Registering

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5187
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:38 pm

OzorMox
yes, if your password was sent via /identify, assume someone has it.
ImageJeffM

Ozor Mox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ozor Mox » Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:03 pm

Ok good thanks, cause I just did a mass password change out of paranoia! ;-)

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

similar problems

Post by Ck_asdf » Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:33 pm

I've had similar problems, which just started today.
I was in bz, and I quit for a minute to check something. When I came back, I got a dash next to my name, instead of the usual "@." The server told me that the callsign is registered, though I was still allowed to play (I don't have many restrictions on my server). I use global permissions to set me and a couple of friends as admin/cops.

I have read through the suggestions and tried them.

1. I changed my password at the board, had no problem.
From there, I erased my name & password from bz, then retyped my name & new password. Still, I got the same message as above.

2. I edited config.cfg to add port 81 to the mix. Same thing...

3. I deleted the config file, booted bz up, and got the same error!


I just tried something else I thought to do. I joined a different server than my own, and I was logged in fine. But then when I searched for my server again in the list, it wasn't there! I even tried searching by text using "ck's" which usually shows my two servers and jack's two servers. But only his were listed. When I typed the name, it went to the server just fine, but again, I wasn't "registered."

What's going on here?

Ozor Mox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ozor Mox » Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:38 pm

JeffM2501 wrote:OzorMox
yes, if your password was sent via /identify, assume someone has it.
So how safe is the global registration system? I mean can I use my regular password for these forums and the game, in that no one actually sees it through either?

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:44 pm

If you use global noone will see your password.

It is stored encrypted.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:09 pm

OzorMox wrote:
JeffM2501 wrote:OzorMox
yes, if your password was sent via /identify, assume someone has it.
So how safe is the global registration system? I mean can I use my regular password for these forums and the game, in that no one actually sees it through either?
No server sees your password via global login. During global login, your client submits the password to the global login system (aka, the BZBB) and gets a token in return. This token is only good for one time. The client gives the token to the server, and then server asks the global login system if it is valid. If it is, your are authenticated, if it isn't, you are not authenticated.
Win Xp wrote:If you use global noone will see your password.

It is stored encrypted.
Since the BZBB moved servers, https is not available. Your password is sent in the clear over the Internet. But it is stored at the BZBB with a hash (presumably md5 or sha-1 because it is phpBB...)
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:23 pm

okay, so does anyone have a solution for my question? As to why I can't seem to get authenticated, or whatever?
Image

User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf » Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:07 pm

um ... that's weird.
I checked over at bz again, and now my servers are listed again ... AND I'm registered just fine in them.

how weird. any explanation for this strange activity?
Image

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:28 pm

Ck_asdf wrote:um ... that's weird.
I checked over at bz again, and now my servers are listed again ... AND I'm registered just fine in them.

how weird. any explanation for this strange activity?
Your server probably couldn't check the token for global login. My home server used to have this side-effect, sometimes it would work and sometimes it wouldn't. I could never figure out exactly what it was, but I always blamed my router. :)
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

Ozor Mox
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ozor Mox » Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:07 pm

Oh and by the way, can I just congratulate you for allowing registered players to change their usernames! I first chose my name without a space in case the game couldn't accept spaces, but alas it had absolutely no problem with it, so I added the space in my forum profile. I was of course expecting to have no ability to do this, as with most other forums. The combination of forum username/password with in game username/password is nothing short of brilliant!

:D

Post Reply