spawing issues

Make suggestions for improving one of the best games on the net!
kc9foh
Private First Class
Private First Class

spawing issues

Post by kc9foh »

I know somewhere this has probably been suggested before. I have had a lot of newbies and old timers remark about spawn kills. As I am still learning how to write the most basic coding in software dev. Can somebody add a 2-3 second delay for both invincibility and no shooting just time to move before getting shot right after the spawn?
meeba
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant

Re: spawing issues

Post by meeba »

kc9foh wrote:I know somewhere this has probably been suggested before. I have had a lot of newbies and old timers remark about spawn kills. As I am still learning how to write the most basic coding in software dev. Can somebody add a 2-3 second delay for both invincibility and no shooting just time to move before getting shot right after the spawn?
That is such a brilliant idea, I tip my hat to you.

Devs, any chance this can be done? Being killed right after a spawn, which happens often due to the server deciding where we spawn with no regard to shots, is no fun.
Grace F
Sergeant
Sergeant

Post by Grace F »

Spawn killing... invincibility, I've wondered myself about that.

I doubt it would be made though. There are ways to avoid being spawn killed. Such as looking on the map for a your teammates to see if their in the clear.
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Post by JeffM »

It's been discussed. First we are going to make the server take shots into account during spawns. This should help the spawns a lot. After that we'll have to move hit checking to the server. After that if it's still a huge problem, we can look into some sort of spawn protection.
ImageJeffM
.Zero
Private First Class
Private First Class

Post by .Zero »

That sounds good. Sometimes I get killed the instant I hit 'i', so that would be a big improvement. Any idea on a time-line? (2.2?)
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant