Quick keys issue

All things BZFlag - no [OT] here please
Post Reply
trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Quick keys issue

Post by trpted » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:22 am

REF as it relates to Bzflag = https://wiki.bzflag.org/Quick_keys

#1 Currently if I press

a) ALT+F1, it is like I pressed the Start Button/Kicker.

b) ALT+F2, up comes the run command.

For those two REF based upon my OS, see http://www.comfsm.fm/~dleeling/tech/lub ... tcuts.html

#2 Is it possible to change the quick keys for Bzflag? To be clear of what I mean for example instead of ALT+F1 - like ALT+Q

Thank you

User avatar
Zehra
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 458
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Arctic
Contact:

Re: Quick keys issue

Post by Zehra » Thu Nov 22, 2018 2:16 am

To answer your second question.
It probably would require a client modification, since if I'm not mistaken, the 'Quick Keys' are hard coded.
(Not the message itself, but the keys themselves.)

-Zehra
There's this game I love and it's called Ducati. ~Zehra
Those who are critical of me, I'll likely be the same of them. ~Zehra
There's always something to remember and it's been a game I love. ~Zehra
The time spent is a time which can never be regained, so it's a time to enjoy. ~Zehra
The decisions we make are the ones we look forward too and the ones we regret. ~Zehra
The details and the skill of knowing and applying them is what excellence is made of. ~Zehra
The best player is the one who knows what to do and when and applies it successfully. ~Zehra
There's a difference between knowing my name and knowing me, one shows respect to my name and the other is to who I am. ~Zehra
My blog is available at zehrahblog.wordpress.com.
See where I've last been active at Strayers.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Quick keys issue

Post by blast » Thu Nov 22, 2018 2:18 am

Yes, those seem to be hard coded. You can change the behavior if you'd be okay with modifying the code and compiling. The actual handling of quick keys is in the doKeyPlaying function in playing.cxx and the menu text is defined in QuickKeysMenu.cxx. A simple change might just be changing the code to use Shift instead of Alt and then remapping your chat tab keys to something else.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

trpted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:29 pm

Re: Quick keys issue

Post by trpted » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:56 pm

Yes, those seem to be hard coded. You can change the behavior if you'd be okay with modifying the code and compiling. The actual handling of quick keys is in the doKeyPlaying function in playing.cxx and the menu text is defined in QuickKeysMenu.cxx. A simple change might just be changing the code to use Shift instead of Alt and then remapping your chat tab keys to something else.
#1 In the future will it be possible to change it without changing the source code and compiling?

#2 In the meantime as I wait for that to happen (the above question), I request more guidance then that.

An example of when I was given guidance, while not the best in the world (source code vs config file), it will have to do.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Quick keys issue

Post by blast » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:53 pm

I think you could literally just change AltKey to ShiftKey in the highlighted code I linked to in playing.cxx.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests