WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS GAME!

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS GAME!

Post by PAstreettank » Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:48 am

i cant get a server!!! everytime i go to find server it keeps saying servers found 0 ????? i dont get it AND WHERE do i get servers this game is not organized good :x :evil:

PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

Post by PAstreettank » Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:58 am

how do i put in a server? THIS IS AN EXAMPLE serverhere.bzlfag.bz:5323
what do i type in to the servers: ? do i type in the whole thing like "serverhere.bzflag.bz:5323" or serverhere.bzflag.bz" then type 5323 and the port? i dont get it this game should make a link so when u click on the link it will bring up the game and log into a server automaticly.....really cunfusin.....

Guest

Post by Guest » Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:04 am

Highlight "Find a Server" and press Return. Then highlight a server and press return. Then highlight Connect and hit return. Okay?

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by dartman » Mon Jul 18, 2005 4:48 pm

^He said that it wouldn't find any servers.

It's probably a connection problem. Aye, I don't know for sure, though. I'm not that computer knowledgable (I don't even know if I spelled that right). Sorry. :oops:

Guest

Post by Guest » Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:43 pm

He also said "WHERE do i get servers" and "how do i put in a server?". I got the impression he must have had help just opening them game...

PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

Post by PAstreettank » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:09 pm

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????cunfusin

PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

Post by PAstreettank » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:12 pm

NO.....NO.... I just want to know HOW i put in a server in the game HOW do i type in the servers

PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

Post by PAstreettank » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:17 pm

no no this game is just to cunfusin and really.....really..........unorganized il just stick to wulfram tank game

User avatar
^nightmare^
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1264
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:14 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Post by ^nightmare^ » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:20 pm

dont post twice in a row, just use edit button on your post.
you said that you cant find any servers, do you have a personall fire wall/ that may be messing it up. You type in a server where it says server (in bzflag game) and the numbers in port. and in bzflags defense, the is probably the best organized game i played.
Need bzflag help? Try looking here: http://www.freewebs.com/bznightmare/map ... aghelp.htm

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:27 pm

If you can't find any with the find server command check your firewall or something. Perhaps you have a program that dosen't allow stuff to go through the internet without yoour permission? If you still can't find any then you aren't letting bz have permission on the net. Try this server type it in

hepcat.org

and port is 5154

PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

Post by PAstreettank » Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:17 am

when ever i type in a server and a port it keeps sayin that conncection failed i dont got no blockers or anythin like that BUT i got dial up is that what the problem is or is dial up could I still play with dial up?

User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

Post by DTRemenak » Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:24 am

What version of bzflag are you using? It should say in the chat box when you start it up.

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:56 pm

Yes, that might be it.

User avatar
SportChick
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:57 am
Location: California
Contact:

Post by SportChick » Tue Jul 19, 2005 1:57 pm

I'd appreciate it if you would all stop the personal attacks. If they continue, I will lock and/or delete this thread. There is also a full list of servers on this forum. Feel free to try those. And yes, you have to put in the full server name or ip and then separately, the port number.
Image

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:10 pm

Sport Chick, please do not lock the topic. I want to help him until he can play on the servers. How about we delete the rude posts and leave the ones that are helping? I just don't want him to get locked out of bz :(

User avatar
dS
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 7:03 pm

Can't You Feel The Love

Post by dS » Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:18 pm

Wow, feel the love around here.

Remember who we, the BZFlag community are. It certainly isn't the elite group or club that seemed implied by a few posts here and in other threads lately.

PAstreettank - We aren't sure exactly at which point you are having problems. Is it when you tell the game to find servers? And as DTRemenak asked, what version of the game are you playing? If it is too old it is likely you won't find any servers. http://bzflag.org will have the latest. It is likely an easy fix, just let us know more info on version and exactly when it can't find servers.

There's a reason I don't post much around here. But the one thing that will bring me out to post is helping someone new experience BZFlag. There is no shame in having problems or asking questions when you do. Not everybody fits into the preconceived categories that some would hold as a standard for all others. It's the uniqueness and individuality that makes everyone interesting. Refute Assimilation! Viva La Doughnut! Etc.

dS
aka MadSanta

PAstreettank
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 am
Contact:

Post by PAstreettank » Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:18 pm

ill i just wanted to know is,how do i put in a server,WHAT do i got to type in... IM NEW I BARLY PLAYED THIS GAME AND I TRYED TO PUT IN SERVERS AND PORT AND IT KEEPS SAYING CONNECTION LOST and i said i wonder if it was only for dsl cable or t1 lack of knowledge? lol im a designer...I work on flash mx i make flash movies.logos,sigs,animated sigs,logos i work for a company called CoreGrFx and i figured out flash fireworks photoshop AAA logo all by my self try downloadin them Oh and DW thanks for your support your cool.. and i got 1.7 im pretty sure about,I also lol got AIM if any HELPERS want to talk on it it is DCH22vtecmotor and if people IM me and talk trash they will get a suprise.................

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:29 pm

Woah there buddy calm down a minute :) That's your problem. 1.7 is really old. Try using this one: http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/bzfl ... e?download

That should work, but tell me if it doesn't. I know you are smart, and I don't know what Phalanx was hoping to accomplish. Look guys, I don't have anything against you, but it's really rude to keep saying nasty stuff about other people. Now stop yelling at each other and trying to outdo each other and who's the most ignorant. It would be smart to stop fighting, and help this guy get in his tank :)

User avatar
SportChick
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:57 am
Location: California
Contact:

Post by SportChick » Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:15 pm

There's the problem. 1.7 is an extremely old version of bzflag and there are no longer any servers that run that version. Try downloading 2.0.2. It's available on bzflag.org or sourceforge.net.
Image

User avatar
Hannibal
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1073
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Hannibal » Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:21 pm

even better, try 2.3b.10, that is the latest, (i think) and has more effects, i like it better. sry about what i said b4.
Games don't make people violent, lag does.
ImageImage

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:54 pm

I'm sorry about what I said before too, I was going to edit the post but I found out I was beat to it :D. We all need to share the love!

And sometimes posting screenshots will help us diagnose the problem if you don't know what's going on.

Here's a mac version of BZFlag 2.0.2: http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/bzfl ... g?download

Here's a the source of BZFlag 2.0.2 for comilation on Linux: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=313691

In case you don't have windows :wink:

User avatar
dartman
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 4:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't You Feel The Love

Post by dartman » Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:00 pm

dS wrote:It's the uniqueness and individuality that makes everyone interesting. Refute Assimilation! Viva La Doughnut! Etc.
Don't forget "I'll give you a booboo...OF VENGEANCE!!!" (email thing), "What's your favorite kind of cereal? Mine is BOOMIOS!!!" (victory cry), and "folding banana" (when Tread Baron and I were guessing what "fb" stood for in "fbgirl921").

Yeah...those are all by me. :) Oh and you can't forget the "kill dartman show" that Tread baron and I made up and made into a "running gag".

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:48 am

I think he left bzflag for good. In the future let's not be so evil to the new people, I'm sure he would have been a cool player :)

Post Reply