Voice Chat On BZFlag

All things BZFlag - no [OT] here please

Would You Like Voice Chat On BZFlag?

Yes
16
44%
No
20
56%
 
Total votes: 36

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Voice Chat On BZFlag

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:36 am

I'm thinking it might be fun to have team and/or everyone (for free for all matches) voice chat in the game. This might already be a feature that I havn't seen and it might also be hard to do becuase I'm pretty sure BZFlag is open source. But if its is possible than I think it would be a nice feature.
Harry
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:43 am

anyway, this has been thought about many times, in other threads, and decided that you should use a 3rd party client, becuase of the large amout of bandwidth that the server would use.


if you would like ot have a voice chat in bzflag, there are many 3rd party clients, like team speak and team talk, and many others.

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:44 am

yes, bz is open source
no, iit is not yet implemented
yes, it would be perfect for gameplay in bzflag

but...

currently, what with all the issues with interne speed it dosn't look fisable. we got enough lag as it is.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Me and Bertie

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:47 am

Yeh me and my friend Bertie The Newb talk on iChat together when we play BZFlag so I guess thats somthing.
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner » Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:38 am

I do have a Teamspeak server on 68.16.109.66, but it goes down and up every couple of 30mins. But it works.

Harry The Newb

Can you please resize your signature. I don't really want to scross down just to finish reading a post.

-Tanner

User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal » Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:47 am

ok, I may use it occasionally..

whats wrong with his sig? its not too big..
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage

User avatar
Tanner
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Atl, GA
Contact:

Post by Tanner » Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:49 am

Hannibal wrote:ok, I may use it occasionally..

whats wrong with his sig? its not too big..
A 550x547 image.....

-Tanner

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

My Sig

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:11 am

I think your seeing it wrong. Its 138X137 ..........
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Raoul Duke
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:18 am

Post by Raoul Duke » Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:34 am

i see it as like 130 by whatever. Its not very big at all o.o

User avatar
Zocka
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: USA,TX
Contact:

I think no

Post by Zocka » Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:47 am

There should be no voice chat because people would need to buy equipment so for those that don't have it, it would be unfair to them and younger peoples (like my self) parents would not alowe them to play bz flag with head sets for reasons like swearing...
ImageImage

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

not good idea

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:57 am

i dont think that this is a good idea because like previously stated it would use some bandwith and every little bit count's ;) also there is all of the "IM" clients that accept chat.
Image

User avatar
Workaphobia
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 7:29 pm

Post by Workaphobia » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:02 am

Well, I wouldn't call it "unfair" because other people don't have the hardware. That's like saying bzflag shouldn't support texturing and resolutions above 800x600 because not everyone has hardware acceleration. As for swearing, if the servers are worried about the possibility of offending players, they could disable voice chat.
"Nifty News Fifty: When news breaks, we give you the pieces."

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:04 am

Workaphobia wrote:Well, I wouldn't call it "unfair" because other people don't have the hardware. That's like saying bzflag shouldn't support texturing and resolutions above 800x600 because not everyone has hardware acceleration. As for swearing, if the servers are worried about the possibility of offending players, they could disable voice chat.
well said. not everyone has the same hardware and some thing's are bound to work better on other hardware
Image

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Swearing

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:04 am

And anyway most servers allow you to swaer through the chat box so whats the difference between knowing how its spelled or knowing how its said?
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:08 am

well if u hear how it is siad you are more likely to repeat it out loud. sop saya if there is a little kid or sumthing playing they would interpret and possible repeat it. but when u type somthing someone isnt going to interpert and say it outloud not noing what it means or how it is siad.(if u cannot understand this just slap me ;). it is late and i need my sleep
Image

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

heh

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:10 am

I think i'm so tired I can understand your sleep jabber. Come next morning I wont be able to make heads or feet...er...oops...tails out of it...heh heh
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:14 am

:)
Image

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Off Topic!

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:21 am

I know this is off topic but how do I make BZFlag just a window instead of fullscreen.
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:23 am

start up the windowed version of bzflag. then to get it to full screen press f1
Image

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:27 am

But how do I get it to the windowed mode?
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:28 am

start up the windowed mode of bzflag. i think you are supposed to be able to use the f1 thing to get to windowed but it NEVER works for me
Image

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:30 am

Yeh the f1 for me on my ibook makes the brightness go down...
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:34 am

huh idk then
Image

Harry The Newb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contact:

Post by Harry The Newb » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:35 am

Ok I know how to make it windowd now but it wont let me minimize it... o take my cursor out of it
This is me when i loose a BZFlag match!
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:36 am

like to minimize it to the tray (on windows) u press f4
Image

Post Reply