quick problem

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

quick problem

Post by Bot1 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 7:41 pm

if i am in observer mode or pause for too long (3 minutes) the server starts saying everyone is not responding and ppl go running around thru builds and whatnot in little pause bubbles. how do i fix this

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:15 pm

We need more information than this. What Operating System do you have, what client version do you have, what else is running on the PC, what else are you doing while paused/observing, what is your lag normally on the server where this happens, does it happen on all servers or just a select few?

Give us as much info as you can, from your current description I couldn't really give you any advice.

Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

Post by Bot1 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:38 pm

i have windowsXP. version 2.0.4 (this prob happens on all versions). nothing runs on my pc other then bzflag cuz if i do i lag alot. doing nothing while observing sept talking to ppl. my lag is between 96-+ 2ms all the way up to 198-+22ms but it happens no matter what my lag is. and the only server it doesnt happen on (so far) is ePOCH 50player server or whatever that one is.

Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair » Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:49 pm

Have you tried the newer version? Sometimes that fixes things.

You can get it here:

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/bzfl ... e?download

Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

Post by Bot1 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:51 pm

2.0.8 doesnt download to windows, and it happens on all versions

Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Post by Longhair » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:11 pm

Bot1: did you follow the link? Am I missing something when I see a file called bzflag-2.0.8.exe? That sure ain't a Linux binary.

Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

Post by Bot1 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:16 pm

sry didnt see.... ty but even 206 is too fast for my comp. im waiting to get a new pc within the years. which brings me to another problem aside from the first. when i run 2.0.6 and the window comes up, the text is all colorful dots in mitch matched places, and it annoys me, that why i dont use 2.0.6

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:54 pm

This happens when a person has a router. It happens to me too. What make/model router do you got?

I got a D-Link DI-604 and it goes NR - except when I unplug it (in fact, the devs claim it is router related too).
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

Post by Bot1 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:35 pm

lemmi check wireless, D-link airpluss extreme G... thats what it says

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:37 pm

The model # will be on the bottom, where it says "Model:" most likely :)

Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

Post by Bot1 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:42 am

k its DI-624

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:45 am

Bot1 wrote:k its DI-624
Yup, it's your router. D-Links are pretty cheap (imho and from personal experience)... and so far I know a couple other people who have the same problem with a D-Link. :P

Sorry, can't be fixed (the devs even tried with a "UDP heartbeat").
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

Bot1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:15 am
Contact:

Post by Bot1 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:51 am

so what should i do (kicking the CPU only made my foot hurt but it started up the internet lol)

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:57 am

Bot1 wrote:so what should i do (kicking the CPU only made my foot hurt but it started up the internet lol)
Get a router that doesn't have make you go NR. That's all you can do.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

Post Reply