2.4.0 Tele Bug

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
User avatar
Mopar Madness
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:31 am

2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by Mopar Madness » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:19 am

Whenever going through teleporters near the edge of the teleporter at angles > about 45 degrees, tanks get stuck often. This may seem like not a very big thing to the devs, so what, a minor inconvenience for most, maybe cause one BS death per month of playing or so, but in GU League play, this is a relatively big problem that shows up as much as 4 or 5 times per 30 minute match and can and occasionally does affect the outcomes of the matches. I first noticed the glitch on the HiX map in the corner teleporters, I don't play other maps enough to know if it affects others. I use Windows 7 64-bit copy of 2.4.0 and the problem happens on all servers in the GU league, which run either 2.4.0 or 2.4.1 Linux version or 2.4.1 Solaris version. The problem was not found in 2.0.8-2.0.16.
Last edited by Mopar Madness on Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
D-FENS
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by D-FENS » Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:12 am

Mopar Madness wrote:Whenever going through teleporters near the edge of the teleporter at angles > about 45 degrees, tanks get stuck often.
I've noticed this too once to maybe three times a week.

User avatar
FiringSquad
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by FiringSquad » Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:41 am

Same here.
It feels like the inside corners of the teleporters are sticky.

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:52 am

Hallo! :D

I want to say a suggestion here.
This happened on my maps a while ago, but I fixed it.

The teleports on gound or on a block are "0" high, or just a top of a block (deppends how tall it is).
If the Map owner could make them on "-1", I think it would be better that way.
Lets just try, worked for me! :D

Cheers,
Fang.
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by blast » Fri Apr 06, 2012 1:51 pm

ChaoticFangUp wrote:Hallo! :D

I want to say a suggestion here.
This happened on my maps a while ago, but I fixed it.

The teleports on gound or on a block are "0" high, or just a top of a block (deppends how tall it is).
If the Map owner could make them on "-1", I think it would be better that way.
Lets just try, worked for me! :D

Cheers,
Fang.
You are referring to the issue with teleporters on mesh objects, which is unrelated to the issue here. The problem they are describing happens on non-mesh works, such as HiX.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:03 am

blast... I am talking about a Teleporter. Where did you get a mesh here??
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by blast » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:07 am

ChaoticFangUp wrote:blast... I am talking about a Teleporter. Where did you get a mesh here??
Because the issue you are talking about occurs when one of the teleporters is located on a mesh object (mesh, meshbox, etc). Perhaps you don't even understand what you are talking about.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:10 am

Oh, i get it.

Btw, "Box" is a box. Not a mesh! ;)
It happened for me for teleporting from ground to a box.

Cheers.
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by blast » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:16 am

No, it probably happened to a 'box' that you converted to a mesh by adding mesh attributes (like a texture).
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:17 am

... I am not am home now, but it looked something like this:

box
name Box
position 20 20 20
rotation 0
end

Cheers, it was not.
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by blast » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:29 am

Then make an example map with a basic box that exhibits the issue, along with an example that fixes it.

As for the bug mentioned by the OP, this should be reported on our bug tracker at Sourceforge. This forum is only for informal bug discussion.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:36 am

Ok ok, I will not post anymore.
But I will not change anything, since -1 works just fine. :)
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by blast » Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:21 pm

ChaoticFangUp wrote:Ok ok, I will not post anymore.
But I will not change anything, since -1 works just fine. :)
No, I'd like if you would make an example map. If what is you're saying it true, that's a new issue.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
Mopar Madness
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:31 am

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by Mopar Madness » Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:19 am

added it to SourceForge now, hope it's an easy fix, that glitch is about the most annoying one I've seen in 6 or 7 years of playing BZFlag.

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:26 pm

Example Map?
Ok, sure!
Since I can make maps again (been unbanned, yay), I will do it when I get home! :D
No prob dude.
Ill tell the Server, Port and Name when it is done!

(Well, it requires two Teleporters and a Box, should not be hard, lol)
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by blast » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:37 pm

I want a map, not a server. The actual BZW code is what is important. Being blocked from the list should not have impaired your ability to do that.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
ChaoticFangUp
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:24 pm
Location: Battlefield - Killing out of Control!

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by ChaoticFangUp » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:40 pm

Well, i have everything saved at home, will do it whe I get back.
I just switch the high from -1 to 0 and send the whole .bzw to you or...?
I did not quite get you right now.

EDIT: Ah, you said BZW! Sorry. ;) Coming right up.
Marshall... yes, I am!
Linux - Fedora 16 Power!

User avatar
Cobra_Fast
Dev Monkey
Dev Monkey
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2.4.0 Tele Bug

Post by Cobra_Fast » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:43 pm

Just for reference, the ticket with a bit more information on the entire issue is there: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=de ... tid=353248

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests