Help with compiling a plugin

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Teak
Private First Class
Private First Class

Help with compiling a plugin

Post by Teak »

I have figured out how to write a plugin, but I am clueless when it comes to compiling it and using it. I am new to C, but know other programming languages. (So I'm not completely clueless) Is it even possible to compile on a Mac? I know how to run a server, I just need to compile my .cpp, so I can use it. (Or do you have to? I don't even know. :? ) I've searched all over these forums and found nothing. (Maybe I'm searching for the wrong thing...)

Any help would be great...
allejo
Breaker of Builds
Breaker of Builds

Re: Help with compiling a plugin

Post by allejo »

1. First of, BZFlag plugins are written in C++ ;)

2. Yes it is possible to compile on a Mac. I develop all my plugins on a Mac :D

3. How to (Note this is all command-line work, so get Terminal ready):
Let's start off, you need download the BZFlag source code. Once you get the BZFlag source, 'cd' into the source and do:

Code: Select all

sh autogen.sh
./configure --prefix=$HOME/bzbuild
make
All of the above simply configures and makes BZFlag, BZAdmin, and BZFS. This also configures BZFlag and, in this case, plugins will be stored in '~/bzbuild' Once that is done, type:

cd ./plugins
Once you are in this folder, type:

sh newplug.sh <name of your plugin w/o an extension>
(The folder name should match the file name of the .cpp file) You will now have a new folder in the 'plugins' folder. Go into the folder with Finder and place your .cpp file in there. Once it's inside the folder, you're going to have to fix the name of a file in order to compile. So type:

cd ./MyPlugin/.deps
mv SAMPLE_PLUGIN_la-SAMPLE_PLUGIN.Plo MyPlugin_la-MyPlugin.Plo
(You will replace 'MyPlugin' with the name of the plugin [the same name as the folder you just created with the newplug.sh script])

Now type:

cd ..
make
make install