No GUI command while playing

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
User avatar
McYukon
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Whitehorse, YT
Contact:

No GUI command while playing

Post by McYukon » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:04 am

Can anyone reproduce this strange thing?

Because I sometimes want to take screenshots without the GUI I put ( bind G down "toggle noGUI" ) into my config file.
Today while playing with my brother I accidentally hit the G key, turning off the GUI.
And since I have tank labels on when in observer mode I immediately noticed that I could "see" my brothers stealthed tank via the tank labels.
My brother took some screenshots. Note: You can clearly see his tank on the radar on both, he is not in observer mode.
ST'edtankbehindwall ( I'm directly behind the wall seen on the radar. Only thing that can be seen is my tank label. )
StealthedTankCloseup ( I'm not on the radar, but you can see me and the tank label. )

Update: Using BZFlag 2.0.10
Attachments
ST_tankdirectlybehindwall.jpg
ST'edtankbehindwall.jpg
(134.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Closeup.jpg
StealthedTankCloseup.jpg
(137.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
MacBook Pro Uni Late 2008, 2.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, Mac OS 10.6.5

dereliction of duty
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: No GUI command while playing

Post by dereliction of duty » Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:17 pm

McYukon wrote: And since I have tank labels on when in observer mode I immediately noticed that I could "see" my brothers stealthed tank via the tank labels.
that is normal for an observer to see st tanks via labels if that is what you are questioning.

User avatar
khazhyk
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.
Contact:

Re: No GUI command while playing

Post by khazhyk » Thu Jan 28, 2010 4:47 pm

This is a known bug, and it is already fixed in 3.x.
It can't really be fixed in 2.x, as it requires everyone to get a new client.
Image

User avatar
McYukon
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Whitehorse, YT
Contact:

Re: No GUI command while playing

Post by McYukon » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:46 pm

ttfkad This while playing, not in observer mode.

meone Thanks for the help, just thought I mention it.
MacBook Pro Uni Late 2008, 2.4Ghz, 4GB Ram, Mac OS 10.6.5

Post Reply