Server Setup

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
CaptainHiggins
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:41 pm

Server Setup

Post by CaptainHiggins » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:16 am

So, I use the start server function on the menu to start a server, and put the map as Missle War 2.3 as I saved it earlier. Then I connect, and everything is good.

But, I have another computer connected on ethernet through a router. There are wires connecting them. I used to be able to start a server on one, and then play a one-on-one game. But now the other computer completely can't find the server at all. I tried it with random map too and it doesn't work at all.

What's the problem?

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4744
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Server Setup

Post by blast » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:33 am

For the first case, you'll have to edit the map and include an option block with the correct player count, or else the map will fail to load. Something like:

Code: Select all

options
-mp 0,5,5,0,0,5
end
For the second thing, make sure your firewall isn't blocking bzfs. Also, make sure you are using the private IP address of the computer running the server. If you use the computer name, it likely won't connect.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

CaptainHiggins
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:41 pm

Re: Server Setup

Post by CaptainHiggins » Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:32 am

Thanks.

The bzfs option was blocked.

I'll add the players block, thanks.

Post Reply