Registering

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
gracef
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:20 am

Registering

Post by gracef » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:22 am

How do i register?

Im sick of getting kicked so if anyone could help it would be much appreciated.

Cheers :D

User avatar
Skeeve
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: Near Aix La Chappel

Re: Registering

Post by Skeeve » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:44 am

gracef wrote:How do i register?

Im sick of getting kicked so if anyone could help it would be much appreciated.

Cheers :D
You are registered since August 30.

You simply have to put your callsign (gracef) and password into bzflag's "Join Game" screen.
Avatar created with South Park Studio

Don't you hate it when your posts get deleted without any note?

gracef
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:20 am

Post by gracef » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:47 am

lol kkie kewl thx

gracef
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:20 am

Post by gracef » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:51 am

kkk umm i did but it says i need to identify myself.... what now?

User avatar
macsforme
General
General
Posts: 2026
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 am

Post by macsforme » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:56 am

Make sure you typed in your callsign and password correctly in the "Join Game" screen. Try erasing them and typing them in again.

gracef
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:20 am

Post by gracef » Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:33 pm

lol did that. I can get into some places like the badger place, but others like laser sniping and planet mofo it doesnt.

hmm...

User avatar
TD-Linux
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Post by TD-Linux » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:18 pm

Hmm, that's odd.
Test logging out of this forum, then logging in again, to make sure your password is right.

Make sure you are entering "gracef" as your callsign. Also, make sure you enter your forum password (the one you use to login to these forums) as your password.

Possibly your callsign is locally registered at some servers. Try using /identify (with your old password that you /register-ed with), then /deregister. Don't try this if you never have typed /register at the server in question.

User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

Post by DTRemenak » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:20 pm

TD-Linux wrote:Possibly your callsign is locally registered at some servers. Try using /identify (with your old password that you /register-ed with), then /deregister. Don't try this if you never have typed /register at the server in question.
Or, contact an admin on the server in question and ask them to either deregister you, or add you to the LOCAL.GLOBAL group...that way you don't need to identify.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:30 am

gracef
It's possible you may have a proxy preventing you from IDing within BZFlag. Open this file in Notepad (or any other text editor):

Code: Select all

My Documents\My BZFlag Files\2.0\config.cfg
Go down to this line after opening config.cfg:

Code: Select all

#set list http://my.BZFlag.org/db/
Now change it to this:

Code: Select all

set list http://my.BZFlag.org:81/db/
If it's not a proxy problem this will do nothing, but if it is, it will bypass it.

Good luck! :)
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

gracef
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:20 am

Post by gracef » Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:14 pm

Awesome Cheers Guys i'll give it a go :D

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Post by Grace F » Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:42 pm

It still says... *Global login rejected, bad token*

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Post by Grace F » Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:49 pm

i've even made a new account.

I had to put in my step dads email addy and yet it still says the same things.

I suppose im best of contacting an admin aye? If i can get a hold of 1

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Post by Grace F » Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:52 pm

OMG all this bad token stuff what does it mean!!!! LOL!

User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner » Sun Oct 01, 2006 5:03 pm

Have you tried any/all of the answers above?

-Tanner
Tanner - Segway HT i180 Red Owner - Random Map Creator - BZStocks - TS Software

Image

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Post by Grace F » Mon Oct 02, 2006 12:23 am

Yes i have, al except the contact admin bit.

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:39 am

bad token means that you didn't get a token from the list server, in order to get a token you have to do "find server" before you log in. If you type in servers You'll get a bad token.
Image

User avatar
GMMan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 9:32 pm
Location: On the time-space continuum

Post by GMMan » Mon Oct 02, 2006 2:09 am

Wow. Since when was that? I didn't have any problem with Global when I just plainly connected. Of course, I connected to the server where I left off last time, so I didn't really type it in.
I haven't touched BZFlag for years, but maybe sometime I'll make a comeback.

I'm on Twitter. And I mess with webOS. This signature is not a blog.

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Post by Grace F » Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:23 am

no but see i dont type in the servers. I pick one from the list.

But even still it says *Global login rejected, Bad token*

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5187
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:07 pm

what OS are you on?
ImageJeffM

Ozor Mox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ozor Mox » Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:52 pm

Hi all! I registered today and am having basically the same problem. I logged in and activated my forum account with no problem, and I am definitely using the right password from within BZFlag. I've even changed my password to see if special characters were a problem. But when I connect, I get a minus symbol next to my name, and the message "Global login rejected, bad token" appears, followed by "This callsign is registered", and then the usual blurb about how I need to register for this server. Oh, and sometimes "You must identify yourself before playing". Any ideas anyone?

Ozor Mox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ozor Mox » Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:07 pm

Aha! A Meteorite's suggestion about the set list line in the config.cfg file has solved the problem for me, I now get "Login approved" and a plus symbol next to my name!

Gracef, may I suggest checking you definitely did that right, as my problem was identical to yours.

Ta for the post Meteorite!

User avatar
GMMan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 9:32 pm
Location: On the time-space continuum

Post by GMMan » Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:06 pm

Maybe you didn't activate your BZFlag callsign? It might do something...
I haven't touched BZFlag for years, but maybe sometime I'll make a comeback.

I'm on Twitter. And I mess with webOS. This signature is not a blog.

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5187
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:51 pm

Yes, the bad token is most often a sign that you are behind some sort of caching proxy server that screws up our token from the list server.

changing the list to port 81 usualy fixes the problem, as most proxy servers only cache port 80.
ImageJeffM

Ozor Mox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ozor Mox » Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:55 pm

Quick question...when I couldn't get it to work, I used the /register and /identify commands to see if those would work, by entering my password in. I read a post on here afterwards that those are no longer used because admins can clearly see passwords entered that way. Basically, is it a good idea to change the password now that I've done that?

User avatar
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA

Post by Grace F » Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:37 am

OMG!!!!! YES YES YES OH YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LMAO it worked w00t!!!

Thx everyone for your suggestions! :D

Post Reply