My new 2.0.0 tabbed message box crashes if I switch tabs

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
ninja
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:48 am

My new 2.0.0 tabbed message box crashes if I switch tabs

Post by ninja » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:03 am

Hello Developpers,

This 2.0.0 is so cool and fancy and added a lot of animations and new features and I like it very much so far. Thank you for all your efforts.

There is one problem I have encountered, though. Your new message
box has a tab feature to filter the bzflag message log by the types of
messages. It is cool, but if I switch tabs 6-7 times, in most of the cases
it crashes on me and show only overwrapped messages at the bottom line
and then sometimes tabs themselves disappear and I could only see the damb rectangle.

No, it does not crash the entire bzflag program: it can even toggle on/off as usual with "w" button, but only the contents of that window goes wrong.

I have downloaded and use the 2.0.0 Windows version. Running on Windows xp SP2 home edition, CPU is Athlon XP 2000+ 1.67GB, 256MB
RAM. and the video card is good old Radeon 9200SE.

I hope its not happening on my system, but if you like I can volunteer to test the debug and/or logging version. Sorry, but for right now I do not have time to look into the source code.

ninja
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:48 am

Post by ninja » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:05 am

>>I hope its not happening on my system, but if you like I can volunteer

I meant "I hope its not happening only on my system"...

User avatar
RPG
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Lieutenant, Junior Grade
Posts: 2015
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:37 am
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Post by RPG » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:08 am

I'm having the same problem. To expand on it:

Whenever I try to switch to the tab I'm on, the tabs and messages dissapear. Then, when I switch to another tab, all of that tab's messages are displayed on top of each other on the bottom line. It's unreadable. Keep switching, keep seeing bunched text. The only way to reset it is to restart the game.

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:12 am

This problem has been fixed in CVS.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest