Simple anti-cheat monitoring

Make suggestions for improving one of the best games on the net!
The Purple Panzer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Simple anti-cheat monitoring

Post by The Purple Panzer »

When I'm an admin on a server, I'd like the server to tell me (say, via a one-line message) that some player has exceeded what should be possible: turning speed, acceleration, tank speed, and maybe something about unusual shot accuracy, if it could be computed.

I don't want all of the info I get when observing; indeed, I'm playing, and it wouldn't be fair to have all of that. And I don't want to read through constantly-updating parameters; rather, just a message like:
"Player Newbie1 exceeded maximum turning speed by 7%"

The server should of course only send these sorts of messages to admins, maybe no more than once every 10 seconds or so (a deluge of messages might be counterproductive). As an admin I'd need only a few such pieces of evidence to kick/ban.

I would think, given the data I see presented to observers, that the underlying data is already being computed (unless that observer data is computed in the client), so it would really be a matter of conveying it to admins.

A variation might be "close observation", sort of like "hunt", in which I tell the server I want it to track a player more closely and report any unusual dynamics - this is the sort of thing that might identify cheat clients.

But the simple message mechanism would help a great deal in server management.
blast
General
General

Re: Simple anti-cheat monitoring

Post by blast »

Why bother notifying the admins of such things? If the server knows that someone is cheating, why not just automatically kick/ban them?
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Post by Spazzy McGee »