Names & Spaces

All things BZFlag - no [OT] here please
Half Track
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:36 pm
Location: Boston UK

Names & Spaces

Post by Half Track » Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:42 pm

Ok, so I have just realised that for simplicity I should have chosen a name without a space in the middle, but having been 'Half Track' for about 3 years, I would feel like I had lost my identity if I had to change it now.

My probem is setting up a shortcut to the client that takes me straight into my server and sets me up as administrator.

I have the syntax sorted, but it is the space in my name that is stopping me from doing it.

I have tried replacing the space with %20 but to no avail, I have even in desperation tried quotes ("Half Track@localhost:5154" ....etc).

Any of you clever people got a solution I can use???
Thanks in advance

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:18 pm

Try using this:

Code: Select all

"Half Trac"@localhost:5154
That works here for "A Meteorite" on Mac OS X Tiger.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

Half Track
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:36 pm
Location: Boston UK

:(

Post by Half Track » Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:54 pm

Sorry A Meteorite,
It does't work under windows :-(

I suppose computers are like airconditioning, works well until you open windows lol

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:56 pm

lol thats so true :D

Then the only way is to change your name OR get LINUX
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:56 pm

Hmmm... does single quotes work? Like:

Code: Select all

'Half Trac'@localhost:5154
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:59 pm

that works for me the "Win Xp" thing


make shure there are no spaces inside the quotations other than the space between half and track

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Fri Dec 16, 2005 6:30 pm

JeffM2501 can change it to Half_Track for you... if there isn't one of those. You just need to PM him, if you can't get to work...

Half Track
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:36 pm
Location: Boston UK

Post by Half Track » Fri Dec 16, 2005 6:38 pm

The single quotes almost work, It logs into the server and straight back out again with a message about using qutes in a username.

This is what I currently have:
"C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.4\bzflag.exe" 'Half Track'@10.0.0.4

If I was programming this I would set a string variable up for the username, I hope I don't have to write a program to launch BZ Client though! LOL

BTW. Have any of you got attached to your BZ Username or is it just me?!

Thanks for the suggestions so far

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:07 pm

Half Track wrote: BTW. Have any of you got attached to your BZ Username or is it just me?!

yes!

I would die if I wouldn't play under this name

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Post by joevano » Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:44 pm

I had another name in the begining... but I couldn't change now... I like it when people know me and greet me. My real name isn't Donny, but when I hear it in public I turn around now, it's part of me :D

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:46 pm

donny_baker wrote:I had another name in the begining... but I couldn't change now... I like it when people know me and greet me. My real name isn't Donny, but when I hear it in public I turn around now, it's part of me :D

lol sorry to get off topic but I once signed my paper "Win Xp"

I also have the n diease.

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:01 pm

donny_baker wrote:JeffM2501 can change it to Half_Track for you... if there isn't one of those. You just need to PM him, if you can't get to work...
He can do it (half track that is) any one can change there name any time to any thing
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:02 pm

The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:
donny_baker wrote:JeffM2501 can change it to Half_Track for you... if there isn't one of those. You just need to PM him, if you can't get to work...
He can do it (half track that is) any one can change there name any time to any thing
Only if someone else hasn't taken it.

/me doesn't think JeffM will make someone else change their name that they have already gotten.

But I doubt someone else took Half_Track.
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Workaphobia
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 7:29 pm

Post by Workaphobia » Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:37 pm

Half Track wrote:The single quotes almost work, It logs into the server and straight back out again with a message about using qutes in a username.

This is what I currently have:
"C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.4\bzflag.exe" 'Half Track'@10.0.0.4
I believe the single quotes force the shell to accept it as one argument, but you probably still need literal escaped quotes inside for BZFlag to send to the server. Try something like

"C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.4\bzflag.exe" "\'Half Track\'@10.0.0.4"

Or some variant of that syntax. I've never tried that before from the windows command line, but it would seem to make sense.
"Nifty News Fifty: When news breaks, we give you the pieces."

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:51 pm

The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:lol thats so true :D

Then the only way is to change your name OR get LINUX

Yea! I like that idea!

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:54 pm

Ice Wewe wrote:
The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:lol thats so true :D

Then the only way is to change your name OR get LINUX

Yea! I like that idea!

im very sorry all but Ice Wewe has a problem.........

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:57 pm

Win Xp wrote:
Ice Wewe wrote:
The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:lol thats so true :D

Then the only way is to change your name OR get LINUX

Yea! I like that idea!

im very sorry all but Ice Wewe has a problem.........

Yea, my problem is I never get viruses, adware, malware, or worms. I don't have to pay for software to scan my computer. I don't ever have to defrag my hard drive. I can upgrade absolutely everything in my OS, right down to the logo's in the menus. I have over a million developer's constantly working to make my life better. Oh almost forgot. My system and future releases are 100% free.

What do you have? :P

Score:
Ice Wewe: 1
Win Xp: 0

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:02 am

LOL

You should put that score board in your sig and keep caount
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

Ice Wewe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:17 pm

Post by Ice Wewe » Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:05 am

The Knights Who Say Ni wrote:LOL

You should put that score board in your sig and keep caount

Dude, it probably took you longer to make that "Map Progress" thing that it would to get started.... :lol: . BTW, it's nice to have another Windows hater around, keeps me on my toes. Oh right, one more thing Win Xp, I have chroot. :P (Since I know you don't know what it is, look it up :P)

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:35 am

infact I do know what it means

Chroot:a run command with a different rot directory, basically it is fooling the (hacker) into thinking the system is in one directery when it really is in another.

and let us get back on topic

I also can uodate my intire os and change all the menus and Icons and other pointless random junk that I will never use.

aslo as added bonus my name matches my os :P

I don't have to pay for software ( I can get it free)

Score

Ice Wewe 2
Win Xp 0

Doh!
Last edited by Winny on Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pyr0
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:08 pm

Post by pyr0 » Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:25 am

Win Xp wrote:infact I do know what it means

Chroot:a run command with a different rot directory, basically it is fooling the (hacker) into thinking the system is in one directery when it really is in another.

and let us get back on topic

I also can uodate my intire os and change all the menus and Icons and other pointless random junk that I will never use.

aslo as added bonus my name matches my os :P

Score

Ice Wewe 2
Win Xp 0

Doh!
all a plus according to you, but you gave ice wewe the point ... nice :roll:

User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal » Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:50 am

now, arent we smart?
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage

Half Track
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:36 pm
Location: Boston UK

Off Topic

Post by Half Track » Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:26 pm

As interesting as the Windows v Linux arguement is (I dual boot XP and Xandros btw), I think we have gone off topic here.

I have tried to do the task using a shortcut, .vbs, .bat and even a vb6 app.
I guess I will have to admit defeat although I am sure that there is a way round the 'spaces in names' thing, there is only so much time I can spend on it.

So, I guess I will just have to open the client and enter the details manually or get my graphics card set up properly under linux!

For now I am going to go back to my other project which is a GUI for bzadmin.

Thanks to all of you for your help and coments.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sat Dec 17, 2005 3:21 pm

wow I just read those posts..........


we are off topic....


I posted one topic when I thought I was in another

whoops.............

I had 2 windows open
Last edited by Winny on Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:00 pm

And that post make it more on topic how?
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

Post Reply