@100 Bots at one server.

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

@100 Bots at one server.

Post by optic delusion » Sun Nov 20, 2005 7:17 pm

Looking at the server list I see eight servers with a 200 player limit. (and they are all currently empty)

Would it be possible for one of those servers to start using, let's say 100 bots?
What is to prevent me from signing on with 100 bots?
Would it be better if ten players signed on with 10 bots each?

....just a conjecture....
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:14 pm

how come you put almost this same thing in another section of the forum ?????

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

The two topics are not the same.

Post by optic delusion » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:47 pm

The two topics are not the same. Completely different.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
(Un)Guided Missile
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by (Un)Guided Missile » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:53 pm

Your CPU would need to be pretty powerful to cope with all those bots...
Cop @ Far, far, far too many servers. (How the heck am I meant to visit them all regularly?)

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:57 pm

ya I can run about 5 bzflags on my pc with a 3.2ghz cpu and I use about 80% cpu time then

and my videocard gets hot :(

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:24 pm

Win Xp wrote:ya I can run about 5 bzflags on my pc with a 3.2ghz cpu and I use about 80% cpu time then

and my videocard gets hot :(
Ever hear of -solo? :roll:

I'm starting a private server and seeing how many I can do...
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:32 pm

solo doesn't work on mine for some reason.........

Code: Select all

C:\bzflag\bzflag.exe -solo 10

that is it right

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:45 pm

i'v run 50 bots locally before. it's not too hard going on my dual G4 1GHz
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Do it.

Post by optic delusion » Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:48 pm

Lets see what it loooks like spazzy. Let's see, where's meteor...
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Re: Do it.

Post by A Meteorite » Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:46 pm

A-Delusion wrote:Let's see, where's meteor...
Right here. :)

I'm running 100 bots (1 as observer) and then minimized the BZFlag window. It makes my 2ghz G5 float around 50% usage. It's also around 70°C. (seems high, but it's always like that)

Right now it's on a private server, once my main one settles down I will add 50 bots for kicks. (and see how people react :) ) Only problem is, that BZFlag crashes on me if it sits idle too long in the Dock. :|
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:47 pm

you guys are nuts

see unlike you I like not to fry my computers :lol-old:

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:02 am

Win Xp wrote:you guys are nuts

see unlike you I like not to fry my computers :lol-old:
Well, I don't know exactly what the normal temp. is on a G5...

Is there a way to have BZFlag not output any graphics? Just have the Terminal sit there and stare back at you.

I know you can specify the server address in the command, so wouldn't that be possible?
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:05 am

you can just set your bzflag to all low video settings you

could also turn off openGL

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:09 am

Win Xp wrote:you can just set your bzflag to all low video settings you

could also turn off openGL
Hmmm... I turned everything off and quality is at low. I even turned effects off. CPU still hovers at 50% and 70°C.

How do you turn off OpenGL? I don't see any settting in-game. (though, I am on a Mac :D )
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:12 am

well then you may be stuck ( don't even know if a mac has that, shows how little I know about macs)

I know in windows I can do that in settings in advaned features

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:24 am

Woah. I restarted my server and tried bots, but when the bot logs in, not one other bot does. But I don't get kicked either. :|
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
sid6.7
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:58 pm
Location: West USA
Contact:

Re: @100 Bots at one server.

Post by sid6.7 » Mon Nov 21, 2005 2:23 am

A-Delusion wrote:Looking at the server list I see eight servers with a 200 player limit. (and they are all currently empty)

Would it be possible for one of those servers to start using, let's say 100 bots?
What is to prevent me from signing on with 100 bots?
Would it be better if ten players signed on with 10 bots each?

....just a conjecture....
its not polite to logon to someones server with BOTS
some poeple will ban you if you do...get permission
first...

i've banned a number of folks for this...generally
a week... if its only 1 time they try it...
Image

doing my uttermost best to make jeffm2501 pop a blood vessel or cry..which ever comes first..

BZrand Random map maker 6.4 , BZchecker map validator 1.5

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

I just wanted to see what would happen

Post by optic delusion » Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:29 am

I know it's not polite, but I went ahead and did it anyway. David's Boring Server, seemed like it needed some excitement.
I checked that the server was empty first, then tried 20 bots, but it seems like 12 is the limit. Tried to get someone else to sign on with more bots, and they could not. Some real players joined, and actually, it seemed like that server has a 20 player limit, even though it's advertised as 200.
My lag stayed under 300 most of the time, but did jump to 600 more than once. I removed the bots in under ten minutes, all three times I signed on. The first time there were still ten players on the server an hour after I left.

I just wanted to see what would happen, I was hoping I could get 50, or more, bots. Apparently, I cannot.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:37 pm

this is making me doubt wether david has the bandwidth the says he has.....
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:41 pm

and also if you did do thand it was a public server then the server would go stright to the top of the list as it has 101 people on
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

User avatar
BinarySpike
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:58 pm
Contact:

Post by BinarySpike » Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:21 pm

Yeah, bot's should have a special identifer and shouldn't be counted.

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:42 pm

yer it could be miss-leading or you could set it inside the coding of the server that it dosent allow more than say 20 bots connect but with that many and your self (21) that would still put you up in the top 10
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

User avatar
(Un)Guided Missile
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by (Un)Guided Missile » Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:26 pm

A Meteorite wrote:Hmmm... I turned everything off and quality is at low. I even turned effects off. CPU still hovers at 50% and 70°C.
70 is normal :p

I'll try on my Dual 2.5GHz G5 in a mo...
Cop @ Far, far, far too many servers. (How the heck am I meant to visit them all regularly?)

User avatar
(Un)Guided Missile
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by (Un)Guided Missile » Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:38 pm

I couldn't do any more than 50 without it becoming laggy either...
Cop @ Far, far, far too many servers. (How the heck am I meant to visit them all regularly?)

User avatar
optic delusion
Special Forces
Special Forces
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Planet MoFo
Contact:

Post by optic delusion » Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:15 pm

So try to get more than one player to sign on with bots at the same time.

David has dropped his player limit to 20, and seems to have figured out a few other settings as well. So if he had a twenty player limit, and I could only get 12 bots, I wonder if the server limits bots to 3/5 of total players.

If you crash anybody's server, you must accept responsibility, and post about it. Really, we should be asking them first, I already think I should be punished for suggesting this.
Take a look at my Defender game mode concept.

Thinking is not an automatic process. A man can choose to think or to let his mind stagnate, or he can choose actively to turn against his intelligence, to evade his knowledge, to subvert his reason. If he refuses to think, he courts disaster: he cannot with impunity reject his means of perceiving reality.

Post Reply