Bus Error

NOTE: this is an informal bug post place ONLY. Real bugs should be posted on GitHub
Post Reply
User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am

Bus Error

Post by Scorch »

Run bz (running latest by the minute on v2_0branch) and it works fine, i join a server and play for a while (not very long at all, like 3min). Then it crashes and dies and the terminal says Bus Error.

After a crash if i restart it the play time gets less and less, but if i let it sit after a crash then the play time goes up. (play time is time from join server to crash.)
User avatar
DJ Atomica
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: PA - USA

Post by DJ Atomica »

Have you tried a restart? I'm talking about the computer.
DJ Atomica.........Scratching the records! :twisted:

Skype me! Skype name is "dj.atomica"!
User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am

Post by Scorch »

Restarting is a real pain for me cause i gotta set up servers and stuff.
Restarting...
User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am

Post by Scorch »

Still doesn't work, and if i dont kill it quick after it freezes (with alt+apple+escape) otherwise it crashes the whole comp.
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

current CVS has a bug with effects. turn them off..
we will be fixing them when CVS comes back.

or go back to older code.
ImageJeffM
User avatar
Scorch
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:16 am

Post by Scorch »

When you say effects what do you mean? Like which options do i have to turn off?
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

the graphical spawn and shot effects. turn off all of them. I think the item says "use fancy effects?
ImageJeffM
temporal distraction
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:12 pm

Post by temporal distraction »

I have a related crash (or exactly the same thing). Built an OSX client tonight and it crashed every time when shooting through a teleporter. Turned off "Fancy Effects" and it was fine. This was after the OS update to 10.4.6, fyi.
Attachments
bzf-2006-03-03-crash.txt
OSX-10.4.6+BZF-2006-03-03-crash with fancy effects.
(18.43 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
User avatar
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 5195
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 4:11 am
Location: https://github.com/OmniTanks
Contact:

Post by JeffM »

there is a bug with the effects. they will be fixed when we can get back into CVS.
ImageJeffM
Post Reply