My system(s)

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

My system(s)

Post by Fiberchunks » Sun Dec 08, 2002 12:44 am

System 1:
  1. Soyo Dragon+ MB
  2. AMD Athlon XP 2100+
  3. 1G DDR 2100 RAM
  4. 2 40G Maxtor fluid bearing hd
  5. Nvidia GeForce3 ti 500
  6. Linux with 2.4.20-preempt kernel and 3123 nvidia drivers
  7. FPS: on a good day, ~150 (have seen it as high as 220), on an average day, ~90 or so
NOTES: sometimes, not sure if it's the network link or not, the FPS rate plummets drastically, into the 40-50 range, and choppiness ensues...I'm not altogether sure that this isn't an nvidia or X issue, however...when it runs right, it screams!

System 2:
  1. Supermicro P6DBE (I think) SMP capable, only running one
  2. PIII 450
  3. 512 MB RAM
  4. 1 20G hd
  5. Matrox G400 dualhead
  6. Linux with 2.4.18 kernel - no preempt, yet :(
  7. FPS: anywhere from 40-100, on average
NOTES: bzflag runs choppy on this machine, even after I have tried to get all the stuff working with the Matrox drivers and such...no go...I believe that I will soon be replacing this mobo and processor, and turning it into a server soon. Will most likely be ditching the Matrox for an nvidia or ATI card when I upgrade the mobo.
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. -- A. Einstein
Registered Linux User: 296546
Machines: 181776 181777 181778

User avatar
CobraA1
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 7:19 pm
Location: Above the Arctic Circle, below Canada: Minnesota
Contact:

Post by CobraA1 » Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:05 am

600 MHz Celron with built-in acceleration. Some sort of Intel chipset that was a pain to get working in Linux.

Dual-booting Windows & Linux.
Last edited by CobraA1 on Wed Dec 11, 2002 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-CobraA1

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau

My avatar symbol © 2002 Jeremiah Moss. All rights reserved.

User avatar
Dervish
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:39 am
Location: public void

Post by Dervish » Sun Dec 08, 2002 8:03 am

My main desktop
===========

Make/Model: clone
CPU: AMD Athlon Thunderbird 1GHz (266 MHz FSB)
RAM: 512MB PC-133 7ns
Video: nVidia GeForce 2 GTS chipset w/ 32MB RAM (2x AGP bus)
O/S: Windows XP Professional w/ auto-update enabled

I run BZFlag in 1024x768x32 mode, even though my desktop is 1152x864, because this is a good mix of performance and pixel count. I have all graphic features enabled except shadows, because BZFlag is still a bit buggy on multiple shadow overlays.

Runs very smooth after having tweaking system resources and BIOS settings. I also had to tweak OpenGL settings and load the latest Detonator driver package from nVidia to get everything to run at 120 fps (My monitor's vertical refresh rate is set to 120Hz).

Before tweaking my system (with the default settings), the game ran a bit choppy on even the regular random maps.


My current laptop
===========

Make/Model: Compaq Presario 800
CPU: Intel Pentium III 700MHz (100 MHz FSB)
RAM: 256MB PC-100
Video: built-in ATI Rage Mobility-M w/ 4MB RAM (PCI bus)
O/S: Windows 2000 w/ latest SP

Almost impossible to run BZFlag with any decent playability. This goes to show that your processor and system specs are far less important than your video card. The 4MB of video RAM, plus the fact this built-in video controller is on the PCI bus, makes for very muddy gaming.

I disable mipmap on this system to improve performance.

The latest game I can play on this system is probably GTA-2, and even then that's quite slow. The laptop wasn't designed for games, as it is an ultra-portable (< 3lbs. and 1" thick when closed). Therefore I can play BZFlag on this system, but only at the lowest video specs (640x480x8), with low video quality settings and all video options disabled. It looks really bad, but it's playable at this level. Seeing past SW, however, is annoying.

Edit on 12/10/02: I added info about screen resolution and mipmap.
Last edited by Dervish on Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
protected object myTank(){
foreach(noob in this.game){return frag(noob);}}
Image

KnightMare
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 11:59 pm

Post by KnightMare » Wed Dec 11, 2002 12:36 am

I run the following:

Make: Homebuilt/Clone
CPU AMD 1600 XP
RAM: 256 PC2100 266 MHz
VIDEO: Nvidia Geforce 4 W/64 Meg DDR ram.
SOUND:Sound Blaster LIVE 5.1 (piped through my home stereo 2x 15"s)
OS: Slackware's Linux 8.1
Connection: Cable
FPS: average about 190,high as 250

My motherboard has onboard Video, but it was unusable with BZ.. S3 Virge turbo W/32. OpenGL on it was unplayable. I highly suggest the Geforce 4 to anyone needing a new video card, and hard to beat the price.

swine
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:13 pm
Location: Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Contact:

hardware? what hardware

Post by swine » Wed Dec 11, 2002 7:04 am

I use a timex sinclair, 4k ram bolted to a black and white tv. for sound I bang two rocks together and make "kerboom!" sounds. I gave up on a mouse and hardwired my cat to the computer. I play better with a good supply of "tender vittles (tm)".But I really hat the hairballs on the keyboard which is a chunk of cedar with letters drawn on crudely.

Thats what it feels like anyway. :oops:

In reality I run a clone with a p2 400, 398 or something ram. voodoo 5 card.
sound blaster that works by appointment. Mandrake linux 9 and windo$e 98 in dual boot mode.

(I do really have a timex sinclair somewhere in the attic)

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

ahahahahahahahah....

Post by Fiberchunks » Wed Dec 11, 2002 12:35 pm

ROFLMAO

:lol: :lol:

swine! stop it! too funny :)

Peace

User avatar
DEATH[2-I]
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 3:38 am

Post by DEATH[2-I] » Sun Dec 22, 2002 4:20 am

my rigs.

main wintel rig

Fic 503 mobo
amd k6-2 500 cpu
256meg ram
tnt video
8 scsi U2W harddrives (well it had to have some good points!)
adaptec 2940 series scsi card
tekram dc390w scsi card
other misc parts.

duel boot (sort of - when lilo works!)

win98 + SuSE8.0


system 2

SGI indigo2 IMPACT
r4400 250Mhz 2meg cache 64bit cpu
high-impact graphics
IMPACT-video option card
320meg ram
18gig 10K u2w scsi harddrive


system 3

SGI indigo2 IMPACT
r4400 250Mhz 2meg cache 64bit cpu
high-impact graphics
IMPACT-channel option card (quad-head output)
64meg ram
4gig scsi snaildrive
(THIS IS BASICALLY LEFT FROM UPGRADING THE OTHER ONE)


system 4

IBM AS6000 system
1 gig harddrive
32meg ram

i got this just to learn AIX. 8)

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

man ===

Post by Fiberchunks » Sun Dec 22, 2002 4:26 am

Where do you live! I want to play with them SGIs :)

Nice getup you got goin there :)

Peace

User avatar
DEATH[2-I]
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 3:38 am

Post by DEATH[2-I] » Sun Dec 22, 2002 5:32 pm

i come from a land far-far-away! :)

(u.k.)

these systems are dirt-cheap now, check e-bay and do a search for 'sgi'

if you are lucky you can get a indigo2 IMPACT with R10000 cpu for under $100

unfortunatly R10000 based units are like gold dust in europe, but there are lots in the u.s.

have fun.

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

what do you run for OS?

Post by Fiberchunks » Sun Dec 22, 2002 5:42 pm

what do you run for an OS on the SGIs?

Peace

User avatar
DEATH[2-I]
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 3:38 am

Post by DEATH[2-I] » Sun Dec 22, 2002 7:08 pm

all SGI systems run IRIX.
note the IX in irIX kind if gives the game away. :)

User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Contact:

Post by ski » Wed Jan 15, 2003 7:34 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops:

i have a compaq
450mhz (yeah i know...ssssllloooowww)
188mb RAM
gforce2 64mb

hmm, maybe i should think about getting a new pc..... :oops: :roll:
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image

User avatar
SGI
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Motown, MI, USA

Post by SGI » Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:32 pm

Buy a new MotherB and a new CPU and a couple ram..........Graphics Ge Force 2 no bad(AGP or PCI?????).Don't buy a new Pc...expecialy from.........sorry,no commercial...............without all the cr..p they put inside.. but if you can have a OS (Linux-w2k-Me-XP)
How many GB have your hard disk????...

User avatar
ski
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 562
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:30 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Contact:

Post by ski » Thu Jan 16, 2003 6:04 pm

SGI wrote:Buy a new MotherB and a new CPU and a couple ram..........Graphics Ge Force 2 no bad(AGP or PCI?????).Don't buy a new Pc...expecialy from.........sorry,no commercial...............without all the cr..p they put inside.. but if you can have a OS (Linux-w2k-Me-XP)
How many GB have your hard disk????...

i think 10 :? the computer is like 4 yrs old... :oops:
Rest In Peace Vivek
1986-2005 :(

Image
------------------------------
Member of DUB

Visit: Image
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Jan 16, 2003 6:37 pm

Office 1

Gateway P4 2.4Ghz 1.0 gig Ram, a bunch of drives.
Nvidia GeForce4 TI 4600, and a GeForce 2MX 400 PCI ( second monitor ).
Windows XP
FPS 75 rock solid ( vsynced ), around 120-150 not vsynced I think ( havent tried in a while ).

Apple 400mhz G4 512 megs RAM, some more drives.
Nvidia GeForce 2MX ( I think ).
OSX 10.2
FPS: can't get the thing to compile.

Home.
AMD Athalong XP 1900+ Gig of DDR Ram in a nice new MSI kt400 mobo
ATI Radeon 9700 running 2 montiors.
WIndows XP, and a busted linux install:)
FPS about 120 with Anti-Alisaing and Anisotropic filterning ( no vsync ), and my new high res textures.

AMD Athalon XP 1800+ 512 megs of DDR.
Nvidia GF3
REadhat 8.
FPS, don't know still geting NV drivers installed.

Via Cyrex C3 "giga pro" (700 mhz I think ). 256 megs SDRAM
Trident "Cyberblade"
Redhat 8
FPS: 6 ( gonna put in a GF2MX )

Somewhere inbetween
Dell Insperon 7500 laptop 600 mhz P3 256 megs SDRAM
ATI Rage mobility
Windows XP and Redhat 7.2
FPS: like 2

-353-CAPPY
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:42 am
Location: mn
Contact:

Post by -353-CAPPY » Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:44 pm

*Athlon 1.4 Ghz 266fsb
*M7VIB biostar
*256 mb PC2100
*40GB WD 7200rpm
*GeForce 2 MX 200 64MB
*(clone of a ) 16 bit sound blaster pic card :oops:


i get a steady 30 FPS rate out of this puppy :roll:


i had a old junker i scaped together for when i selling my old system and getting my new on the old being a HP 700mhz (i never do that again)

*Pentium 120Mhz(slot 5 i believe running on turbo)
*intel motherboard(could not find a driver download for this since intel cut support to this model)
*64 MB of system mem
*2 gig hard drive
*Savage 3 pro 32 mb pci
*isa-soundblaster 16 bit with 16 mb of sound card memory

this system booted Win 98 nice and just as fast as FreeBSD

i accually played ww2 fighters on it and used roger wilco in the same time with the wopping fps of 18 :shock:

i could only hear every fithed word on rw but that all u need to hear

but now its my target for when i shoot my M-14

User avatar
purple_cow
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 9:24 pm

Post by purple_cow » Sat Jan 18, 2003 11:49 pm

My main system is this
* P4 1.7
* 256MB (uggg) rambus
* ~90GB disk space total
* GF3
* bttv-based tv tuner
* couple sound cards
* gentoo linux, though I do have winxp installed for those rare times when I need it

I also have recently gained access to a visualization lab on campus where I've been spending a good amount of time (and of course, some BZFlag)
* SGI Onyx2
* 4-r10k series 250MHz processors (4MB shared L2 cache)
* 1 GB RAM
* 4x8.5GB 15krpm disks
* IR2 series graphics, 2 GEs, 2 RMs
* 2560x1024 desktop, stretched across a 19" and a 25" monitor
* and of course, a 75" diagonal Fakespace Versabench visualization screen

Death2003
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 9:54 pm

Post by Death2003 » Wed Jan 22, 2003 10:25 pm

my main one is
AMD Athlon XP+1700
AMD Atlon 1.4giga procssor
13.53 GB HD 128 or 256 DDR ram(not sure)
19" montior
52X max CD/r
DVD player


2nd one is

P4 +1400
i dont know what mobo it is
22" monior
512 memery
40gb HD
Play With Toys i dont know anything else about this

3rd is 366 mhz 20" moitor and crap:P

and 4th is ermmm
Veryold maby as old as my granny
lol:P

User avatar
metachris
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 6:13 am

Re: hardware? what hardware

Post by metachris » Thu Feb 06, 2003 11:38 am

swine wrote:I use a timex sinclair, 4k ram bolted to a black and white tv. for sound I bang two rocks together and make "kerboom!" sounds. I gave up on a mouse and hardwired my cat to the computer. I play better with a good supply of "tender vittles (tm)".But I really hat the hairballs on the keyboard which is a chunk of cedar with letters drawn on crudely.

Thats what it feels like anyway. :oops:

In reality I run a clone with a p2 400, 398 or something ram. voodoo 5 card.
sound blaster that works by appointment. Mandrake linux 9 and windo$e 98 in dual boot mode.

(I do really have a timex sinclair somewhere in the attic)

I've got the 16k expansion module, which should help with some of the texturing and midmap issues.

(Sinclair and expansion module are currently residing in a dusty basement box)

Guest

Bag's Systems

Post by Guest » Thu Feb 27, 2003 4:29 pm

System #1 Primo-Excellente
Dell 530 Dual 1.7G Xeon, 512 Ram, Gigabyte Ethernet Card
Ati Fire GL2 64Mb AGP
XP Pro

System #2 Sorta Primo
Dell 340 2.3G Pentium, 1G Ram, Gigabyte Ethernet Card
nVidia GeForce MX AGP
RH 8.0/7.3/XP

System #3 Budget PC
HP Kayak 550MHz Xeon 512k cache, 1G Ram
Dual PCI USR Hardware Modems
PNR nVidia Geforce <something> PCI
XP Pro

System #4 Laptop
Dell 3800, 600MHz, 382 Ram
ati builin graphics

with system #1 i can run with full textures, sound without glitches....system #2 runs ok, but textures are a bear....and the overall feel is much like a tank running through mud....sluggish.....system #3 was a linux box in its original form, but linux could not handle the multilink modems very well.......it was so bad that i could not even connect to the list server.......when i converted to XP Pro, the box hummmms, but no textures are allowed, and i "believe" that the dual modems cause some very intermittant lag that does not show on the lagstats......also the HP fx6 graphics card that comes with the system is XP Pro lacking.....anybody need a card..........system #4 works with every graphic option turned off.....

#1 and #3 are in my stable consistantly....#2 has too different a feel to be comfortable.....#4 is my last resort.....

User avatar
teatree
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 8:56 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by teatree » Sat Mar 08, 2003 3:48 pm

1.
2000 P4
512 DDR RAM
Geforce 4 MX 420
120 gb hardisk
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Sound Card
~Double boot Redhat 7.3 and Windooze XP Pro

2.
500 MHz P3
196 RAM
ELSA Erosor |||
15 gb
on board sound
~Doubleboot Redhat 7.3 Windooze 98
teatree

legends may sleep ...
... but they never die!

http://my.bzflag.org/league

-353-CAPPY
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:42 am
Location: mn
Contact:

Post by -353-CAPPY » Sun Mar 16, 2003 5:45 am

Amd 1.4Ghz 266fsb
Biostar m7vib kt266
Codec AC97
ddr pc2100 256mb
40gb WD ide drive
ATI radeon 7500 64mb ddr
LG 52x cd-rom
DR 24x10x40 cd-rw

O/S #1 win98se
O/S #2 Mandrake 9


Got BZFlag running nice on win98*but* on MDK9 i cant get BZFlag to run as of yet. I posted my pro in the forums.

Other than that MDK9 is a nice workstation.


man i need to get some more multi player games for my MDK9 lol

User avatar
CobraA1
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 7:19 pm
Location: Above the Arctic Circle, below Canada: Minnesota
Contact:

Post by CobraA1 » Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:27 pm

system #2 runs ok, but textures are a bear....and the overall feel is much like a tank running through mud....sluggish.....system
That's strange - 2.3 GHz with a GeForce - should run fine unlesss you're using a modem or BZFlag is, for some odd reason, not giving you hardware acceleration.

I'm only running a 600 MHz Celron with Intel 810 graphics, and I'm getting ~20-30 fps with no lag. BZFlag doesn't throw too many polygons; as long as hardware acceleration is on, it should run on most Pentiums fine.
-CobraA1

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau

My avatar symbol © 2002 Jeremiah Moss. All rights reserved.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4732
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:15 am

--Home Machine--

Make: Systemax
CPU: Intel PIII 800MHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-6WMMC7 (only 3 PCI and no AGP)
RAM: 384 PC133 SDRAM
Video Card: Intel 810e Onboard 1x AGP with 32MB
EDIT: Video Card: GeForce FX 5200 PCI 128MB DDR with dual VGA and S-Video out
Audio Card: Hercules Game Theater XP 6.1
OS: Windows XP Pro w/ SP1
Connection: 56k :?
FPS: 85-100 with v-sync, 300+ without
Drives:
-60 GB 7200RPM
-40 GB 7200RPM
-52x CD-ROM
-Yamaha 44x24x44 w/ Disc T@2 (Tatoo) (internal IDE version)
-64MB Sony USB Keychain drive :wink:

Just upgraded to XP from ME. Originally came with 128MB of RAM, but I added 256.


--School Machine--
Make: HP
Model: Kayak xu800 (refurbished)
CPU: Intel PIII 750MHz x2 w/ 120x120mm cooling fan
Motherboard: No idea, but it's dual processor
RAM: 512 PC133 SDRAM w/ heatsinks
Video Card: 3dfx Voodoo 4 AGP
Audio Card: Some onboard audio board
OS: Windows 2000 Pro & Mandrake 9
Connection: T1 (shared)
FPS: usually around 50-80
Drives:
-20 GB 10,000RPM SCSI
-4x4x24 CR-RW

Started out as a server. Had installed Windows .NET 2003 RC1 and had it configured for Apache, PHP, Terminal Services, Streaming Media Server, and Cygwin. After installing XP Pro on the same partition, .NET failed to load, and XP was messed up. So we backed up, formatted and repartitioned, and installed 2k and Mandrake. We also have Knoppix and Demolinux laying around somewhere...
Last edited by blast on Wed Aug 27, 2003 1:14 am, edited 2 times in total.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

Post by DTRemenak » Sat Mar 29, 2003 6:45 pm

That's odd, I just noticed I hadn't posted my configurations yet.

Main Computer:
AMD Athlon XP 1700+
ECS K7S5A (SiS 750 chipset)
512MB of PC-133 (Yes, I know I need to get DDR :oops: )
40GB WD BB-series
MSI GeForce3 Ti200
Onboard sound (CMI-9738)
Win98, Win2000AS, BeOS 4PE, OS/2 Warp4, RedHat 8, Mandrake 9, SuSE 8.1
All of the above OSes are currently installed and cooperating.
All of them run BZFlag fine (except for BeOS and OS/2 of course, since there's no port for them yet), 80-100 FPS.
If you see me online, I'm playing on this (w/ a 56K modem out here in the boonies that connects at 21.6K).

Other Computer
AMD K6-2 350
Tyan mobo
256MB PC-100
4GB Maxtor
SiS 6370 gfx
ESS Solo-1 sound
Win98
Doesn't handle texturing well, prb. due to gfx card. Even w/ texturing off we only get ~10-20 FPS. Shockwaves in the field of vision drop it to 3 or 4 FPS.

School computer (runs BZFlag fine :) )
P2 450
Intel 440BX2
196MB PC-100
4GB Seagate
Diamond Viper V550 (nVidia TNT)
Onboard sound
Windows XP

Newer school computer (also runs BZFlag fine)
AMD Athlon XP 1600+
FIC AT31 mobo (ATI chipset) (these give us hell, never buy one)
256MB DDR
20GB WD BB-series
Onboard ATI Radeon 7000VE gfx
Onboard sound
Windows XP / SuSE 8.1 dual boot.

We can only play LAN games at school because of the way our router is set up (probably on purpose ;) ). 100Mbps is more than adequate for BZFlag.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests