-password workarounds?

All things BZFlag - no [OT] here please
User avatar
The Vaxorcist
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

Post by The Vaxorcist »

No, not shell access.
Create a shortcut.
right click in a folder somewhere -> New -> New Shortcut
Create one to bzfs, right click on it, click properties, fiddle with it.
Image
Where's Darwin when you need him?

Lagger@Everywhere
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

I still vote to give the techies that day off

:wink:
User avatar
The Vaxorcist
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

Post by The Vaxorcist »

Yeah, that would be the best solution
:D
:P
Image
Where's Darwin when you need him?

Lagger@Everywhere
User avatar
kingofnerds
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:30 pm
Location: usa, Utah
Contact:

Post by kingofnerds »

I don't see why creating a shortcut would need shell access, couldn't you just click the file menu on the explorer and create new shortcut and just enter in the command like it is listed above?
In the end Nerds with Linux will Rule the world
<br>
<a>Free Computer Techincal Support</a>
User avatar
The Vaxorcist
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

Post by The Vaxorcist »

Exactly.
:twisted:

:)
Image
Where's Darwin when you need him?

Lagger@Everywhere
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

ow ok it does work as far as i can tell...
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom

Post by Spazzy McGee »

ah - but they even disabled right click. :)
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano »

How about Ctrl+Alt+Del, then select Task Manager. If task manager starts, select File... New Task (run).... You could type your bzfs command in here. I have some possible other "tricks", PM me if this doesn't work. My guess is that you will have a hard time getting it to run though. I manage the network at my kids school and they can't do ANYTHING I don't let them. Your school probably has an Active Directory policy concerning which applications will run (many, many schools do) on their PCs and if that is the case you have no hope... We are not quite as strict on my network here at work and I know the ways around some of the policies that I have in place. But since it is a school I wouldn't hold out too much hope...

donny_baker, MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer)
User avatar
The Vaxorcist
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

Post by The Vaxorcist »

Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooff. :(
Could you make the shortcut on a different computer and copy it to their computer?
That should work. (Hopefully :? )

Don't you hate admins that are like that? Ironically, they probably have a couple holes in their setup despite their paranoia.

/me wants to rant about how they should replace systems like that with linux systems that have proper user permissions.
Image
Where's Darwin when you need him?

Lagger@Everywhere
User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano »

You are correct about the holes... It really does take a lot of due dilligence to stop everything in Windows... And even then there are no guarentees....
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

at our school they have disabled taskmanager
But on some of the computers the stoper stuuf is not loaded correctly or not at all and you can do what you want well most...
By the way is help still in the program list?
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

I hate how the schools thin that we willl ruin there computers so they limit all this crap


I mean the can they there pill and let you run a batch file for a few hours



(I am touchly cause of the old tech teacher at my old school, refer to Ice Wewe for more info)
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

Win Xp wrote:I am touchly cause of the old tech teacher at my old school, refer to Ice Wewe for more info
Ice Wewe whats he on about?
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom

Post by Spazzy McGee »

task manager is disabled. you press ctrl-alt-del you get the option to 'log out', 'Change password', 'Lock computer', 'Cancel'

when i say the techies have screwed this around i mean SCREWED THIS AROUND.

they even took help out of the menu (because people discovered that if you searched stuff like 'games' you could open stuff like pinball)

They probably disabled all this stuff because my school is probably more computer litarate (in general) than most others.

once last year, my mate got a lifetime ban from the chool system (appart from in lessons), because he managed to gain administator access. hehe.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
User avatar
BinarySpike
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:58 pm
Contact:

Post by BinarySpike »

You could always hardcode bzfs to set the password to something you want.


Just set one of the argv in the main() functions to -password "password"
bzfs should do the rest...??? right?


batch files are command line runns anyway.. just make a batch file that runs bzfs with -password...
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

yer they screw our system as well WHY!!! if youve got data you dont want us to have then dont make it public ARRRRR

But i found that is you search though the files then you can find folders of shotrcuts that take you behind the protection but there arent many left...

And your BZFlag Tornament Doesnt Look Likely To Happen...

STUPID TECHIES
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny »

well there is always my offer of me running the server for you

(if they will unblock 5154 for that time)
User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni »

they dont need to unblock 5154 if your hosting it because if you request it then you get a reply
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH
Post Reply