cant play bzflag world cache files dissapered

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
Post Reply
yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

cant play bzflag world cache files dissapered

Post by yo mama! » Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:35 pm

i can't play bzflag cause it says: WOrld cache files dissapered. join canceled

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4791
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:15 pm

What version of BZFlag? What operating system? Is this a specific server, or any of the servers?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Zelgadis
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:31 pm
Location: European Union

Post by Zelgadis » Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:15 pm

You must only remove all cache files :D
When you use windows, then: My Documents/ My BZflag Files/cache


thats all :D
Want to improve your skill? Join the http://guleague.org!

yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

Post by yo mama! » Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:27 pm

uh it was 2.0.8 thnx first

User avatar
Da Best
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: Inside Your brain

Post by Da Best » Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:45 pm

Or you could delete all the cahces, and simply reinstall it.

yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

Post by yo mama! » Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:49 pm

i have reinstalled like five times

oh and first consul i cant find the cache files

User avatar
Da Best
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: Inside Your brain

Post by Da Best » Sun Dec 31, 2006 11:00 pm

Hmm, try creating a new world cache with the command prompt (if you're in windows) use Terminal if you're in mac

I'm Not familiar with windows, so i cant tell you how

yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

Post by yo mama! » Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:34 am

k thnx all i try

User avatar
Da Best
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: Inside Your brain

Post by Da Best » Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:25 am

type mkdir <pathName> please post exact error, please try to keep your problem to one topic.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:47 am

Reinstalling it will not remove your offending cache files. You must delete your cache folder:

Code: Select all

C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\My BZFlag Files\cache
Drag the whole "cache" folder to the Recycle Bin.

If you don't do this, it's gonna keep on complaining about your cache files.

BZFlag will recreate that folder when you join a server. You do not need to create it.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

Post by yo mama! » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:16 am

g thnx dude

but dude my family has a server for our house u no so we can acces the same file from any comp in the house and i went up to the my documents part and ther was no my bzflag files. wat do i do?

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:31 am

yo mama! wrote:but dude my family has a server for our house u no so we can acces the same file from any comp in the house and i went up to the my documents part and ther was no my bzflag files. wat do i do?
I recall that storing BZFlag's files on a network drive has problems...

Someone else with a little more expertise with this area will have to answer, sorry. :(
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

Post by yo mama! » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:35 am

k thnx for trying tho

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4791
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:28 pm

Yes, BZFlag cannot read or write to My Documents when it is set to an UNC path (such as \\SharedServer\SharedFolder\YourDocuments). You either have to change My Documents to point to a local directory, or you have to map a drive to that network share and adjust your My Documents location appropriately. Ask the one in your family that set up that functionality to help you further and/or use the Windows Help system.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

yo mama!
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: san diego, california

Post by yo mama! » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:20 pm

ok ill try it. thanks!

Post Reply