Dropping flags when firing

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
paoiufas
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:30 pm

Dropping flags when firing

Post by paoiufas » Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:34 pm

Every now and then the flag I'm carrying is automatically dropped when I'm firing. Is this a bug or a subtle server setting to keep out certain players?

User avatar
netochka nezvanova
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:58 pm
Location: NL

Post by netochka nezvanova » Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:54 pm

if the server has set the maxminum nr of shot to be fired to one with for example a geno flag, you'll drop it after you shoot
Image

loophole
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:43 pm

Post by loophole » Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:30 pm

you may be accidentally hitting middle click or space.

I do this alot :( sometimes without noticing

paoiufas
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:30 pm

Post by paoiufas » Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:50 pm

Nope, and no. My configuration hasn't changed since before this started happening so I'm not hitting middle-click. And this happens when I use the laser flag, cloaking flag and others. Nothing to do with geno.

User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner » Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:24 pm

Do you see "x shots left" or something along those lines at the top of the screen or in the message window now and then? That would be the shot limit for that flag. Most servers put a shot limit on the powerful flags.

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image

User avatar
rowrbazzle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:47 pm
Location: Eastern US
Contact:

Post by rowrbazzle » Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:32 am

Or somebody with a thief flag stole yours :wink:

paoiufas
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:30 pm

Post by paoiufas » Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:32 pm

No, I've been playing long enough to be aware of the "x shots left" indicator and when someone with a thief flag steals mine.

User avatar
soad freak
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 6:23 pm
Location: in between a pair of headphones

Post by soad freak » Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:35 pm

check your key configuration

User avatar
Sky King
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:07 pm
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

Post by Sky King » Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:38 pm

I agree, I have been losing flags every once in a while too... It started about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Don't get me wrong, it's very rare, maybe has happened 3 or 4 times in the last few weeks... and these are not shot-limited, or when there's thieves. There seems to be no connection to firing for me, I may just be driving along and I'll here the jettison sound, and sure enough, it's gone.

User avatar
GMMan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 9:32 pm
Location: On the time-space continuum

Post by GMMan » Tue Sep 05, 2006 12:46 am

Right. I just remembered. If you are not responding to the server, you will be under "pause" mode and your flag will be up for grabs. Happens to me last year while being nr at a school computer. Noticed that my GM dropped after a sec of being nr.
I haven't touched BZFlag for years, but maybe sometime I'll make a comeback.

I'm on Twitter. And I mess with webOS. This signature is not a blog.

paoiufas
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:30 pm

Post by paoiufas » Tue Sep 05, 2006 12:54 pm

I've double-checked my key configuration and it is fine. I even tossed the files and set it up from scratch. So that's not the problem.

I've experienced being paused and losing a flag for that reason. For me, this always happens when I'm firing and it happens at least once every five minutes.

Sounds like nobody else is having this problem. Thanks anyway.

User avatar
H0ley
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by H0ley » Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:20 pm

Try using a stable version of bzflag, exp. 2.0.8 or 2.0.4

Delete your old configuration and start fresh. I dunno about linux folk but its in the My Documents folder in Windows.

It could be a server issue maybe? Do you experience this at all servers? Where do you play? We've had problems with people dropping their flags at the Compound server, but that runs on a modded bzfs.

Is you lag fine? Sometimes when your lag spikes, you lose your flag.

We need details to help ya.

Good day to you sir.
Image
/loves meteorite's mom

benplaut
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:14 am

Post by benplaut » Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:38 am

Exact same thing happens on mine, i've tried pretty much everything...

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:04 am

Sky King wrote:I agree, I have been losing flags every once in a while too... It started about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Don't get me wrong, it's very rare, maybe has happened 3 or 4 times in the last few weeks... and these are not shot-limited, or when there's thieves. There seems to be no connection to firing for me, I may just be driving along and I'll here the jettison sound, and sure enough, it's gone.
Sometime you experience a ping jump u dont respond to the server. Sometimes if you get lucky you come back, but most of the time you have to rejoin. It will cause you to drop your flag if you dont have to reconnect...

EDIT:
gah dont think i read H0leys post close enough hehe
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
Geo Dude
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:50 am
Location: zzzzathura...mofo world

it happens to me

Post by Geo Dude » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:10 pm

it happens to me but i think im hittin L-R mouse buttons really fast

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Re: it happens to me

Post by Teppic » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:47 pm

waffle wrote:it happens to me but i think im hittin L-R mouse buttons really fast
Assuming you use linux, take out the "emulate3buttons" option of xorg.conf or unmap button 2 as 'drop flag'.

User avatar
Geo Dude
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:50 am
Location: zzzzathura...mofo world

Post by Geo Dude » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:54 pm

nah im good thx im just a bit precautious about it and i try to only press the right buttons :lol-old: but it still happens sometimes when im at mofo and i have like sw or laser i hit L-R moures buttons and im like "aawww man wtf happend" lol sory about wtf

paoiufas
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:30 pm

Post by paoiufas » Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:19 pm

I experience this problem on all servers. I've deleted my configuration and recreated it from scratch. Reinstalling BZFlag doesn't even help.

Post Reply