Radar / Hud bug

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
Burned Account -CNG-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

Radar / Hud bug

Post by Burned Account -CNG- » Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:23 pm

seems that the tank drawn on hud and the tank on radar are a bit off.

This client i just d/l from this site. the 2.Xb3 has the same problem.
havent checked all versions.
Attachments
bug.PNG
(577.78 KiB) Downloaded 115 times
Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:06 pm

i think it's because the large red blob on the radar is biger than the tank itself.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

Burned Account -CNG-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

Post by Burned Account -CNG- » Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:57 pm

but when you shoot up close w/o enhanced radar u can tell that it is off.
Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:35 am

please explain what you perceive to be the bug
so as there leaves no room for doubt. use more
then one picture if need be (and do use the JPG
format if possible).

P.S. tanks are not treated as rectangles when
testing for shot collisions.

Burned Account -CNG-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

Post by Burned Account -CNG- » Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:46 pm

the tank on radar is display correctly, but the tank on the hud seems to be off a bit. me being right next to the other player i have to shoot way off to kill him when using HUD.
Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

User avatar
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:59 pm
Location: Planet MoFo, Sheffield Division; United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Spazzy McGee » Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:06 pm

this is clearly too tiny a problem to be a bug.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:34 am

Spazzy Mcgee wrote:this is clearly too tiny a problem to be a bug.
not if you are a high grade player like carnage, who has kick ass accuracy, small stuff like that throws aim off drastically.
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:53 am

It still hasn't been clearly explained.

"Off a bit"? Which direction (right/left) (n/s/e/w)?

"Have to shoot way off" -- seems to contradict
the previously statement, try quantitative rather
then qualitative (use numbers, angles, etc...)

How is he gauging the position, by shot hits?
Under what conditions was the test conducted?
(ex: was the tank moving?)

Burned Account -CNG-
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 2:21 am
Location: Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

Post by Burned Account -CNG- » Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:06 am

TO make things more clear...

after some shots were going threw i asked the player to stop moving and went close up to them and made my radar bigger.

Used 3 different clients,(2.0.5b4, 2.0.5b3, 2.0.5b4) 5 diferrent players and 3 different servers.


If u didnt understand what i was saying look at this screenie

if i would shoot the player in the green x on the HUD he wouldnt die but if i shot him on the the green X on the hud he would.

the tank (red tank on hud) should be displayed in the middle of my target (but alittle to the left) instead it is displayed way off to the left.
Attachments
bugfix.PNG
(577.53 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
Do not enable this account with out admin aproval

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:12 am

If i would shoot the player in the green x on the HUD he wouldnt die
but if i shot him on the the green X on the hud he would.
Ya, that clears things up... ;)

In case this helps:
the square on the radar does not display the hit zone for tanks.

User avatar
The Red Baron
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 6:21 am
Contact:

Post by The Red Baron » Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:19 pm

trepan
Is there anyway that could be fixed? It would honestly help alot in the leagues, Because the radar is very very important to league players.

Because there are always a number of complaints about "shots going through" people, and often leads to people accusing others of cheating, and starting various witch hunts against people.
Beware! I'm going to clone myself and spread those clones all over the world!

trepan
Dev Wizard
Dev Wizard
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 7:50 pm

Post by trepan » Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:44 pm

Fix what?

The original "bug" in this topic still hasn't been clearly explained. Note
that I was being sarcastic in my previous post.

If you are referring to the fact that neither the HUD nor the radar will show
the exact hit zone for a tank, then one possible solution is to draw the hit
spheres around the tanks (translucent) in the HUD. There's really no need
to show the exact sphere for the radar, but that could be done for extreme
zoom by drawing a circle instead of a square.

Having the hit zone match the tank shape exactly is unlikely.

Because there are always a number of complaints about "shots going through" people, and often leads to people accusing others of cheating, and starting various witch hunts against people.
I don't think that you really understand the source of the problem. Drawing
hit-perfect representations will probably accentuate it. Server-side hit
detection will do a lot more to help.

User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am
Contact:

Post by Scorch » Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:03 am

how do you get the radar to show the tank in close up mode instead of the dot/rectangle? :?: :?: :?:

you cannot view the direction of other clients therefore they are always a square

you can shoot the square and they will die even if you don't hit the rectangle.

wizard
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:02 pm

Post by wizard » Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:06 pm

Hi,

this is a known "problem" and works as designed.
The hit zone of the tank is a sphere with the top and bottom cut off.
So parts of the tank are larger than the sphere as well as the dot on radar.

mistake
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:12 am

Post by mistake » Thu Mar 23, 2006 2:02 pm

I thought that the tank in the radar was almost accurate (not in shape), and that the hud draws the tank a lot smaller than they actually are. In the screeny of carnage, if you would go about to shoot, the hud would say a miss, but the tank would still explode (radar says its a hit).

maybe the thin tank cheat was just a missintepreted bug fix for this problem, to make the hittable area as big it is shown on the hud :P
mistake

Post Reply