Page 1 of 2

-password workarounds?

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:41 pm
by Spazzy McGee
is there a way to put use a -password parameter in the in-game server starter?

at school we are doing a charity bzflag tournament on the local network, but the school technitians don't want to give us access to the command line (because they are paranoid abiut us doing terrible things to thier system). and i know you can't set the -password through the map file....

i don't suppose thers a default password?

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:43 pm
by Sharpshooter
Yeah, first do: /setpass <password here>
Then do /password <whatever you put as your password>

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:44 pm
by The Knights Who Say Ni
you could make a batch file and imput it there i could make you one if you want..?

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:45 pm
by Spazzy McGee
the /setpass dosn't work. it tells me that "/setpass is disabled".

it's annoying. i think we might not be able to use batch files. but let's give it a go.

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:54 pm
by The Knights Who Say Ni

Code: Select all

@echo off

set BZFSPROGRAM="C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.5b2\bzfs.exe"

set PASSWORD="PASSWORD HERE"

REM ***** Don't change anything below this line! *****

@echo on

%BZFSPROGRAM% -password %PASSWORD%

pause
just fill in the bit that says password here and the path to BZFlag and it should work then copy the edited text to a file and call it server.bat or some thing then double click it and then it run also all this is asuming that your using windows...

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 11:06 pm
by khazhyk
umm... make a map.conf and put -world "path/to/world.bzw and then put -password password.here in it too. and when starting the server put -conf "path/to/map.conf"

include ""

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 11:17 pm
by Winny
wow a charity bzflag tourament I wish our school did that

bring in a external pc and run teh server off that

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 6:29 pm
by Spazzy McGee
yeah i was goint to run the server off my laptop, but they wouldn't let us.

i used te batch file, and it worked fine. thanks TNWSNi. :)

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:43 pm
by soxs
very kool,how did u get to do that spazzy?,and whats the server once u put it up ?

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 2:57 am
by Hannibal
its on a LAN, so its not accessible from outside.(am i right?)
security reasons, as his school is settin g up the tournament.

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 5:40 pm
by Spazzy McGee
yeah. we diddn't want to run it public anyway....

we have now run into another problem --- our system admin is getting touchy with us using the batch file, so we have to run the server without a password, but all the maps that i put into the 'worlds' folder won't work.

i start the server (using the in-game server starter) with any custom map it says 'server started' and when you try to connect it fails. it only works with random map.... aaaaaahhhh.

we want to run HiX.

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:49 pm
by Winny
do you want me or someone else to run the server? so you can connect to it just have it remote ?

that would solve alot of problems

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm
by Spazzy McGee
no. they want it on the lan.
1, they are paranoid
2, lag - it would be crossing the atlantic
3, they blocked the port for bzflag

i want to know why my maps arn't wrking properly.

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:28 pm
by Winny
you are doing the start server things right?


that for some reason will only allow you to run teh random map you can't run a specifided one



my god and tell the technicians to take a pill

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:34 pm
by Spazzy McGee
Win Xp wrote:you are doing the start server things right?


that for some reason will only allow you to run teh random map you can't run a specifided one
yeah. on mac it always worked... i was so confused. ahhh well. i suppose were stuck with random map.

Win Xp wrote:my god and tell the technicians to take a pill
hehe. you have no idea.....

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:36 pm
by Winny
Spazzy Mcgee wrote:
Win Xp wrote:you are doing the start server things right?


that for some reason will only allow you to run teh random map you can't run a specifided one
yeah. on mac it always worked... i was so confused. ahhh well. i suppose were stuck with random map.

Win Xp wrote:my god and tell the technicians to take a pill
hehe. you have no idea.....


what about the you have no idea thing

you also siad bzflag port ( can you run teh server on a different port )

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:20 pm
by The Knights Who Say Ni
does any one know what happens if you run it on port 80
That would really mess things up...

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:56 am
by Winny
why would it mess it up ?

it is a port is it not ? I know a server that ran/runs on ort 80

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:39 pm
by Spazzy McGee
port 80 is what the web (as in browser, HTML pages ect) runs on

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:21 pm
by joevano
Yes, port 80 is the default for a web server, and port 443 is the default for SSL Http (web) traffic. But those are just the defaults... They can be changed. Other services could be set to run on them with no problems if they are not being used by those services (no web server running on 80 or 443), but it is not recommended. There are plenty of other ports.

Here is a link to the IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority) webpage that lists the ports and the services that are assigned to them by default:

http://www.iana.org/assignments/port-numbers

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:11 pm
by The Vaxorcist
You're under windows, right? (for this server I mean)
Are you using the Start Server shortcuts on the start menu?
Start Menu->Programs (or All Programs on Windows XP)->BZFlag (whatever)->Server->(something in here)?

I could be completely wrong, but I might know what's wrong.

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:50 pm
by Winny
yes there is a start server hix and start server ffa in there


good thinking I never would of thoght of that

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 8:41 pm
by Spazzy McGee
yeah but windows at school is different. it's like completeley screwed about with by the admins.

we don't have a programs bit in start. we have a menu called 'Subjects' and then 'physics' (or whatever) then the program.... lol

and a bzflag shortcut has been put in the my documents of a communal login account called 'bzflag''

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 8:59 pm
by The Vaxorcist
Well, could you create a shortcut to bzfs with the correct parameters?

just use [drive]:\path\to\bzfs -password passwd -conf "asfasf" -world "asdf"
Like for me:
it would be "C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.4\bzfs.exe" -conf "myconf" -password "secret" -world "myworld.bzw"

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:56 pm
by The Knights Who Say Ni
but for that you would need shell acess (terminal) but the techies wont let him have acess