turn on UDP

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
axes_of_weezles
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:48 am

UDP and Vista

Post by axes_of_weezles » Sun May 06, 2007 5:16 am

Boomer Sooner wrote:Anyone have any luck with this issue on a Vista machine? Thanks
After considerable wrangling, I found the culprit to be McAfee Security Center that was bundled with the new laptop I got. I turned it all off except for the A/V.

As soon as I uninstalled it, Bzflag started running with no UDP errors and the laptop started running as fast as I have seen it run.

Trying to exempt bzflag did not work under Mcafee.

Dark lord
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:25 pm

Re: turn on UDP

Post by Dark lord » Fri May 25, 2007 1:20 pm

Every time i try to log onto a server it says upgrade your client Bye have a nice day. What can i do? :evil: :?: :?: :?: :?:

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Fri May 25, 2007 2:10 pm

uhmm.. upgrade your client? ;)

What version of the client are you using?

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Fri May 25, 2007 11:35 pm

Dark lord wrote:Every time i try to log onto a server it says upgrade your client Bye have a nice day. What can i do? :evil: :?: :?: :?: :?:
donny_baker wrote:uhmm.. upgrade your client? ;)

What version of the client are you using?
BZFlag says to upgrade your client when it has UDP problems. It's a pretty bad error message considering the whole 2.0 line has UDP support.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:01 pm

Read the previous posts, this is most likely a router issue. The answers are there. http://www.portforward.com

Big Cheese
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:51 am

Post by Big Cheese » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:58 pm

This just started happening to me now, no one has messed with my router at all. Now as of yesterday and today it has somehow quit working. First on my laptop that has vista, now on my desktop with xp. It was all working fine the last couple weeks.

I've already checked my router, and my firewall/anti-virus is shut down with no luck.
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sat Sep 06, 2008 8:38 pm

Your ISP is probably having some routing issues, or is configuring some hardware.

Give it a week or so, and if you still have no UDP, try contacting them to see if they're having issues.

Big Cheese
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:51 am

Post by Big Cheese » Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:50 pm

I do not believe it it my ISP due to friends with same ISP as me can get on perfectly fine. They are even close to me in location.
Image

Big Cheese
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:51 am

Post by Big Cheese » Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:32 pm

Update: I uninstalled and reinstalled bzflag 2.0.8 and it works fine. So now im really confused. I guess i'll be useing 2.0.8 for awhile. :|
Image

Post Reply