list server problem for 2.0.0

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
gros bobby
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:14 pm

list server problem for 2.0.0

Post by gros bobby » Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:39 pm

Image

I tried the other downloads, i am not really comp litteraite. So i don't know what to really do. It has ben liek this for a few weeks (Since sourceforge was fixed)

Thanks for any help

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:50 pm

your PC can't find the list server URL? are you behind a proxy server?

gros bobby
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:14 pm

Post by gros bobby » Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:01 pm

U say what?!? AS i said before, im not comp literiate, i have NO clue what that means, i only play the game, nuthing else

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:21 pm

you need to find out from your internet people if your behind a proxy server that would block bzflag.

If we can't get any information, then there is little we can do to help you.

Taminator
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 4:35 pm
Location: Nuremberg,Germany

Post by Taminator » Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:14 am

IMHO this is not 100% a proxy problem ... for me it looks like a DNS problem, the error says:

Looking up Hostname: Host not found

So the used resolver is not able to resolve the hostname to ip.
So maybee its only a temporary failure ?

gross bobby:

Please point your browser to this URL

http://69.28.129.167/db/?action=LIST

can you see the serverlist ? If not, what error message you get ?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Tue Jan 25, 2005 4:53 pm

if it was a DNS problem then he could not get here. This board uses my.bzflag.org/bb/

and no, it's not 100% a proxy problem. it's just a good place to start :)

he may have proxy setings for his browsers, but not bzflag ( since bz dosn't do proxys ).

gros bobby
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:14 pm

Post by gros bobby » Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:12 pm

How do i use that list?!? i see the stuff on the page u posted what do i do with it?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:49 pm

that means you can get to the list server.

can you get to this URL?

http://my.bzflag.org/db/?action=LIST

it should show you the same type of list.

these are not soultions, these are just tests to help find out what your problem is.

gros bobby
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:14 pm

Post by gros bobby » Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:33 am

If you read my first post it says that i am not computer literate, I have no clue what to do with these nor what any of you are talking about, sorry

User avatar
DTRemenak
General
General
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 4:54 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

Post by DTRemenak » Fri Jan 28, 2005 6:44 am

You're not supposed to "do" anything to them. Just answer the guys' questions - "can you get there?" That answer will let them begin to make some sort of conclusion about what your problem is or is not.

gros bobby
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:14 pm

Post by gros bobby » Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:02 pm

well then yes, i can see those 2 pages

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:05 pm

ok , then it's not a DNS problem or anything.

Check your internet expolorer setings, or call your Internet provider and ask them if your behind a proxy server.

Or have you installed windows XP service pack 2 with windows firewall?

gros bobby
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:14 pm

Post by gros bobby » Fri Jan 28, 2005 8:55 pm

ok, will do, but didnt the old one use proxy too?

User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://discord.gg/NN9uAvx
Contact:

Post by JeffM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:25 pm

1.10 was the first version to use a web based list server, older versions did not.

bzflag has never supported a proxy server.

if you have recently installed XP service pack 2, it's firewall may be blocking BZFLag's access to the net, you would want to open the firewall for bzflag.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests