Game goes to desktop like I'm hitting F4 key

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
User avatar
Moto Unit
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Manistee, Michigan

Game goes to desktop like I'm hitting F4 key

Post by Moto Unit » Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:59 am

While playing gu or duc and using the mouse to maneuver or shoot, my screen will go from the game to the desktop.
Sometimes the desktop menu will pop up on the screen sometimes its just the desktop. Either way its like I minimized
the bz screen like what happens when you hit the F4 key with one exception...my tank is still active and moving on the field
of play unless or until I get shot. This happens randomly but frequently throughout the game. Usually at the most inopportune times
like when dodging shots or running with the flag. I have tried resetting my input settings to default, i have also tried to reinstall
bz all to no effect. This is really driving me nuts. Any help is appreciated in fixing this. Thanks, Moto Unit

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Game goes to desktop like I'm hitting F4 key

Post by blast » Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:22 am

Reinstalling the game does nothing as the configuration does not get removed when you reinstall. My bet is on some outside program stealing focus, but you could try renaming your configuration file first and see if the issue goes away with a clean configuration.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

User avatar
slime
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:08 am
Location: Omaha , Nebraska
Contact:

Re: Game goes to desktop like I'm hitting F4 key

Post by slime » Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:09 pm

I think I mentioned this to you in-game one time, but I would really try to disable your antivirus/firewall if you are allowed to, even if just for a few minutes to see if it still occurs. I've known quite a few people who have experienced weird problems with BZ, and disabling their antivirus fixed the issue.

User avatar
blast
General
General
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: playing.cxx
Contact:

Re: Game goes to desktop like I'm hitting F4 key

Post by blast » Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:56 pm

I use Avast! antivirus and I've never had that issue. I do see a report from 2009 that AVG had been causing this issue, but it had been fixed.
"In addition to knowing the secrets of the Universe, I can assure you that I am also quite potty trained." -Koenma (Yu Yu Hakusho)

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests