more trouble with bzfs

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

more trouble with bzfs

Post by Bot1 »

I've done everything the websites tell me to do with bzfs. you bring up notebook type in all the -ms -mp crap like that, saving it as something like C:\sampleworld.txt or bigworld.txt. but when i put it in the target in bzfs properties, i put -conf C:\sampleworld.txt, it has no arguement when i click apply, but no matter what i do, when ever i run it, it can never find C:\sampleworld.txt or whatever else i put in there. please help me before i throw my (Windows xp) computer out the window
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

becuase it can't just be -ms or -mp it has to be:

-ms 5

-mp x,x,x,x,x,x

and for the halibut, try making your conf a filename.conf
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

i know the ms 5 thing i was giving examples, it just never finds the files
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

i tried doing -conf C:\bzfs-conf.conf (i named the file bzfs-conf) and it still cant find it. ive tried so many different things umm... here, tell me exactly what i should save a conf doc as and what exactly to put in the "target" box"
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

do you have quotes around your path?

so:

C:\your\dir\here

becomes

"C:\your\dir\here"
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

so like from the beginning: "C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.2\bzfs.exe" -conf "C:\bzfs-conf.conf"
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

nope i get the same result... it might be my comp
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

also if you know, i made a map in BZEdit how do i put it into the bzfs conf file
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

can you post your conf, and your batch file?

It would be alot easier then guessing what is wrong.

One question at a time please, no need to spam up one topic with a million different questions.


Look here for additional info about confs and running a server
Last edited by Winny on Thu May 04, 2006 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

yeah hold on...:
-ms 5 -mp 20 -lagwarn 3/300 -j +r -public "bot1smassiveworld" -c -b
this is all i have, i dont want to extend it till i know it will work
User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner »

Sounds like your paths are wrong, but this is me popping into the conversation.

Heres my .bat file for TO:

Code: Select all

cd C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.4\
bzfs -world Maps\TO\TO.bzw -a 0 0 -fb -sb -j +r -ms 10 -d -tk -mp 0,10,0,10,0,100 -public "Tanner's Test Server" -publicaddr 127.0.0.1:5154 -srvmsg "Tanner's Server\nPlease do not curse, flame, or teamkill.\nThank You" -password t
If you want to test it, adjust the bzfs path to yours and change the map path.
The way mine is going here is I have a folder called Maps and I put my maps into it.
C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.4\Maps\TO\TO.bzw

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image
Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair »

What they mean by "path" is this: you have a starting point on each volume in Windows (volume = hard drive letter such as C:\) that \ is the starting point often called root (I think they use that terminology in windoze). Under \ you will have a bunch of directories (directory = what you would call a folder) One of them is Program Files. Inside Program Files is the Bzflag directory- something like BZFlag2.0.6. So to run an executable inside that directory you have to do:

Code: Select all

cd \Program/ Files\BZFlag2.0.6\
(cd stands for Change Directory)

And then do:

Code: Select all

bzfs.exe -conf C:\sampleworld.txt
The way you have it: -conf C:\sampleworld.txt has the computer looking for your conf file in the root directory. Either you need to put it there(not recommended to keep your filesystem neat) or you need to put it in a place you can find it and refer to it in your command. Absolute path would look something like this:

\Program/ Files\BZFlag2.0.6\sampleworld.txt

By the way, don't copy this exactly, see what bzflag is calling it's directory. A tip for easily figuring out your path: somewhere in Windows Explorer, you will find under "folder options" a check box that says something like: "show full path in title bar". Make sure that's checked. Then, all you have to do is single click on any given file, and the full path to it will show up top in the title bar. Just put that in your command and you're good to go.

One other piece of weirdness is with DOS. Sometimes, windows will want: Progra~ and other times it will want you to type Program/ Files. (that / is called an escape character so that it properly reads the space in the directory name Do some googling around to get more detail on this problem) Without criticising Windows as a whole, the DOS prompt, in my mind, sucks. Consider installing Cygwin if you plan on doing a lot of command line work. It's a port of the BASH shell that all us *nix users use. MUCH more powerful shell system IMHO.

One more tip:

I think you need to have only one option per line in your conf file. For example:

-ms 5
+r
-j
-c
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

Bot1 wrote:-lagwarn 3/300
What?
Bot1 wrote:C:\bzfs-conf.conf
You're sure your file is located exactly there?
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

thanks you guys i hope i can do this, im pretty new at really getting into computers, so bare with my newbishness, longhair, thankyou, c you on ducati later on (if im right thats normally where i meet you)
and thanks tanner ill test it
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

it works! now i just need to now how to connect my bzedit server into it. its saved under My Documents as "the largest world ever built.bzw" can you help me with that
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

you have to take that word and save it somwhere, and specify that with:

-world "C:\your\path\to\file.bzw"
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

with\slashes\in\between\every\word\and\space? cuz my file is : the largest world ever built.bzw, it has spaces so.......
User avatar
CannonBallGuy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:31 am
Contact:

Post by CannonBallGuy »

The slashes go after each directory...
Can't you just drag the file into the command line?
Image

Merry Christmas!

"Look, if I don't buy booze for the kids, I don't get any incriminating pictures to show to their parents, my business goes down the sink, my girlfriend leaves me and the baby goes on ebay. So help me search..."

"go Play With Toys urself in a dark alley u donkey ******" - Lt-Kirby2007
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

like this :"drive\file\file\file\the largest world ever built.bzw"
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner »

CannonBallGuy wrote:The slashes go after each directory...
Can't you just drag the file into the command line?
Heh wow. You can actually do that...

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

ok so ex "C:\My Documents\worlds\the largest world ever built.bzfs"
User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite »

Bot1 wrote:ok so ex "C:\My Documents\worlds\the largest world ever built.bzfs"
It's .bzw not .bzfs. Also, you can drag anything from your Desktop (or in My Documents, etc.) into the MS-DOS window and it will complete it for you.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

k ty
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am

Post by Bot1 »

not working, im typing in the way i saved it:
-world "C:\My Documents\the largest map ever built.bzfs" and it draws a blank
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

remove all the spaces from the name....

and it is .bzw.......not .bzfs....
Post Reply