WTF is up with this server build?[SOLVED] (kind of)

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

WTF is up with this server build?[SOLVED] (kind of)

Post by Teppic » Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:10 pm

I built the new server the other day and it has a glitch, but no error output, the two screenshots below were taken from roughly the same point on the same map, run on two different servers, both the same cvs build.It make no difference as to cvs build or stable (both 2.0 and 2.1) I get this glitch every time on the P4, but not on the AMD

AMD build flags

Code: Select all

CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
P4 build flags

Code: Select all

CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=prescott -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
I've tried this on 2.0.4 server, 2.0.5 (whatever version I had laying around), 2.0.5 latest cvs, 2.1.6 latest cvs, same glitch.

It's a real mindfu....
I'm gonna try it on another machine in a while.
Ideas anyone?
Attachments
32bitP4.jpg
(91.7 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
64bitamd.jpg
(97.86 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
1test.bzw
(180.34 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
Last edited by Teppic on Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:51 pm

Maybe the optimization for the AMD is too much? I hear there are problems with GCC4 and anything over -O1 on AMD's 64-bit CPUs. Try using -O1 instead. :)
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:54 pm

The AMD works, its the intel that doesn't. Plus they are both using gcc 3.x.

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:56 pm

Teppic wrote:The AMD works, its the intel that doesn't. Plus they are both using gcc 3.x.
So the P4 screenshot is NOT supposed to look like that?
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:07 pm

Yes, the effing great hole in the wall isn't supposed to be there.

I just finished installing debian sarge on another machine, the glitch is there too (latest 2.0.5 cvs)

Now I remember why I hate binary distros, install packagex-dev, install packagey-dev grrrrrr.

Back OT, gcc 3.3.5 make flags normal (just O2)

EDIT: Still a big hole with the 2.0.2 bzfs binary from apt-get, is my AMD magical or something?

Another Edit, 2.0.2 does give a non convex mesh face warning???

User avatar
A Meteorite
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1786
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:56 am
Location: California, U.S.
Contact:

Post by A Meteorite » Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:20 pm

Teppic wrote:Yes, the effing great hole in the wall isn't supposed to be there.

I just finished installing debian sarge on another machine, the glitch is there too (latest 2.0.5 cvs)

Now I remember why I hate binary distros, install packagex-dev, install packagey-dev grrrrrr.

Back OT, gcc 3.3.5 make flags normal (just O2)

EDIT: Still a big hole with the 2.0.2 bzfs binary from apt-get, is my AMD magical or something?

Another Edit, 2.0.2 does give a non convex mesh face warning???
All that's out of my league... :(
Image
Owner @ BZFX
Core Admin @ CAN

Email me: bzmet…@gmail.com

User avatar
Teppic
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:00 pm
Location: The North Block
Contact:

Post by Teppic » Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:55 pm

Nevermind, I got bored and duplicated the mesh, s'ok now.

Post Reply