm
Contact:

Post by AAA »

Go to wikipedia.org, type in "Router", select your language, and click "go". Here is the English entry on Routers. If you read on, there is a link to Residential gateway.

Alternatively, go go Google.com and type "router".

Some broadband setups connect the computer directly to the Internet. If this is so, there should be just a modem on your desk or outside somewhere that converts some sort of coax cable, phone line, or optical fiber connection to a CAT-5 cable that your computer can use (a CAT-5 cable looks a bit like a phone cable, but with more wires inside). In other broadband setups, instead of connecting a single computer directly to the Internet, there is a router that divides up the connection and lets multiple computers share it on a private sub-network. The computers forward requests to connect to the Internet through the router, which when used like this is called a gateway. To make it more confusing, some routers may have integrated modems, which you can tell if this is so if the router has multiple CAT-5 connections to multiple computers and a single different connector coming in.

Like Blast said, educate yourself before asking for help, it helps tremendously when we can recognize what you are talking about.

If you have a router, see http://portforward.com/, click on "Guides."
Admin and Senior Vice Executive Administrator of Network and System Architecture @ BZFX -- Core Admin @ CAN -- SF.net user diamondmagic -- irc.freenode.net nickname AAA_awright (#bzfx if not #bzflag)
Schulzy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:49 pm

Post by Schulzy »

I doesn't seem like i have one. Do you where i could get one (a website)and which one is best for this game.
Post Reply