Server: ducati ffa

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
User avatar
Chestal
Dev Guru
Dev Guru
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Server: ducati ffa

Post by Chestal » Tue Jan 21, 2003 7:05 pm

Server Address: ducati.bzflag.org 5155
Server Admin: Chestal

This server is aimed at general FFA games without jumping. The settings might change now and then, but it's always using random map and no jumping. The number of shots is usually 2 (with rico), but sometimes I set it to only 1 shot. All teams including rogues are allowed. Most of the time it is using no or only a couple of flags.

This server tolerates a little more lag than the ducati CTF server and much longer idle times. Admins are the same as on ducati CTF server.

This server in general isn't very busy. But sometimes some regulars from the CTF server are in the mood for a FFA game and then come here and play.

The server runs on an old P75 Linux box and is located at a German university, thus having fast internet access.

User avatar
Chestal
Dev Guru
Dev Guru
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Chestal » Sat Feb 01, 2003 4:19 pm

I'm trying something new on 5155 now. I added -a option, which limits the maximum linear and angular acceleration for all tanks (inertia). It's similar to the effect of the momentum flag, although with my current options it's not as strong. I'm sure people will hate it, but after trying it for a few minutes I actually liked it. I guess I'll have to remove some flags which are too powerful with this setup like GM. Ah, and it's set to 1 shot only.

User avatar
teatree
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 8:56 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by teatree » Tue Feb 11, 2003 6:33 pm

Well this 1 shot mortium thingy in my opinion was the first time i was a bit nerved because of that slow motion move .... but after a while the flags are great for it not to difficult not too hard that got quite well and fun .i think if u play often with that map and options there and then go to other servers with out jumping the dodging form shots will be more easyier ... so its more training i think because its quite hard .
Cu
[TeA]

User avatar
Chestal
Dev Guru
Dev Guru
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Chestal » Wed Feb 12, 2003 9:29 pm

Well, I changed it to 2 shots, no inertia, no flags, no teleporters now.

User avatar
[dmp]
Captain
Captain
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 3:20 pm
Location: CPH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by [dmp] » Thu Feb 13, 2003 12:22 am

Actually when i first tried it; "It sucked". But after I used more than 10 mins on it, i really like it. As you can have long(er) battles and need to be carefull when you shoot. (no 2nd shot).

But nobody used it. And that sucked :-|

User avatar
SGI
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Motown, MI, USA

Post by SGI » Tue Feb 25, 2003 4:39 pm

Chestal,
Can you setup the FFA server with the followings or similar specs:

FFA
3 Shots
4 teams "Blue,Red,Green,Purple"
2 tanks for each team
Only good flags [A,CL,F,G,GM,ID,L,N,OO,SB,SH,ST,SW,T,V]


Old style

User avatar
bamf.
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 2:31 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by bamf. » Tue Feb 25, 2003 6:48 pm

SGI,

fyi:
my ffa server is currently running those specs, including 2 rogues.

User avatar
SGI
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 513
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Motown, MI, USA

Post by SGI » Tue Feb 25, 2003 7:33 pm

Thank you Banf. for your interesting
If you can run your server for Thursday at 0900pm New York time (I know were you live) without rogue.
Just 8 players 2 for each color with all flags mentioned.
See forum "LEAGUES" FFA.
I think this is a good idea because "probably" all players are in USA...low lag
And can be a good idea for players in Europe too.(to use Ducati port 5155)
Let me know.
Or see you there with you teammate.

User avatar
Terminator
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: England

Post by Terminator » Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:29 pm

:( jumping
Astalavista baby!

and I'll be back!

User avatar
Chestal
Dev Guru
Dev Guru
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Chestal » Fri Feb 28, 2003 4:51 pm

Terminator wrote::( jumping
Don't despair. It's only enabled to tune the speeding kicks which still happen sometimes for innocent tanks.

User avatar
teatree
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 8:56 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by teatree » Fri Feb 28, 2003 6:44 pm

[quote="Chestal]
Don't despair. It's only enabled to tune the speeding kicks which still happen sometimes for innocent tanks.[/quote]

By the way
1. I think at the moment ducati FFA 2 shots jumping and V,SW,quick turn is super fun ...
2. CapN got kicked yesterday because he was so long on highspeed , BTW he drove to long ..

Bye for now
teatree

legends may sleep ...
... but they never die!

http://my.bzflag.org/league

Post Reply