Packet Loss?

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
retox
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:34 pm

Packet Loss?

Post by retox » Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:10 pm

I got booted for excessive packet loss. How can I remedy this? OSX 10.5.4.
Glad I found this game, but I seriously need to practice.

BTW- getting booted without much warning is awful...

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:32 pm

Packetloss means your connection to the server is "dropping" occasionally. Think of it as if you were talking to someone, and every 10th word didn't make it to their ears.

The best way to fix this is to make sure nothing is hogging your internet connection, such as uploads, or another person on your network isn't hogging the connection. Trying running a traceroute to the server to see where the packets are being dropped.

retox
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:34 pm

Post by retox » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:10 pm

Not sure what it might be, but I'll check it out. Thanks for the reply.

Where should noobies hang out, btw?

ts
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:26 pm

Re: Packet Loss?

Post by ts » Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:57 am

retox wrote:I got booted for excessive packet loss. How can I remedy this?
There is very little you can do. If you use WLAN change to a wired connection type. If limited bandwidth in combination of QoS rules of a router causes the loss you either need to lower the total traffic or to change QoS rules to give BZFlag priority. If none of the previously described things is the reason then it's likely all you can try is to change ISP.
retox wrote:BTW- getting booted without much warning is awful...
Why do you need much warnings? If you get one warning and then a kick chances are your connection is rather bad. In that case more warnings aren't likely to prevent a kick.
GU league: http://www.guleague.org/
An introduction to TCP: http://www.lafkon.net/tc/

lol_u died

Post by lol_u died » Wed Jul 09, 2008 3:53 pm

What internet connection do you have?

and just like Winny says, close any windows open in the background and try to terminate any application which you believe that will clog up the system memory uses and/or terminate any application that uses an internet connection. Also you can try reducing the quality settings. You go to "Options">"Display Settings". This helped me on my 500Mhz Apple computer. Hope we helped!


lol_u died

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:36 pm

lol_u died
you had lag, not packet loss. settings in BZFlag will not change packet loss.

retox
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:34 pm

Post by retox » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:52 pm

Thanks for the responses, guys. I'm on a cable modem, very fast. And I've actually seen packet loss, lag and UDP warnings. I'm on a newer macbook pro, graphics card, etc.

I think I am just over-thinking being disconnected as harsh. I'll tweak some stuff and keep trying...

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:38 am

retox wrote:Thanks for the responses, guys. I'm on a cable modem, very fast. And I've actually seen packet loss, lag and UDP warnings. I'm on a newer macbook pro, graphics card, etc.

I think I am just over-thinking being disconnected as harsh. I'll tweak some stuff and keep trying...
Are you on wireless on your MacBook Pro? It is possible your wireless connection has poor signal, or someone else is hijacking your connection and saturating it, causing packets to be dropped.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

ts
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:26 pm

Post by ts » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:13 pm

retox wrote:Thanks for the responses, guys. I'm on a cable modem, very fast. And I've actually seen packet loss, lag and UDP warnings. I'm on a newer macbook pro, graphics card, etc.
Well, cable modem isn't fast at all. There's a big difference to FTTH but FTTH with 100Mbit/s down and 10Mbit/s up is still a bit pricey (29.90€ with traffic flatrate here). Cable modem based connections are also a lot more depending on neighbours that DSL based connections for instance. However that does not mean all cable modem based connections are poor quality.

With packetloss lag spikes aren't unsual. In addition to that there are always servers that are too distant, like Japan and Australia for me. If you have quite a number of packetloss sometimes BZFlag can't "establish" a UDP connection to the server.

Finally the hardware your client runs on doesn't matter in this case. If your machine would be too slow then you would only lag.

In summary it looks like you ignored all good hints.
JeffM wrote:you had lag, not packet loss. settings in BZFlag will not change packet loss.
Yes and I feel a bit sad at this. Quake for example has an option to send UDP packets with same content several times. Of course this costs bandwidth…
GU league: http://www.guleague.org/
An introduction to TCP: http://www.lafkon.net/tc/

anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Post by anomaly » Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:19 pm

Most residential broadband connections have asymmetrical bandwidth. Usually faster downstream, like 12Meg down, 512K up. Broadband speed over cable modem fluctuates greatly depending on number of people using it in a given area or neighborhood and network congestion. And sometimes the upstream speed is set very low, like 128K. Your connection to a bzflag server is effectively capped at the upstream speed.

Also packetloss in any "real time" application like a game or VoIP can also be attributed to out-of-order packets as they cannot be used either and will be dropped by the software. Any corrupted packets are dropped by the first router they get to.

Your computer hardware should not be an issue from what you've said. Have you tried a speedtest? And as stated earlier traceroute may help find the bottleneck, the problem may or may not be on your LAN.

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme » Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:51 pm

ts wrote:Well, cable modem isn't fast at all. There's a big difference to FTTH but FTTH with 100Mbit/s down and 10Mbit/s up is still a bit pricey (29.90€ with traffic flatrate here). Cable modem based connections are also a lot more depending on neighbours that DSL based connections for instance. However that does not mean all cable modem based connections are poor quality.
"Fast" may be relative to what you're used to using, but most cable modem connections' effective speeds are plenty fast enough for BZFlag. Even when playing on the most popular servers, a client's bandwidth usage should always be below 100kbps (and that's primarily the downlink--the uplink will always be much less than that).

mike_o
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:58 pm

packet loss

Post by mike_o » Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:53 pm

I have more or less the same problem. Strange thing is that on my (new) work Dell notebook it works fine, but on my (older) home PC (athlon 2000 + Geforce 5700) I get the problem.

Absolutely the same connection.

I though the BZF wasn't to demanding on HW??

I run McAfee, but disables the firewall when running BZF. Can anybody recommend a different malware protection SW? Preferably shareware.

vbr

Mike

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:02 pm

Have you tried updating to the latest drivers for your network card (wired or wireless)? That can have a significant impact on the quality of your connection.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4736
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:10 pm

You'd probably want to check on all of your drivers for updates (video, network, audio). For example, slow video drivers can cause fake lag and packet loss.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

anomaly
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Gainesville Florida

Post by anomaly » Thu Aug 28, 2008 12:18 pm

mike_o
Take a look at http://www.f-prot.com
F-Prot is probably one of the best virus/malware scanners around. You can get the version that fits your needs. One friend runs f-prot on windows and has no problem with BZFlag.

Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair » Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:01 pm

And DON'T take your firewall down just to play bzflag!!!!

Your firewall should allow you to make an exception for bzflag so the bzflag traffic gets through.

mike_o
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:58 pm

Post by mike_o » Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:32 am

Thanks.

I did suspect problems with the network card, but haven't found any drivers. I'll probably get a new card instead.

WRT McAfee firewall: I did put in an exeption for BZF, but it did not work. Doesn't work for BF2, either...

rgds

Mike

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests