Help with Lag and Jitter reducing it..

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Help with Lag and Jitter reducing it..

Post by trpted » Mon Apr 07, 2008 7:56 pm

I get warnings that my lag and jitter are to high. How can I reduce them?
Attachments
lag and jitter.JPG
Lag and jitter warnings.
(318.12 KiB) Downloaded 29 times

trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Post by trpted » Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:00 pm

Here is another screen shot, showing mine and everyone else.
Attachments
2lag and jitter.JPG
(292.57 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:23 pm

are you using wireless networking?

quantum dot
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by quantum dot » Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:13 pm

how far do you live from Europe? Public pillbox server is located in Central Europe.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:34 pm

Based on the screenshots, it appears you are running in a very low quality mode. So my guess is that your machine isn't very fast, and you might be experiencing a low framerate, which could be creating "fake lag". What are the specs of your system, and do you have working OpenGL hardware acceleration?

Another item that would be helpful is your usual FPS value. You can toggle this on with the 't' key, and after a few seconds, it will appear above the mouse box.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Quantum Tank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:23 am

Post by Quantum Tank » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:35 pm

If you have any other windows or applications open, close them. That is a big cause of lag. Also, if you have a slow internet connection that will also cause lag, but there isn't much you can do about that except get a better one or play on a server closer to your location (like not Pillbox if you're not in Europe...)

trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Post by trpted » Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:42 pm

Answers to questions:

#1 Using wired at 10/100 with (auto detect speed selected)

#2 Not known the distance.. But let's say that I am in Bethlehem, PA, USA

#3 Specs of system can be looked up, as need be...

HP Pavilion 6746 C.

Direct link to HP's site: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... duct=57589

A couple of upgrades to be aware of..

64 MB of memory to 512 MB.

XP with SP2.

#4 Not sure. The lowest I seen is 0. The highest I seen 6. :(

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:28 pm

Ah, Intel 810 graphics. Good luck with that. Try running the game at 640x480 and then play around with the graphics settings. Make sure that you turn off shadows and lighting, as those will murder your chipset. It's quite possible you won't be able to play on that system. And even if you can, you'll have issues with it looking "right".
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Post by trpted » Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:31 pm

I did what you said. It does work better now. :)

But you right about the part about how it looks.

Thank you all for your time.

Kedji
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:38 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by Kedji » Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:01 pm

i got that problem too but only lag. I got a really slow pc no textures, no ground, just plain. I think my first problem is that i live too far away from the server itself. My lag is an average of 300+ jitter=ok my highest lag is over 3000. I get ping kicked and sometimes ban because of concerned admins. Can u guys pls help me reduce my lag

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:57 pm

Not really, sounds like you need a new ISP.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

User avatar
RexFlex
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:13 pm
Location: Australia

Post by RexFlex » Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:05 am

A lag of 300-400ms is explainable by distance alone - i.e. a player on the other side of the world can get that high.

Connecting via satelite would raise it even higher (say up to 900ms) as the communication satelites are 35,0000km above the surface of the Earth.

But 3000ms indicates real connectivity problems.
"Hell, I'll kill a man in a fair fight, or if I think he's gonna start a fair fight, or if he bothers me, or if there's a woman, or if I'm gettin paid; mostly only when I'm gettin paid. But eating people alive, when does that get fun?"

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:48 am

Kedji wrote:i got that problem too but only lag. I got a really slow pc no textures, no ground, just plain.
Then get a faster computer if you want to play 3D games. The newer versions of the game are only going to get more and more detailed.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
OPTIMUSprime
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 7:27 am
Location: Nsw, Australia! :]
Contact:

Post by OPTIMUSprime » Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:01 am

Or upgrade Graphic/Video Cards & RAM

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest