mouses, mices, whatever

All things BZFlag - no [OT] here please
Post Reply
User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

mouses, mices, whatever

Post by The Red Baron » Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:16 pm

hey guys, here is a question that has bothered me. What Mouse do you use? I've begun the quest for the best mouse. This though occured to me after being beaten by bamf. I was so desperate I though chaning mice might work... :lol-old: :D

Or maybe I could blame my mouse, Any whoo, here is my mouse, The one i have is slightly older than the one in the pic. but same concept, Thumb operated.

http://www.logitech.com/lang/images/0/129.gif

watcha think?[/url]
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:20 pm

I have one of those in a box somewhere,
can't seem to be able to give it away. I'm
currently using a logitech wireless optical
mouse. Eats batteries, but it's convenient
and works rather well.

User avatar
anteater
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 8:52 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

mice

Post by anteater » Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:23 pm

Baron,

I found this mice or mouse ;) and it looks like a cool one.
http://rj55.com/accessories/finger_track2000.jpg

anteater

User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

Post by DTRemenak » Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:28 pm

I've always liked logitech mice - used mechanical mousemen for a long time, an optical mouseman for a few years, recently got an MX300 'cause the left-click switch was dying on the old one.

User avatar
poxy
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:24 pm

Balls

Post by poxy » Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:02 pm

It is very important to keep your balls clean. And whatever touches your balls. Mouse balls of course.

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:07 pm

Yo Ant.

That is a mouse. These desk thingies, i gues you could call them rats. Or RUS (rodents of Unusual Size). Man I wounder how bzflag would be with one of those! I like the trigger click.

Devs: can bzflag be played with a joystick?
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
Lan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:21 am
Contact:

Post by Lan » Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:07 pm

I use emachines mouse. I just bought an emachines computer about 1 year or two ago, and it was just a complete package: monitor, keyboard, CPU, and mouse, but it works nicely. Just like any other mouse.

Death Barrel
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:26 am

Post by Death Barrel » Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:14 pm

Baron: yes bzflag can be played with a joystick/game controller with the SDL version of bzflag i think

i am with trepan :) i use the same (wireless optical logitech) does eat batteries too :D

Burned Account -CNG-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

Post by Burned Account -CNG- » Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:58 am

for some reason, i suck with expensive mouses
this was my old mouse
http://images.google.ca/images?q=tbn:0n ... s/mice.jpg
i dont use it anymore, it smashed against the wall to many times.

i gave up this mouse
http://images.google.ca/images?q=tbn:26 ... ZZZZZZ.jpg

for this one
http://images.google.ca/images?q=tbn:Dy ... pti/db.jpg
its cheap but its easier for me to make my dodges...
Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

User avatar
EvilChickenNugget
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 1:35 am
Location: Highland, NY
Contact:

Post by EvilChickenNugget » Fri Jul 16, 2004 5:47 am

I have a Logitech MX700 wireless optical mouse. It is absolutely the best mouse I have ever used, EVER.

I have the wireless keyboard also.

http://www.pl.tomshardware.com/technews ... -mx700.jpg
Image

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Fri Jul 16, 2004 2:00 pm

i'm taking notes on which mice to try out when my dies... :D
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
toaster
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 4:44 pm

Post by toaster » Fri Jul 16, 2004 9:17 pm

I am also a fan of the Logitech wireless optical mouse. It works great on most surfaces, and it's USB. I have it plugged in plus my normal ps2 mouse that came with the computer. WinXP doesn't mind having two connected, either will work fine at any time.

The wireless is way better for bzflag, and if the battery dies, I am unlikely to be killed right away because I just bring the other mouse forward from the back of the desk.
-toaster
"So there I was, all alone, facing all of the enemy. I started driving in circles, until I had them surrounded, and then I escaped in the confusion."

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Thu Jul 29, 2004 11:30 pm

can some one point me to the SDL version of bzflag 1.10.4?

Thanks
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Thu Jul 29, 2004 11:40 pm

ok, i found the SDL, I think Downloaded it from SF, it downloaded as a *.txt opened it and like i thought, it looks like gibberish.

Then again, pretty much all coding looks like that to me.

instructions anyone?
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5184
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Jul 29, 2004 11:55 pm

SDL support is in CVS NOT in 1.10.x

It's a build option, so you'll need to be able to compile BZ to use it.
ImageJeffM

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:01 am

durn it, i thought so.
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

User avatar
Tupone
Dev Guru
Dev Guru
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: Rome, Italy
Contact:

Post by Tupone » Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:41 pm

In SF - patches, someone has produced a patch to apply SDl changes to the 1.10

good luck

Post Reply