SPAM/FLOOD

Make suggestions for improving one of the best games on the net!
Post Reply
Mr_Molez
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 5:16 am

SPAM/FLOOD

Post by Mr_Molez » Sun May 08, 2005 9:21 am

It would be nice if the server would only accept what a person types once when they press n, within a certain timeframe ofcourse. This would stop the people that flood the whole screen with the same rubbish repeatedly. :wink:

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Sun May 08, 2005 3:58 pm

There are already anti-spam controls in BZFS.

User avatar
BinarySpike
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:58 pm
Contact:

Post by BinarySpike » Sun May 08, 2005 7:17 pm

I don't see why this would be good.

A. I do alot of typing about my level.
(secrets, where a certain flag is... etc. etc.)

This would limit my time to type.
(without numbers I type 37WPM)

Now, what about quick keys???
(Options->Input->QuickKeys, something like that....)

everytime somebody new logs into my server I greet them with
/say Welcome, This is BinarySpikes map!

Then
Welcome, %Name!!!
(%Name is the person who just joined!)



I like the current SPAM filters...
(Mine is set to like 120... So I don't have much trouble)

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Sun May 08, 2005 8:14 pm

I think Mr. Molez wanted to see spam filters implemented in the game, but didn't realize we already had them.

Mr_Molez
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 5:16 am

Post by Mr_Molez » Sun May 08, 2005 10:55 pm

I see many times the whole chat windows filled totally with the same thing one person has said. The filter does not have to be so strict it would stop people saying what they want but it would be nice if its set up so the whole window doesn't get filled. I guess this isn't much of a problem for people :p

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Mon May 09, 2005 12:26 am

The filter is there, it's the server owner's responsibility to turn it on and configure it.

User avatar
Dervish
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:39 am
Location: public void

Post by Dervish » Mon May 09, 2005 4:06 am

Thank you, RPG, that is most likely what is happening.

It just goes to reinforce my theory... aside from the popular and well maintained servers like hepcat and such, most of the server owners out there are knuckle draggin' clods.

I just joined a server a couple of hours ago where everyone's lag was reported as 400ms or greater. I msged everyone stating the lag, and asked if they knew what was up with the server? The server admin was on and said,
this is just a test server ... on a 100Kb line ... im running this server on the system im playing on
Duh, please don't bother ppl. If you want to test a server, don't waste space and ppl's time by putting it on the public list. Just set the scope and invite a few friends to test. :rock:
protected object myTank(){
foreach(noob in this.game){return frag(noob);}}
Image

User avatar
BinarySpike
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:58 pm
Contact:

Post by BinarySpike » Mon May 09, 2005 4:49 pm

this is just a test server ... on a 100Kb line ... im running this server on the system im playing on
Hmmm...... This sounds very much like my server...
(It's a test server... I have a 100Kb line... And I run it on my computer that I'm playing on...)


First... I've learned how to do several things just because of lag...

Second, I'm setting it up so that I just have to stuff I folder and send it to
somebody that wants to host my map.
(I have SPAM filters... badword filters... A great map... A few admins...)

I'm also providing a learning place for newbie's.
And, a couple of my admins will be prime targets for admins on ones like hepcat...
(I have a couple really, effecient admins....)

1 rogue, 2vs2 is fine...
But, when you joined there were like... 8 people...

Duh, please don't bother ppl. If you want to test a server, don't waste space and ppl's time by putting it on the public list. Just set the scope and invite a few friends to test.
I know off the top of my head... 4 people that will say I didn't waste there time...



I see many times the whole chat windows filled totally with the same thing one person has said.

Yes, there are filters that stop the same thing from being posted
over, and over, and over...



anyway, back to the first post...

If it was set really really high, so you can't post really long descriptions, then that would be nice...
but it would cut/send it to soon for some people's liking and they would just "change" there client

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Tue May 17, 2005 2:12 pm

I think Mr. Molez meant that he didn't like somebody typing something, then pressing n and going up arrow and repeating it 1,000,000 times.

Post Reply