New serverlist in conf?

Place for people to discuss public servers, and also for admins to lay out the details of their servers
Post Reply
User avatar
Sir Lance-A-Lot
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Amongst my Computers
Contact:

New serverlist in conf?

Post by Sir Lance-A-Lot » Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:01 pm

My servers were running flawlessly up until the big move, and now they will not appear on the server list - is there a new serverlist address I need to force in the conf?

Thanks.
Image

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:03 pm

same things happening with me

User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

Post by Tropican8 » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:54 pm

I too have had this problem. Restarting seems to do the trick.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Apr 22, 2006 2:10 pm

as restart u mean your computer?

ive tried that and it doest work

User avatar
Tropican8
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: As close to the grove as you can get

Post by Tropican8 » Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:24 pm

Ok I had this explained to me a little while ago. I might still be wrong. I have been told either bzfs or the client (I don't remember which) sends stats to the listserver at a frequency determined by how many players are there. This means if the listserver goes down and then back up, a 20-player server is sending its info back to the listserver much faster than a 5-player server. This means they will appear on the list before you do. Wait a little bit, or load your server up with players to force an update sooner.

As far as changing stuff in the conf:
JeffM wrote:All of the domain names and URLS will be moving with the server, so once the move is complete nothing will change for end users.
Again I don't know any of this for sure, it's just my understanding from what I've been told. Plus it worked for a server of mine that vanished off the list.

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:04 pm

i havnt actually started my server though... and i cant connect to the list server when i do start it

User avatar
Sir Lance-A-Lot
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Amongst my Computers
Contact:

Post by Sir Lance-A-Lot » Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:10 pm

Well, this is what my server has been spitting out.

It says that "file transfer terminated" msg about 10secs after i start the server, then continues on just like normal, but doesn't sinc with the server list.

:?
Attachments
output.JPG
(30.03 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Image

User avatar
tw1sted
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:21 pm

Post by tw1sted » Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:21 pm

the same exact thing happens to me


heres my pic: http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/7985 ... d015vc.gif



(usually doesnt give me the discarded packet thing either)

User avatar
Matt?
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: st. john wa
Contact:

Post by Matt? » Sun May 21, 2006 12:26 pm

:P was logged in as a different callsign
Image

Post Reply