Google SketchUp

Discussion, updates, modifications, etc for the various map editors...
User avatar
The Anti-Noob
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Colorado Springs
Contact:

Google SketchUp

Post by The Anti-Noob » Sun Nov 09, 2008 9:44 pm

Can I use Google Sketch up to make models? If so, how do I get them into BZEdit?
Almighty and most merciful Father, we humbly beseech Thee, of Thy great goodness, to restrain these immoderate rains with which we have had to contend. Grant us fair weather for Battle. Graciously hearken to us as soldiers who call upon Thee that, armed with Thy power, we may advance from victory to victory, and crush the oppression and wickedness of our enemies and establish Thy justice among men and nations. -George S Patton

User avatar
Spectre
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 2:33 pm

Post by Spectre » Sun Nov 09, 2008 9:47 pm

You can't move sketch-up models into BZEdit, because they are meshes. BZEdit does not support meshes.
Keeping Latin alive in 2766 AUC.

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 969
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion » Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:45 am

sketchup does export in obj format.
Modeltool will very easily convert obj to bzw format, with or without drawinfo.

So go crazy in sketchup, and export in obj, then convert with modeltool.
you dont need bzedit to make bzw
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
The Anti-Noob
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Colorado Springs
Contact:

Post by The Anti-Noob » Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:37 pm

Optic Delusion wrote:sketchup does export in obj format.
Modeltool will very easily convert obj to bzw format, with or without drawinfo.

So go crazy in sketchup, and export in obj, then convert with modeltool.
you dont need bzedit to make bzw
I'm sorry... I am not very good with this stuff... What's the modeltool? and the obj... sorry, though
Almighty and most merciful Father, we humbly beseech Thee, of Thy great goodness, to restrain these immoderate rains with which we have had to contend. Grant us fair weather for Battle. Graciously hearken to us as soldiers who call upon Thee that, armed with Thy power, we may advance from victory to victory, and crush the oppression and wickedness of our enemies and establish Thy justice among men and nations. -George S Patton

User avatar
ducktape
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:06 am
Location: Right Behind you!
Contact:

Post by ducktape » Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:11 pm

obj is the file type you want to save your file as.
Image

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 969
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion » Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:12 pm

Here's modeltool. If you want to, you can also build from source, linux must build from source...
http://my.bzflag.org/bb/viewtopic.php?t=11528

Here's one easy way to use modeltool.
1. Make a new folder.
2. Save the modeltool application in that folder. Modeltool is an application, but it's not double-clickable, there is no GUI. You use it via a terminal.
3. Export your map from sketchup, in obj format. Save it in the same folder. Let's pretend this file is named mymap.obj
4. Now open your teminal application,
In windows, this is called "Command Prompt". go to Start, click on "Run", and then enter either "cmd" or "command"
On MAC, it's called terminal. It's found in applications/utilities
5. Now you need to set the terminal so it's working folder is the same one you made. To do this, type two letters, cd, and one space into the terminal.
cd (and press the space bar once)
Now drag the icon of the folder from it's window, into the terminal. And hit return.
The terminal should now show a slightly different path, in it's prompt line. You only need to do this step once, each time you open terminal.

6. Run modeltool with this command.
./modeltool mymap.obj
7. A new file will be created in the folder. mymap.bzw. This is your bzw.

If you want to make drawinfo.bzw, you use modeltool with the -diconf option. To do so, first make a diconf, it's a plain text file that includes the drawinfo options you want. Let's name this file drawinfo.diconf and place it in the same folder. The entire text of the file can be....
lod 0 mymap.obj
(but there are other options, too)
then you run modeltool with
./modeltool drawinfo.diconf
Your drawinfo.bzw will be created.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
The Anti-Noob
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Colorado Springs
Contact:

Models

Post by The Anti-Noob » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:06 pm

Can I use downloaded models in my sketchup?

thnx
Almighty and most merciful Father, we humbly beseech Thee, of Thy great goodness, to restrain these immoderate rains with which we have had to contend. Grant us fair weather for Battle. Graciously hearken to us as soldiers who call upon Thee that, armed with Thy power, we may advance from victory to victory, and crush the oppression and wickedness of our enemies and establish Thy justice among men and nations. -George S Patton

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:30 pm

that depends on the license of the model that you download. If the author allow you to redistribute, convert, and reuse the model then yes. If the author doesn't, then no.

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:01 pm

Optic Delusion, I did everything you said, and the cmd just changes the top bar from c:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe to c:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe - .\modeltool mymap.obj nothing else happens. And I can't type in the cmd anymore.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by blast » Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:46 am

Maybe your model was too large and it was still processing it. You could check the Task Manager to see if modeltool is chewing up your CPU (which means it is still processing). Also, you can use Ctrl-C to kill modeltool when you're on the command prompt, or you can use Task Manager to kill it, in the event that Ctrl-C fails to work.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:31 pm

Blast, I left the CMD running for about 10 minutes (Which is a long time for something to wait, as I have a fast computer) I checked the Task manager, and it used 13 CPU the whole time. Am I doing anything wrong?

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by joevano » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:33 pm

If it isn't working the most likely answer is yes.
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:48 pm

I've tried it a number of different ways. And done the exact way Optic Delusion said a few times. I don't know what I'm screwing up.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by blast » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:26 pm

We really can't help more unless we have a way to reproduce your issue. Since we don't have your .obj file, we can't attempt the conversion to see if it fails for us too (nor can we debug why it might be locking up).
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:44 am

If you have google earth, I did upload model, searched tank. It is in the first page, and made my BTM. I was just testing with that, which is the whole test.obj (Which I cant attach, since .obj isn't allowed to be attached)

User avatar
D-FENS
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by D-FENS » Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:13 am

rename the .obj to something which can be uploaded and make a comment suggesting to rename it to .obj...

Then again, one too many beers makes this a simple suggestion by me...

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:04 pm

I don't have SketchupPro or whatever it's called, so I can any export it as .obj and .skp Both can't be uploaded here.

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by joevano » Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:25 pm

So just change the extension to something that IS allowed and tell everyone to change the extension back to obj after downloading (as mentioned by the drunk above :-p )
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4688
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by blast » Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:28 pm

Mark_IV wrote:I don't have SketchupPro or whatever it's called, so I can any export it as .obj and .skp Both can't be uploaded here.
That sentence doesn't make sense. You "can any export" ?

Edit: You should now be able to upload an .obj file.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:51 pm

Sorry, supposed to by only, not any. 'I can *only* export it as ....' I tried again, it is .skp that can't be uploaded, and the .obj is too big 1356 kb and it says only 1 MiB is allowed to be uploaded.

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by khazhyk » Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:54 pm

compress it and put it in a .zip file, or upload it to a file-sharing site
Image

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:59 pm

How do I put it in a zip?
Edit Nevermind, figured it out.
Attachments
Test.zip
(507.93 KiB) Downloaded 143 times

User avatar
joevano
General
General
Posts: 1863
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by joevano » Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:19 pm

Mark_IV wrote:How do I put it in a zip?
Edit Nevermind, figured it out.
OK. That is NOT an OBJ file in there so "model tool" will NOT work on it. You need to get it out of SketchUp in a OBJ format. That requires SketchUp Pro, which you said you do not have. Your options as far as I see them are (in order of difficulty):
1. Buy SketchUp Pro
2. Rebuild you model in Wings3D
3. Rebuild your model in Blender
There is nothing worse than aggressive stupidity. -- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
"How many legs does a dog have if you call his tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -- Abraham Lincoln

User avatar
Mark_IV
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:24 am
Location: Actually joined 2004 or 2005 as tyjr ;)

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Mark_IV » Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:46 pm

It says it is an .obj and the file type says Obj

User avatar
Cobra_Fast
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Google SketchUp

Post by Cobra_Fast » Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:19 pm

Mark_IV wrote:It says it is an .obj and the file type says Obj
The filename saying .obj doesn't mean that the content is .obj too. It's contents still look like a SketchUp model or scene to me.
To create a proper OBJ file you need to "Export" your SketchUp work to the "Model Tool .OBJ" format.

You could also ask someone to export it to .obj if you dont own the necessary software to do that (by putting your original sketchup file here for example).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests