Help with sharing privilages

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Help with sharing privilages

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:14 am

Before I go, I have one question for my server......

I have a userdb file and everything....and everything works fine....until I restart my server.

Then when you enter the password, it won't work. It says wrong password

So my cops, can't be cops unless I re-do them everytime I restart my server....I have the:

-userdb

So what now? isn't there a

-passdb

or something?

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:20 am

YES! you need passDB AND userDB otherwise it says your registered but you don't have a password!

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:24 am

-passdb "file"

and the file is seperate from userdb?

and I leave a blank file?

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:32 am

yes.

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:37 am

1 more question.....how do you do a helpfile?


I know how to set it up, but how to write it out. In the helpfile, how do you make a page, or multi pages....I can get the file I want for help, I just don't know how to write the information inside the file.

brad2901
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:17 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by brad2901 » Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:01 am

I think it's just a small bit of text maximum 15 lines long...

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:20 am

you probably also want a groups file.

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:07 am

I think I got it! Just don't understand the help file



could you please post how to set up a help file page?

User avatar
sid6.7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: West USA
Contact:

help

Post by sid6.7 » Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:17 am

ducatiwannabe (U.S. Army) wrote:I think I got it! Just don't understand the help file



could you please post how to set up a help file page?
edit your conf file and put these in
or add them to the command line


-helpmsg c:\games\bzflag1.10.4\help.help help
-helpmsg c:\games\bzflag1.10.4\help.info info
-helpmsg c:\games\bzflag1.10.4\help.tips tips

there justtext files with what ever you want to say in the
MAX 15 lines each iu think...

you can name the files whatever you want....
that path is going to be your choice also per your system...

the words at the end are up to you also...

when in bzflag...a person would type...

/help help or /help info or /help tips
then it would let them view those files
etc..
Image

doing my uttermost best to make jeffm2501 pop a blood vessel or cry..which ever comes first..

BZrand Random map maker 6.4 , BZchecker map validator 1.5

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 4:25 am

I have


-helpmsg "C:\Program Files\BZFlag1.10.8\help.txt" administration

and my file says

Play here alot and have good moral values and character. No cursing or swearing. AND NO CHANGING SETTING ON SERVER WITHOUT PERMISSION! No unreasonable bans or kicks. AND NO kicking or banning admins or cops. An admin will contact you if he thinks you could do it, don't ask please.

But I can't get it to work?!?! It won't show up, or I used to have it

administration: Play here alot and have good moral values and character. No cursing or swearing. AND NO CHANGING SETTING ON SERVER WITHOUT PERMISSION! No unreasonable bans or kicks. AND NO kicking or banning admins or cops. An admin will contact you if he thinks you could do it, don't ask please.

Then it worked but only showed when I typed /help administration...it only showed administration:

what am I doing wrong? Could somebody attach there help messages for me to copy and understand?

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Thu Nov 04, 2004 12:14 pm

hmmm. you got it all right. oh wait a sec! you typed /help and it said administration? that's good! then type /help administration!

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:50 pm

I did......and I said when I typed that.....it just said


administration:


and none of my other message here is my message again....


administration: Play here alot and have good moral values and character. No cursing or swearing. AND NO CHANGING SETTING ON SERVER WITHOUT PERMISSION! No unreasonable bans or kicks. AND NO kicking or banning admins or cops. An admin will contact you if he thinks you could do it, don't ask please.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:32 pm

hmm mabye in the administration help file delete the 'administration:' part.

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:46 pm

I tried that, it deleted the whole page, now it wont show up in my server.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:50 pm

no not in the conf. in the file!

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:55 pm

I didn't do what you said, but it works now :) I had too many words on the same line I guess :/

Post Reply