Play alone(For testing maps)

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
User avatar
LavaBall
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:34 pm
Location: Marsa
Contact:

Play alone(For testing maps)

Post by LavaBall » Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:54 pm

Is this possible?I mean yeah I made my own map but if I start a server I am pretty sure nobody joins becouse there are millions of other servers to choose from and that makes it impossible to spot my server so is it possible to playtest?
Living PolterGeist!

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:03 pm

yes it it. just run it through command line and dont include the -public command.
ex:
cd\program files\bzflag2.0.5b4 (press enter)
bzfs -world [urmap].bzw

Make sure your settings are included in map.
Then you open bzflag, in server type: Localhost and in port type: 5154
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
LavaBall
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:34 pm
Location: Marsa
Contact:

Hmm....

Post by LavaBall » Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:34 pm

Are those for Linux or for windows I use windows but OK thanks for the advice anyway.
Living PolterGeist!

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:45 pm

lava:

Go to your start menu, then Run, and Type CMD and hit enter.

It should bring up black window with a command prompt. type

Code: Select all

cd \
That should leave you the prompt c:\>

Type

Code: Select all

cd c:\program files\bzflag2.0.4
If you use bzflag 2.0.4. if you Use 2.0.5b2 or 2.0.5b3 or b4, the numbering will change. You will have to figure it out.

your command prompt should then look like this

Code: Select all

c:\program files\bzflag2.0.4>
then type

Code: Select all

bzfs -world c:\mymapwhereeveritis.bzw
Start up your bzflag client. type "localhost" (no need for quotations) in the server line. and use port 5154

you should be able to play!
Last edited by The Red Baron on Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
LavaBall
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:34 pm
Location: Marsa
Contact:

Post by LavaBall » Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:15 pm

Thanks red baron for the help :)

EDIT:I think using a shortcut and edit it from the target or whatever does this same I guess.
Living PolterGeist!

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:59 pm

LavaBall wrote:Thanks red baron for the help :)

EDIT:I think using a shortcut and edit it from the target or whatever does this same I guess.

In linux, (a terminal) its like this:

bzfs -conf /path/to/bzfs.conf

If BZFS isn't in your path, then you'll have to find it on your own using either which, or locate.

[wili@piko bzfs]$ locate bzfs
/usr/games/bzfs
/usr/local/bin/bzfs
/usr/local/man/man6/bzfs.6
/opt/bzflag/man/man6/bzfs.6
/opt/bzflag/bin/bzfs
/opt/bzflag/bin/bzfs0
/chroot/bzflag/bin/bzfs
/chroot/opt/bzflag/bin/bzfs

[wili@piko bzfs]$ which bzfs
/usr/local/bin/bzfs


Notice that I have a version of bzfs in /opt/bzflag. That is my 2.0 BZFlag, and it
is not in my path, thus, it doesn't show up in which, only locate. NOTE: I've filtered out all the references to BZFS from the source directory, as I am not perfect, some other BZFS files may be missing from the locate pattern.


Don't ask, "Gee, is that really your name?" because it is.
Don't ask, "Why is it spelled like that?" because it's Hawaiian, and you don't need to know.
Don't ask, "Why is your computer named Piko?" because I have my reasons, and am not about to explain them.
Don't ask, "Why do you run Linux? Windows is much better." because I like Linux, not Windows.

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:29 am

Gee, is that really your name?
Why is it spelled like that?
Why is your computer named Piko?
Why do you run Linux? Windows is much better!
Why am i asking these questions even though you said not to?
;)

You can also run bots like that. Just type the path to the bzflag you want to use:
cd\program files\bzflag2.0.4
Then type bzflag -solo #
# is how many bots you want to run.
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
I_Died_Once
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: The Dark Side
Contact:

Post by I_Died_Once » Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:50 am

Theres a joke to be made here... something about going blind...
...This has been a recording.

User avatar
Mostly Harmless!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:37 am
Location: California

Post by Mostly Harmless! » Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:27 am

My question is why Ice Wewe made an FUQ of questions nt to ask with unsatisfactory answers. :|
Last edited by Mostly Harmless! on Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones.
It is not the fall that kills you. It's the sudden stop at the end.
Always remember you are unique. Just like everybody else.

User avatar
LavaBall
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:34 pm
Location: Marsa
Contact:

Post by LavaBall » Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:51 pm

Why did you made such stupid questions Ice Wewe?
Living PolterGeist!

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Sat Dec 17, 2005 2:49 pm

LavaBall wrote:Why did you made such stupid questions Ice Wewe?

Their not questions. They're statements. :|

User avatar
wawaneesa
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:17 pm
Location: behind you!

Post by wawaneesa » Sun Dec 18, 2005 2:06 am

GAH! DOESN'T WORK!

I don't understand! I use the command and put everything u type, and it doesn,t work (of course I've checked the names)

:(
Friends of many BZ admins :)

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Sun Dec 18, 2005 3:07 pm

wawaneesa wrote:GAH! DOESN'T WORK!

I don't understand! I use the command and put everything u type, and it doesn,t work (of course I've checked the names)

:(

Your path is different? Such as he was doing it for 2.0.4, and you have 2.0.2?

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:49 pm

wawaneesa wrote:GAH! DOESN'T WORK!

I don't understand! I use the command and put everything u type, and it doesn,t work (of course I've checked the names)

:(
what doesn't work? It would help if I had more details. You are using windows right?
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

Post Reply