BZFS v2.0 on a Windows Box

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
User avatar
ping
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:00 pm
Contact:

BZFS v2.0 on a Windows Box

Post by ping » Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:30 am

I have a 2003 Server on my LAN running on a server class box. My bzflag game I host currently runs on a slowish box running Linux Fedora.

As we move to V2.0 I was toying with the idea of running the game on the Windows server. Were there any changes in the bzfs.exe of 2.0 that make it run more stable in the windows environment? I initially put the bzflag.kovclan.org game on a server 2003 box and was able to make it run by running it in a window with Windows XP compatibility on. Even then I would get a funky problem where a number of the players would go [nr] and then drop from the game completely.

Just wondering if this issue had been taken care of or do I stick with my Linux box?
Image

User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

Post by DTRemenak » Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:57 pm

Ideal solution is to replace 2k3 with linux :) It's better at almost everything...

bzfs does not need a fast box. And yes, it's still a good idea to run it on a non-windows os.

User avatar
Lan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:21 am
Contact:

Post by Lan » Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:31 pm

DTR is correct, and I really can't recall any Windows-only fixes to BZFlag for 2.0, so best bet is what DTR said.

User avatar
sid6.7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: West USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:04 am

goto www.sleepycows.org they run a winxp server
and it works...
Image

doing my uttermost best to make jeffm2501 pop a blood vessel or cry..which ever comes first..

BZrand Random map maker 6.4 , BZchecker map validator 1.5

User avatar
Tegan
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:24 am
Location: around here someplace
Contact:

Post by Tegan » Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:56 am

sid6.7 wrote:goto www.sleepycows.org they run a winxp server
and it works...
I ran a bzfs 1.10 on XP for a little private map testing, but it did work for that, and the setup is described at http://www.sleepycows.org . The sleepycows map servers have been Linux, so far.

User avatar
spldart
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:08 am
Location: Wandering around, Tx

Post by spldart » Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:24 am

I'm surprised anyone is having trouble with bzfs in windows... I've had it running nonstop on win98 on a junker machine that is my lan server for 24 hours straight and no lag, no crashes and was even playing people in my home lan from work. (dsl to cable) So far it's been flawless on 98 and XP pro. Albeit a still short flawless record :oops:

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Thu Feb 24, 2005 3:00 am

spldart it's gonna happen. It always does ;)

Pretty soon it'll start mindlessly kicking players. Mine even kicks the bots that I join with, even though they have full rights to live and fight (meaning -disablebots is off)

User avatar
spldart
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:08 am
Location: Wandering around, Tx

Post by spldart » Thu Feb 24, 2005 3:19 am

Well... If it does start showing flaky operation I can simply restart the machine and start from scratch.. Correct?
I reboot the machine about once a month for the sake of smooth operation.

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Thu Feb 24, 2005 8:43 pm

Yes, you can reboot it, but usually it goes back to randomly kicking people for no apparent reason. If you start seeing ECONNRESET/PIPE or something like that in your server logs alot then that means the server is getting a mind of it's own.

User avatar
spldart
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:08 am
Location: Wandering around, Tx

Post by spldart » Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:56 pm

Is the software corrupting?

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:28 am

Not corrupting, it's just a software bug on Windows that nobody has found out how to fix yet.

Post Reply