bzflag 1.70g setup on mandrake 9.0 help!

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

bzflag 1.70g setup on mandrake 9.0 help!

Post by Defman » Tue Dec 10, 2002 3:36 am

Hello everybody,

Is it possible somebody has already done this? Amunst the many errors when I tried to install from src.rpm, .tgz, and cvs this is the last one that showed up for the cvs and .tgz attempts (src.rpm i forget);
make: *** [default] Error 2

I know that sometimes in order to install packages onto a mandrake system, you need to use a "mdk.rpm" like file - maybe this is a good enough reason to switch to another Linux flavor!

Does anybody have any ideas or is there some more info somewhere that I can provide to help solve this problem?

TIA

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

well..

Post by Fiberchunks » Tue Dec 10, 2002 3:40 am

I run mandrake linux 8.2 (with 9.0 urpmi'd packages), and it works fine for me...

Now, what exactly did you do, and more importantly, how did you install it the first time?

Also, dump the error output, including a couple lines previous to a post, and I'll check it out for you...

Some questions about the distro install:
1. did you install gcc
2. do you have the GL libs installed?

Aside from that, just dump output here...
Peace

Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

Post by Defman » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:05 am

The first time install was from the mandrake 9.0 cd's,
gcc is installed also (I believe)
GL appears to be installed, Load glx is in my XF86Config-4 file.

Linux Noob here with training wheels still on!

:oops:

Here is a brief sample of the many errors I am having also - this is with the cvs version;

cc1plus: warning: -fnonnull-objects is no longer supported
cc1plus: warning: changing search order for system directory "/usr/include"
cc1plus: warning: as it has already been specified as a non-system directory
In file included from /usr/include/c++/3.2/backward/iostream.h:31,
from ../../include/bzfio.h:31,
from BzfString.cxx:13:

got me lost!

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

those aren't errors...

Post by Fiberchunks » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:13 am

Those aren't errors, simply gcc griping about deprecated #includes in the source -- it'll still compile just fine with all those warnings -- trust me :)

It sounds like you're doing everything right, and I think you have a working 1.7g0 in the bzflag/bin directory...

Just issue (from bzflag directory):
$./bin/bzflag -directory ./data

and you should be fine..if that is the case, simply issue the command (again from the bzflag directory):
$make install

and this will install all the bzflag stuff in the usual places (prob. /usr/bin)

Good luck, let us know how it goes.

Peace

Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

bin directory there, no bzflag in it though

Post by Defman » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:18 am

Tried running;
[root@file bin]# ./bzflag -directory ../data
bash: ./bzflag: No such file or directory

and so I checked bin to see if it was there and...
[root@file bin]# ls
bzfls* bzfrelay* bzfs*

cough cough, I guess computers don't always finish what they should have?

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

finished fine...

Post by Fiberchunks » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:23 am

just didn't compile bzflag, since there was an error :)

but it did compile the rest ... my guess is you're missing a library somewhere...we'll see

Peace

swine
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:13 pm
Location: Nanaimo, B.C. Canada
Contact:

mandrake 9 installs

Post by swine » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:32 am

I had problems installing to mandrake 9 as well.
I had to uninstall 1.7e6 before installing the new rpm. Works fine now. Hope that helps.

cheers :coffee:

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

I've never had a problem with source compiles...

Post by Fiberchunks » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:35 am

but yes, if it's done via rpm, you must do:
#rpm -e <bzflag>; rpm -ivh <bzflag.blah.rpm>


I don't believe that rpm -Uvh works in this instance...

Peace

Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

Post by Defman » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:41 am

Ok,
Thank you for the big help fiber in getting me this far, heres the output of makefile.log;

[root@file bzflag]# grep -R -i 'error' makefile.log
/usr/bin/g++ -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_POSIX_SOURCE -DHALF_RATE_AUDIO -DXF86VIDMODE_EXT -DXIJOYSTICK -I/usr/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -Wall -W -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti -DVERSION=10707001 -DROBOT -DINSTALL_DATA_DIR=\"/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/bzflag/data\" -I../../include -DNDEBUG -O2 -ffast-math -fomit-frame-pointer -fnonnull-objects -fexpensive-optimizations -c ErrorHandler.cxx
from ErrorHandler.cxx:16:
/usr/bin/ar cru ../../lib/libCommon.a AList.o BzfString.o ErrorHandler.o Flag.o Team.o TimeBomb.o TimeKeeper.o md5.o bzsignal.o
make[3]: *** [ViewFrustum.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [BoxBuilding.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [OpenGLGState.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [SceneDatabase.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [XWindow.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [MainWindow.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [targets] Error 2
make[1]: *** [targets] Error 2
make: *** [default] Error 2
[root@file bzflag]#


Hope this sheds some light on the problems!

Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

1.7e6 was uninstalled before last attempt

Post by Defman » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:49 am

Used rpmdrake to uninstall it with - same way it was installed - rpmdrake.

Still no go;

[root@file bin]# ./bzflag -directory ../data
bash: ./bzflag: No such file or directory

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

while I or one of the devs looks into this...

Post by Fiberchunks » Tue Dec 10, 2002 4:56 am

Do this:
1. grab the rpm from sourceforge
2. execute (as root)
#rpm -e bzflag
#rpm -ivh <name_of_sourceforge_rpm>

then:
$bzflag --version

make sure it says 1.7g0, then try and run it -- if you don't have any problems, then bonus! If you do -- hrm...most likely related to this, but quite frankly, I haven't a clue what's wrong...

Hrm...you're not missing the ar command, otherwise you'd get a different error entirely....

I'll have to query the sages on this one -- for now, try the above rpm method -- if that fails, let us know :)

Peace

Defman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:06 am

ok, well ....

Post by Defman » Tue Dec 10, 2002 5:41 am

It works now! At least it works on my test system! And wouldn't you know it, all it took was the easiest one....rpm -ivh

I remember having problems before on 1.7e6, so I just skipped the .rpm's and went straight for the source for 1.70g (what is up with the format change?)

Any way, it is past my bed time - Fiber you kept me up late again?

Thanks alot to everybody who posted and chunks for the patence!

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

ahhhh...

Post by Fiberchunks » Tue Dec 10, 2002 5:47 am

well, it's good that it's working, but I'm still interested to know what that error is....

hrm... hopefully one of the devs can clue me in :)

Peace

Post Reply