MUCH better robots

Make suggestions for improving one of the best games on the net!
Post Reply
markyisri
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:37 pm

MUCH better robots

Post by markyisri » Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:49 pm

I love playing BZFlag on my own private server. Unfortunately, the number of other players I have available to play with is limited, and the robots are extremely stupid (I'm not insulting, it says that in the manpage).

How can I get robots that play alot stronger? There was mention of this for the 3.0 release but it never surfaced. I know the history of deciding to go with 2.4 instead. :)

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4682
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: MUCH better robots

Post by blast » Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:50 pm

Have you tried both the -solo bots and the autopilot bot? The -solo bots use older logic and are actually pretty decent on non-jumping maps. The autopilot instead takes control of the main player of the client and uses different logic, which includes the ability to jump and make use of some flags (including playing capture the flag). The '9' key on the top of the keyboard toggles autopilot mode.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

markyisri
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: MUCH better robots

Post by markyisri » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:02 am

blast wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:50 pm
Have you tried both the -solo bots and the autopilot bot? The -solo bots use older logic and are actually pretty decent on non-jumping maps. The autopilot instead takes control of the main player of the client and uses different logic, which includes the ability to jump and make use of some flags (including playing capture the flag). The '9' key on the top of the keyboard toggles autopilot mode.
Hi,

Yes, I did try the autopilot. It is much better but slows down the computer more. It also requires running a client per bot, and drawing the frames, even when I only need to look at my own tank. Can the autopilot be run without starting the client itself (like the -solo option)?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5172
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: [Redacted]
Contact:

Re: MUCH better robots

Post by JeffM » Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:00 pm

No, it's tied to the client.

User avatar
alfa1
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:21 pm

Re: MUCH better robots

Post by alfa1 » Fri Jul 14, 2017 4:00 am

I run 'autopilot' bots for long time now and they are enough fun. To avoid lot of comsumption just iconify them; to run lots of them, make a script. Then, when they run, press: '9' (autopilot), 'i' (spawn) and F4 (iconify) on each one. All is run windowized too by using '-window'. If want to see them in action, visit my server 'diver-sion' :) (non-24-hours one; bots run privately). I also made a plug-in for some improvements; both codes will be shared when I can.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest