BZEdit 1.6.5 Released

Discussion, updates, modifications, etc for the various map editors...
Post Reply
User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

BZEdit 1.6.5 Released

Post by DTRemenak » Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:25 am

BZEdit 1.6.5 has been released. This is a minor update from 1.6.4 which primarily fixes a number of bugs.

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/bzfl ... e?download

Changelog:
* Prompt before saving when quitting, instead of saving without asking
* Instead of just skipping options, world, dynamiccolor, texturematrix, and material blocks, store them and write them back out to the map when saving
* Fixed the saving of flipz'ed pyramids which were also passthrough (bug 1196352)
* Fixed problems which occured when many items were deleted
* Fixed some memory leaks that caused ugly graphical problems

I don't know of any additional bugs. If you know of some and how to trigger them, by all means post.
I have no intention of adding 2.0 features to bzedit. You cannot change my mind, don't try. Patches welcome ;).

User avatar
Supertanker
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 9:56 pm

Post by Supertanker » Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:40 pm

I have no intention of adding 2.0 features to bzedit
Thats what they all say...j/k

Nice job DT!

User avatar
Supertanker
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 9:56 pm

Re: BZEdit 1.6.5 Released

Post by Supertanker » Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:49 pm

DTRemenak wrote: Changelog:
* Prompt before saving when quitting, instead of saving without asking
* Instead of just skipping options, world, dynamiccolor, texturematrix, and material blocks, store them and write them back out to the map when saving
* Fixed the saving of flipz'ed pyramids which were also passthrough (bug 1196352)
* Fixed problems which occured when many items were deleted
* Fixed some memory leaks that caused ugly graphical problems
Thats what it does.

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:13 pm

:( afta i updated my bzedit it doesn't show those bzw icons :(
Image

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:55 am

343_Guilty_Spark wrote:
I have no intention of adding 2.0 features to bzedit
Thats what they all say...j/k
he didnt really add the features, he just made it to where you can look at maps with new features (i think)
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:41 am

Theres a bug: All objects start at 50 50 50 position.. Please make it start at: Position 0 0 0

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:10 pm

How do I get it for OS X? It says ".exe". That's Windows.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:18 pm

dartman wrote:How do I get it for OS X? It says ".exe". That's Windows.
There is no bzedit for Mac OS X. Sorry, you're out of luck. I had to all hand code, so that's what you have to do. :(
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:39 pm

Egh. I guess someone else can do my 3 map ideas for me, then. I have no idea how to hand-code it, since I really need to have visuals for me to do it right. Text does nothing for me. :roll:

User avatar
BIYA
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:43 am
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contact:

Post by BIYA » Mon Jul 18, 2005 6:05 pm


User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:23 pm

the absence of bzedit on mac OS X has forced me to learn how to hand code. It's not difficult (and personally, i think bzedit is kinda cheating!)
If you want help, try the bzflag wiki http://www.bzflag.org/wiki/MapMaking on mapmaking.

I also advise downloading other people's maps and seeing how they made it.

and also check out RPG's mapatorim : http://www.garrettsites.net/bzmaps/index.php
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

Guest

Post by Guest » Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:31 pm

Spazzy Mcgee wrote:the absence of bzedit on mac OS X has forced me to learn how to hand code. It's not difficult (and personally, i think bzedit is kinda cheating!)
If you want help, try the bzflag wiki http://www.bzflag.org/wiki/MapMaking on mapmaking.

I also advise downloading other people's maps and seeing how they made it.

and also check out RPG's mapatorim : http://www.garrettsites.net/bzmaps/index.php
I agree with all that, 100%. :D
Also check out JPA's page on some of the 2.0.x stuff you can do (which the cheaters (j/k) using BZEdit can't).
http://www.kapsi.fi/~jpa/stuff/bzw/

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:38 am

My bzedit is messed up. It was fine until i cleaned up my computer and uninstalled everything. The problem is its not showing the drivethrough; shoot through; and flipZ check boxes. ive tryed reinstalling it, but it still doents work. please help :(
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:07 am

bzedit still has some bugs like, if the base is off the ground the height will go to one. and it doesnt show the height of the bases when it is on the ground.
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:20 pm

attached is a picture, i have circled something in it, what is what i circled used for?

EDIT: and what is a *.omap? i did something and it gave me a .omap file
Attachments
umm.jpg
umm.jpg (42.7 KiB) Viewed 1921 times
Image

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:33 pm

the groups are not used. They were a feature that was never implemented.

the omap is for a testing tool that is not used in mainline bzflag map development..

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:27 am

umm... i somehow got my axis to move. is this a feature or did i break it?


i preesed ceter on Z+ axis and this is what my screen looked like.
Attachments
umm.jpg
note: the position it centered on instead of z axis was in the air
(111.74 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Image

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:55 pm

you got your axis to move? I think your camera just moved. Right click and drag and see what happens.

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Post by khazhyk » Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:15 pm

RPG wrote:you got your axis to move? I think your camera just moved. Right click and drag and see what happens.

well the axis pick stayed in it's spot but the "center" was not with the axis.


and right-click and moving rotates it around the "axis" so i beleave somehow i got my axis to move
Image

User avatar
eagle
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 510
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Round Hill, VA

Post by eagle » Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:48 am

well ive found some buttons or whatever that seems to turn the axis too,like me1,i think its just a different view :?
~~~~~
I do know everything, just not all at once. Its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:23 pm

I cant download 1.6.5, theres a pop up window blocking the link (that you cant close).
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

Post Reply