logging with a batch file

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:00 pm

Correction:

Code: Select all

@echo off

set BZFSPROGRAM="C:\Program Files\BZFlag2.0.5b2\bzfs.exe"

set CONFIGFILE="C:\bzflagstuff\config.conf"

set PLUGIN="C:\bzflag\masterbot.dll"

REM ***** Don't change anything below this line! *****

@echo on

%BZFSPROGRAM% -conf %CONFIGFILE% -loadplugin %PLUGIN%

pause
Also, you'll notice it's pretty hard to read the logs that Masterbot makes. They all look like a bunch of gibberish, with a few readable words, but mostly strange double-line characters. No worries.

When you want to read your logs, to this URL: http://www.garrettsites.net/php-bin/logconverter.php , then upload the logfile you want to read. Depending on the filesize of the logfile, it may take awhile, but when it's finished, tada, you'll see full-color, full formatted logs right in front of your eyes.

User avatar
Winny
Grouchy
Grouchy
Posts: 2381
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:27 am
Location: Ottawa eh?
Contact:

Post by Winny » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:04 pm

thanks a bunch

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:06 pm

Win Xp
If you do choose to run Masterbot, can you send me one of your log files? I'd like to see how a real log file is processed by that converter.

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:32 pm

that converter is so cool and it converts it really well
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:47 pm

I didn't follow the masterbot thing or this batch thing. I've tried batch before but it NEVER did anything. -plugin ?

1veedo
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:26 am
Location: usa

Post by 1veedo » Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:28 pm

The > and >> thing doesnt send errors to the file. Is there any way to echo ALL terminal messages to a file? Not just for bzf but for anything, I've had the problem before trying debug stuff.
1veedo (libcurl.so.2) I have version 3!

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:29 pm

1veedo wrote:The > and >> thing doesnt send errors to the file. Is there any way to echo ALL terminal messages to a file? Not just for bzf but for anything, I've had the problem before trying debug stuff.
Same here too. I'm trying to get my server to echo EVERYTHING to a file. And I also want it to start in "daemon mode" where bzfs gives up control to another process. (I'm trying to make a shell script that starts one of my servers up on one Terminal - right now it's three for: bzfs, meteorite_logger, meteorite_admin) The problem now is that bzfs won't give up control to the other processes...

Anyways...
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
ducatiwannabe
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 3249
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by ducatiwannabe » Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:04 pm

Maybe somebody can make a helpfile for a total noob :(

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:10 pm

ill try to work on that!
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

User avatar
Cruel dog
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Québec province, Canada
Contact:

Post by Cruel dog » Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:03 am

ooh, i would like to make logs, but it's too complicated for me. it should be easyer., like, -logfile "C:\program files\..." It would be nice.

1veedo
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:26 am
Location: usa

Post by 1veedo » Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:17 am

I figured it out A Meteorite.

Run bzfs &> file will echo errors as well.

To still see the output run tail -f file and that way you can log and still watch the output.
1veedo (libcurl.so.2) I have version 3!

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:23 am

ok i cd to my bzflag folder. after that i type bzfs.exe -loadplugin "C:\masterbot.dll" -password "ha u thaught i would keep this there :P" and when i start the server up the password wont work and the plugin command /listplugins says no pluginds loaded :(
Image

brad2901
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:17 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by brad2901 » Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:02 am

Matt?

Try looking at the debug info (-d), that should tell you what went wrong with the plugin.

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:01 pm

how do i look at that?
Image

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:11 pm

Matt? wrote:how do i look at that?
found that.. is there a way to get masterbot to log /set's /kill's ect? cause for me it is only logging people talking
Image

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:46 pm

it should log every thing i think you gotta have -dddd in your config so bzfs outputs all the stuff to record.. I think
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

1veedo
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:26 am
Location: usa

Post by 1veedo » Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:40 am

It does but it only echos to the consol. You need to make it echo into a log file.
1veedo (libcurl.so.2) I have version 3!

User avatar
The Knights Who Say Ni
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: Uplyme, England
Contact:

Post by The Knights Who Say Ni » Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:11 pm

i think that it does...
Image
Sig Made By AlliedArmour

TGPH

brad2901
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:17 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by brad2901 » Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:04 am

If you want to log the output from the terminal to a file you'll want something like:

bzfs.exe -d -loadplugin "C:\masterbot.dll" -password mypass >> bzfs.log

A single -d should show you all commands used and chat.

Post Reply