Nothing's loading...help?

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Nothing's loading...help?

Post by ducatiwannabe »

Ok, I go in to bzflag and it says "Can't talk with list server"

It won't find any servers and keeps displaying that message on the HUD.

So I type in a server that's running and it won't connect to that either.

Is it just a technical difficulty on the list server and will be fixed soon, or did something random just happen to my bzflag?
User avatar
huw
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:22 am
Location: England

Post by huw »

If you cant manually connect to any of the servers then it is either a bzflag or firewall problem.

If you can connect to a local server that would suggest that it was a firewall problem and vice-versa
User avatar
Roxport
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 4:01 pm
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Post by Roxport »

Currently, http://my.bzflag.org/serverlist.php returns a list of servers. Is that the same interface the bzflag client uses? I'm not at home right now, so I can't check what my mine says. Check your local network settings, especially if you're using a router. Try refreshing your Internet connection. Reset your modem/router. Temporarily disable your firewall. Check port blocking. Scan for malware. Re-install bzflag?
User avatar
huw
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:22 am
Location: England

Post by huw »

http://my.bzflag.org/serverlist.php << I don't believe this is the serverlist bzflag uses. It probably uses an html less page
User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by khazhyk »

no, that's not what it uses, it uses my.bzflag.org/db

last time this happend to me it was something wrong with the bzflag code. did you re-install bzflag?
Image
User avatar
huw
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 9:22 am
Location: England

Post by huw »

ducatiwannabe, are you running 2.0.4, 2.0.5 beta or v2_branch CVS?
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe »

And now it works...talk about creepy...thanks for your time.
User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom

Post by Spazzy McGee »

my laptop displays this when i have no wireless network signal on my iBook. It simply meant that 1, your internet conection crashed briefly, your firewall blocked the ports or some dodgy crap with your ISP. most likely number 1.


p.s. dosn't my.bzflag.org/serverlist.php take it's info directly from the list server at my.bzflag.org/db? so in effect they are the same. you just can't use the stats page to list your server.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
Post Reply