Problems entering a game...perhaps firewall issue?

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
Czod
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:59 pm

Problems entering a game...perhaps firewall issue?

Post by Czod » Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:05 pm

Hello...n00b user here. Here is setup. WinXP, plenty of RAM, processing power and 128MB video card. running newest BZ version (2.02) App starts fine.

It finds server list with no problem. Upon entering callsign and then choosing connect, it will download map if necessary, goes to a black screen and then eventually returns to desktop.

no errors in any of the event logs. this happens regardless of server that i connect to.

on my firewall (a netgear fvs318), i am forwarding the port that is listed on the server list into my PC. are there other ports that i need to forward? anyone else experience something like this?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:13 pm

the bzflag client does not need to listen for any incoming connections.

if you are using a NAT based firewall/router, you should not have to open any ports, since by default NAT allows trafic OUT, it just blockes unrequested data from coming IN.

You should not need to forward any ports.

you should check your local machine and see if it has a software firewall that blocks any outgoing ports.
ImageJeffM

Czod
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:59 pm

local PC does not have firewall

Post by Czod » Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:45 pm

The local PC is a clean win2k install, it does not have any software firewalling at all. Maybe it is some type of video driver issue. I will test with a different card.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Apr 11, 2005 6:34 pm

black screen would indicate video.

make sure you have the current version of your drivers ( from the chipset mfg, not the card mfg ) and current direct X.
ImageJeffM

User avatar
I_Died_Once
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: The Dark Side
Contact:

Post by I_Died_Once » Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:20 pm

In the first post, you said you're running WinXP, but in your other post, you say you are runing Win2K. Make up your mind, buddy

But, I say go with Win2K.

Otherwise.... check for spyware, malware, and Crapware in general. Make sure you aren't running any unneeded software in the background.

Try to install Linux, if you can (you'll thank me later)

Go to your video card's manufactorer's website and make double sure you got the latest video drivers for your operating system.

If none of that works... take up a hobby in solo synchronized swimming.
...This has been a recording.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:13 pm

spyware won't make the game go black.

and if he can't get drivers installed on windows, he won't stand a chance installing them on linux :)


linux is the question... not allways the answer
ImageJeffM

Czod
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:59 pm

Post by Czod » Tue Apr 12, 2005 12:07 pm

i apologize for the mistake of reporting my O/S...i have three PCs that i use to test items on for my network, one XP, one win2k, and one debian. i thought i had it on my xp box, but it is actually on my win2k box. the game seems incompatible with the video card on my win2k box. Thanks for all of the input.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:19 pm

what video card is it?
ImageJeffM

Czod
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:59 pm

Post by Czod » Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:27 pm

it is a dual-monitor card...here is the information on it.


Item Value
Name Colorgraphic Xentera GT
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C66&SUBSYS_2512130B&REV_02\4&1D92DF28&0&1040
Adapter Type Mobility Radeon 9000 (LF), Colorgraphic compatible
Adapter Description Colorgraphic Xentera GT
Adapter RAM 64.00 MB (67,108,864 bytes)
Installed Drivers N50ATIMH.dll
Driver Version 5.1.2600.0
INF File oem6.inf (N50ATIMP section)
Color Planes 1
Color Table Entries 4294967296
Resolution 1024 x 768 x 75 hertz
Bits/Pixel 32

Name Colorgraphic Xentera GT - Secondary
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C6E&SUBSYS_2513130B&REV_02\4&1D92DF28&0&1140
Adapter Type Mobility Radeon 9000 (LF), Colorgraphic compatible
Adapter Description Colorgraphic Xentera GT - Secondary
Adapter RAM 64.00 MB (67,108,864 bytes)
Installed Drivers N50ATIMH.dll
Driver Version 5.1.2600.0
INF File oem6.inf (N50ATIMP section)
Color Planes Not Available
Color Table Entries Not Available
Resolution Not Available
Bits/Pixel Not Available

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5193
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:46 pm

it's a radeon 9000, you should be able to get drivers for it that are current from ATI.

most cards these days have dual head support.
ImageJeffM

Post Reply