Can't respawn

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
widowmaker
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 2:13 am
Location: USA

Can't respawn

Post by widowmaker » Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:03 pm

After I was 'flattened' when I was carrying the burrow flag I can't respawn. BZ is still running but it won't respond to the right mouse button or i on the keyboard. Anyone else had this happen?

User avatar
[dmp]
Captain
Captain
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 3:20 pm
Location: CPH, Denmark
Contact:

Post by [dmp] » Wed Dec 17, 2003 11:27 am

This happens to me too. Also when not using BU.
I don't need huge pictures here.

User avatar
menotume
Major General
Major General
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 7:48 pm
Location: SE Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Post by menotume » Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:11 pm

Yes, this happens to me rather frequently. And many others have mentioned it. It only seemed to start happening on Dec 16, perhaps a new server version at xmission ? I also can't get in in observer mode, same problem ... right click / 'I' doesn't work.

Grumbler
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:06 pm
Location: Space

Post by Grumbler » Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:47 pm

seen this mentioned on the irc channel, i personally have never had it happen........but then again, i dont use BU that much. however, from the conversation on irc, it does not seem to be tied to BU in particular.

all i can say is that my system is

xp pro(up2date)
nvidia fx5200(up2date drivers)
550mhz
graphical settings have been tuned down with this version
texture off
lighting off
depth buffer on
quality high
shadows off
1024x768x32/16@75Hz

so thats it, and i am using the 1.10.1 release client from SF.
.........you kids, get out of my tank...........

User avatar
Fiberchunks
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:58 am
Location: Groton, CT
Contact:

Post by Fiberchunks » Wed Dec 17, 2003 11:29 pm

happened to me last night on xmission. Bummer.

Peace
Fiber
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. -- A. Einstein
Registered Linux User: 296546
Machines: 181776 181777 181778

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4741
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Post by blast » Thu Dec 18, 2003 1:49 pm

Seems to happen to me on 1.10.1 servers. The server thinks we are still alive, so it's not sending a spawn location. It also does it when you self destruct or get run over by a steamroller. It might be something to do with when you don't get killed by a shot.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
larsl
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 2:35 pm
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Post by larsl » Thu Dec 18, 2003 3:26 pm

This has hopefully been fixed in CVS now, and the fix will be in the 1.10.2 release although Xmission will probably have the fix sooner since it uses CVS code. It's a server bug, so there's no need to upgrade the client (but there are other reasons to upgrade the client when 1.10.2 comes).

Post Reply